Netflix "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

Netflix Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Netflix Founder, Chairman and CEO Reed Hastings
Reed Hastings
643 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Just blown away, I am Michael Jordan and you chose Sam Bowie. Never will have another like me. Run !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and my peers. I loved my direct reports and they performed at a very high level. Low good attrition because they loved coming in every day. CSR'S are the most important part of any call center, I still get messages from past employees that are miserable there. Working hard for them, priceless and so rewarding. Still get messages from my first leadership job, wireless co. that rhythms with horizon wanting me back.. see the trend!

    Show More

    Cons

    Approved FMLA was frowned upon, illegal but NetflixCS NOT NETFLIX (totaly separate companies) didn't care. They chose Utah because it's a right to hire/right to fire state. Worst location and facility, cheap equipmment and desks. Lesser companys that thought location may be important are all along UTA trax or frontrunner railways. Om never observed a coaching in final 7 months and was let go not for performance but for adjusting, not changing coaching logs. Coaching was wrote same but what Csr had to do was same and crystal clear. Wife has degree in English Communication and proof read my work. A+ ☆☆☆ writing. 0

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I opened the center, top 2 in 0overall stats 2015 & 2016 and my team loved me. Was not a yes man, was and always will be honest man. Was overpaid, told them first thing. Was told I changed coaching without rep in coaching with me, not actually changed just rewrote same thing but l with help of English grammar pro. I was never Netflix leadership trained and this0 was in leadership training to change coaching without csr present. How would i know without training? 0BPO'S have better structure and the first Supervisor hired begged me to not tell you be lied on resume, no leadership experience. Michigan fan, liar and still there along with many yes man. I was Verizon Trained in leadership, A++ and award winning training on all aspects of management. Still have emails of praise from Senior ops from Netflix Om's and led a 22 person team 3 months and it was 2nd overall in stats. It was because I cast the large shadow of a leader who could move mountains with my coaching, feedback and motivation. I came to you before FMLA, you approved my leave but let me go. Unheard of in any business. Ask my time off was approved and I was protected federally in my time off. It is the job of the company to get support to team while I was out. I still never had that leadership training to teach me not to Change coaching log (said same thing in log of what csr needed to do) without the csr present. CSR didn't even notice change, it was grammar and verbiage update of the same coaching recommendation. Remember giving me lower bowl Jazz tickets 2x for performance? Performance still high when using Federal Medical Leave Act insurance and still let go. Reading all the reviews left here are a clear direction of poor structure, internal training and bottom to top processes that produce consistency and values. Changing values, policy's monthly create chaos. Convergys has higher employee satisfaction and where I work now is best in state company to work for 2 years in row - Thumbtack! I make less but who cares, integrity means something. Try it sometime.. and still think you committed federal crime by letting someone go with approved FMLA.

    Show More
    Netflix2017-02-22
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Would have been excellent with a different supervisor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSR-1 in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's incredibly easy work. Good pay, requires a fair amount of patience and people skills. Free m&m's and a drink dispensers, cool cafeteria for a call center.

    Cons

    In my time of working for NetflixCS, I was stressed mentally and physically, they use losing your job against you in every single humanly mishap that could happen, emergency with the kids? Not excusable or ability to have excusal by reasonable cause, they literally tell you after the first time that your job will be on the line if you are so much as 5 minutes late again. Get something a little mixed up on the knowledge base? You're on thin ice. I feel as if I started feeling this way once they had moved me to a new team. This "supervisor" was bossy, not a leader. Raised her voice and talked to few on the team like children. They were smart and switched teams after a few occurrences of her demonstrating her work ethic. I decided, I can change my schedule soon I don't want to make a fuss, so I stayed next thing I know I'm one of the leaders on the team we had a coaching and all she did for the first time ever was acknowledge my hard work, I was proud. After all the fear of f'ing up and losing my job I realized I could relax. A week later I was fired because I had to miss 1 day because my 2 year old daughter had strep, mind you this, my sup was constantly late or leaving early for non emergency type situations, was constantly on her phone on the call floor, for non work related types of things such as looking through social media and online shopping, there is an example of blatant favoritism. I knew people who missed much more time than I had, and had never even been spoken too, or threatened. I would take this to hr but as my sup said when terming me, the decision is final and I will not longer be working at Netflix customer service.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You really need to review how your employees feel with their supervisors. If you want the ACE you have to be fair and flexible with your employees concerns. You lost a very good, and determined employee because of poor placement and no flexibility with attendance, considering there was never PTO available or sick days. Even others employees at the site did not understand why I was fired. That's something to think about. I know I'm not the only one from this specific team that feels the same way.

    Show More
    Netflix2016-10-05
  3. Helpful (12)

    "Will fire without warning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    I actually didn't mind working there, the atmosphere is great and for the most part the people are really nice. It is still a call center so of course that won't be for everybody but they try to make up for it with benefits, pay and free food and drinks while at work.

    Cons

    My husband and I used to work there, we both have some medical issues and were working with HR to get accommodation for that since we can't always work 40 hours a week. We had all the paperwork set up with them and had everything figured out, the paperwork was supposedly supposed to protect our jobs when we had to miss work because of that condition. Then one day they CALLED both of us, called, they waited for a day we weren't working and then called rather than bring us in in person which I thought was low, and then they fired us both on the same day saying that it was for attendance purposes and that they had given us warnings. Both my husband and I were shocked because we had been working with HR all this time and thought it had been taken care of and was going to be ok. We didn't get any warning whatsoever, every time we met with HR they would just say make sure to get the paperwork in, make sure you're here when you're supposed to or we might have to "separate employment", but we never got any formal warning, or anything to indicate, hey we're really close to firing you or anything like that. It just really sucked.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Implement a point system for corrective action. Give people verbal warnings, written warnings etc just so that people know where they stand and don't just assume that they are ok and then just get fired without knowing.

    Netflix2016-09-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great team members, horrible call center management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Netflix for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full time job, always.

    Cons

    TMTL - Glad the call center in Oregon is gone. It was horrifying seeing others get ground up in their grist mill.

    Advice to Management

    Reed, you're a charm. The rest of your executive staff sucks.

    Netflix2016-08-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Keep Portland Weird"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Csr1 in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendly fun culture. Everyone had a free to be "me" vibe with the clearance for tattoos, piercings, and artsy trendy motif. For the most part everyone that worked there was friendly and had a great attitude. Super rad break rooms stocked with free gourmet teas and coffees, apples, bananas, and popcorn. They also had flat screens with Netflix streaming in the breakrooms as well. Free Netflix max package with 8 DVD's at a time and Streaming. Doubletime for holiday work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Call center KPI's. Lay offs. Heavy use of temporary workers.

    Netflix2016-04-30
  6. "Its ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    Pay is good for call center

    Cons

    Your coached every week with supervisor about your performance

    Netflix2016-05-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Changing Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative II in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fellow customer service employees/management are great, great pay and KILLER benefits. Cafe is subsidized which makes fresh healthy food very cheap

    Cons

    When the center first opened there was a very employee-focused vibe, and it created a comfortable, positive space while we still did our jobs. While the center is still miles better than your average call center, there's been a big shift to being numbers and metric focused (something we were promised from day 1 of the center opening would not happen) often at the expense of employees and floor support. There's a major disconnect between HR/WFM and what actually happens on the floor, and often we are given no context as to why decisions negatively impacting us are made. The center here in SLC has also stopped promoting people internally- a majority (if not all) of the supervisors in the last several months were hired externally. This is another example of changing values at Netflix; rather than giving current (well qualified) employees opportunity for growth, they hire people unfamiliar with the process and product, which further impacts the floor negatively.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Resume promoting internally rather than hiring externally. Have WFM spend more time on the actual floor (chat and voice, but especially chat since it's so far away from WFM) to fix the disconnect. Provide more context to floor when WFM makes a decision that negatively impacts us.

    Netflix2016-03-30
  8. Helpful (3)

    "An Alright Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Netflix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Netflix account Great people to work with Benefits

    Cons

    You have to make certain stats Stressful job Call center Management is completely disorganized and frustrating

    Netflix2016-02-16
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Great Product - Great People - Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    The Salt Lake City, UT site is an inbound Call-Center where both Chat & Voice agents help customers with general product questions, troubleshooting and resolving Netflix issues (Accounting and Technical) with english speaking customers only, from all countries where Netflix is available. You are challenged daily to become better at your job, and you're given the tools and the training to do exactly that! You're coached weekly and your leaders are great motivators and great people to interact with. It's like everyone gives a damn about their careers, and their own personal growth as well as YOUR career and personal growth! Other Perks: Great wages, 401k, very affordable Health Insurance (after your temp agency contract is over and they convert you to full-time Netflix). The building I work in is pretty great. It's a fun and colorful atmosphere with a lot of 20-and-30-somethings working hard and having fun! Around every corner is some kind of Netflix branding that's related to one of their shows, like Orange Is The New Black, or House of Cards. There's a cafeteria that cooks fresh food for you during the day (Vegetarian options included!). And Netflix covers half the cost of the meals so you can get really great lunches on the cheap! Free coffee (there's even an espresso machine to make your own lattes - also free!). And there's occasionally Netflix swag given out, like windbreakers, water bottles, even Netflix labeled sweatpants! It's easily the best place I've ever worked!

    Show More

    Cons

    If you don't give a damn about your career or your own development, you won't last long. The talent pool is also extremely saturated with highly skilled people, which makes it very challenging in terms of promotions. Because it's a call-center, there can be a bit of turnover with the staff. This is pretty common for call centers in my experience, and terminations always seem to happen for the same reason: Attendance If you get terminated for attendance, it's because you were prone to missing work frequently. They will also let you go if you're a tool to your customers on the phone calls you take. A good rule is don't swear at, or start freaking out at them. Follow this and you should be fine. You're graded on your Customer Satisfaction levels and how active you are at putting in the practice to get better. If you're not getting better at your job, or you're not working on the areas where you need improvement, you'll get let go. But your Supervisors are pretty good at telling you exactly what needs work, and they work with you to get to where you need to be. And if you're in any danger of getting terminated, either due to your performance or your attendance, your Supervisors are pretty upfront about it, giving you plenty of fair warning as well as an opportunity to turn it around. Generally speaking, if you get fired from this place, it's because you either didn't care, or you didn't show up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'd like to see more healthy food options, especially in the Avanti Markets. Or better yet would be to remove the Avanti Markets all together! They're stupid-expensive compared to everything else on site and the snack options are mostly garbage. But this would be my only suggestion. Overall, this place is great!

    Netflix2015-12-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Really solid company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Csr1 Chat in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    I love working here, you are pure customer service and you really have freedom in how you do your job. The culture is all about honesty and really caring about your customers and you can see that. They pay you very well and your paychecks are always consistent. You get five weeks paid vacation, incredible insurance dental and vision, free Netflix and Netflix swag, and so much more. You are treated as an adult and get to work around a lot of positive good quality people. Netflix cares about who they hire, and sometimes those people will lose their job because they aren't the right fit, thus those people come here and leave 1 star propaganda type reviews. If you aren't going to bring something positive to the work place then why are you even there? It makes it amazing to work there because the people who are there are really amazing, high quality positive people making this an extremely great environment . I'm never dreading going to work, the supervisors, agents and even operations management all talk to each other on a human level and no one is snarly or stuck up. Its an extremely chill environment with high expectations. You are expected to do your job and be an adult, and everything else is extremely relaxed. If you think you can come to work and mess around, you're not going to have a job long, but I've been here almost a year now and everything is just as amazing now as when it first opened.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wouldn't say there are loads of downsides, we are a 24 hour call center so when you are hired you are told you need to be flexible with your work schedule. Most schedules you'll have for a good 3-4 months but when new schedules come out you need to be willing to take it on. We were told this at least ten times before being hired, so you can't really complain. And even if you get a schedule you don't want you can trade and they won't stop you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would just say to keep doing what you're doing. K really appreciate how much you seem to care about your employees.

    Netflix2015-09-21
Found 62 reviews