Netflix "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

Netflix Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Netflix Founder, Chairman and CEO Reed Hastings
Reed Hastings
643 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, relaxed culture. No sales or retention.

    Cons

    Typical Call Center environment with normal ups and downs.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, did a good job.

    Netflix2015-10-06
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Good but not so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, free netflix , tools available to complete job, swag, easy for call center work, great benefits and pay.

    Cons

    I'm a good agent, I have great stats and get along well with management and coworker. however, i don't even feel secure in my job. Management really needs to get it together. It feels like high school with how much you hear the cool kids "supervisors" talk about agents openly while others can hear them. Netflix also will say they are "transparent" this is not the case. "Corporate told us, we didn't know" is a poor excuse.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Empty promises do not go far with employees. Get on the same page as corporate or keep quite until you know what's actually going on. This also goes to corporate, they are responsible for most of the bad things that do come about but leave it to the site leader's to break the news. And to our supervisors, please learn to be more professional. Netflix really could be a amazing place to work if they hired the right people for leadership positions and were more honest and truly transparent.

    Show More
    Netflix2015-09-11
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Not worth the pay..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The environment is high energy and the people are very friendly. They have a lot of games and videos, as well as devices to occupy your free time. It is extremely DIFFICULT to get fired. Which means that if you do get fired then you SERIOUSLY and imaginably screwed up.

    Cons

    Your base PAY as of 2014-2015, as you are contracted out and paid by 24/7 is at the most 12.00 an HOUR! I do not know how Glassdoor came up with $15. You are verbally abused everyday by the customer. The technology and the Knowledge base can chance on you, so you need to be extremely adaptable. If someone starts calling you names, you can not hang up and you can not make outbound calls. You are held to metrics and those standards are extremely difficult to maintain unless you have been working in a call center for 5 years. If you do not perform you will be written up. One of those metrics is your call back rate, handle time (less than 5 and 1/2 minutes) and DSAT's (less than 4%) which translates into 1 NO in the survey. Attendance is non-negotiable. I was sick for 9 weeks (I had my voice for less than 25% of the time) and I even brought in a doctors note explaining my situation and I STILL got written up. They have shift bids, which means that every 6 months you can bid for a new shift. If your metrics are mediocre or bad, then you will be moved to what every shift they give you. Most places try to put you in shift according to your requests and needs. This is not that place. You can bison your own shift...and possibly keep it. My call center lost half of their work force due to the previous shift bid. They said they were going to try and change it to make it more "fair", but when I left, they can completely removed my shift time. They did NOT tell me about shift bids when they hired me. If you try for CSR 2 and don't meet the standard by day 90, you will lose your job. You do not go back to CSR 1 or given another chance. iF YOU want to TRADE, then the person you trade with has to be approved by your team lead and theirs...and vise versa. I switched shifts with someone else, I put up 3 people before I found someone acceptable. The shift took 3 months to process due to a lack of organization. If you do not mind being a punching bag, emotionally and verbally...then this is the job for you!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better and longer training.

    Netflix2015-08-19
  4. ""Job, but not Career""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Specialist in Fremont, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Call center job, great supervisor and a lot of coaching opportunity! Ok pay, for a college student or someone without a college degree.

    Cons

    Call center job, answer up to 80 plus calls a day

    Advice to Management

    Listen and act upon supervisor's advise !

    Netflix2015-07-18
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Utah call center is NOT Netflix Inc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High Pay Easy to get hired Tools work very well

    Cons

    EASY TO GET FIRED! Extremely high performance requirements with ineffective support by Supervisors and CSR2's. 100% responsibility for performance on teammate. Don't perform ( 95% satisfaction ) you can be fired within 3 weeks Netflix Inc advertises all sorts of benefits. ( unlimited vacation, parental leave, severance package if let go )... you will NOT have access to ANY of these benefits working for the SLC call center as it is actually " Netflix CS ( customer service ) and has no obligation to give you any of the company benefits Sounds great, but you will NOT get 90% of what you are promised I was Operations Supervisor and left because I was being forced to fire teammates unethically - Do not let the propaganda fool you, you can be fired any day, with no notice and no benefits

    Show More
    Netflix2015-08-13
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Idea, Not so great execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    Wonderful spirit among the employees, Call center is fairly nice with a plethora of break rooms, services and aesthetic feel. Pay was good and comes with service perks.

    Cons

    Company will tell you they don't use key indicators to control employment, but this also enables them arbitrarily terminate employees. Management is very persnickety and often unreliable. Coworkers generally help you when you have a problem because the management is standoffish. Software engineers are fairly laughable. The concept and pricing for the service is great, but the actual programs on many operating systems is horridly designed in many area, as customers will frequently point out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let employees see their statistics. That's how they really know what they need to improve on and aren't just relying on unreliable management to track their success.

    Netflix2015-06-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "CSR Hillsboro Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service/Tech Support in Portland, OR
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers and supervisors. Free coffee, tea, oatmeal, cup of noodles, and the occasional pancake breakfast. Free Netflix was a nice bonus. Able to surf non work websites such as imgur, facebook, and linkin while at work. Communicated with coworkers on facebook almost as often as I did thru work chat. Pretty chill environment considering it was a call center. Metrics were very reasonable and not that big of a challenge to reach. Days off weren't hard to get if they were scheduled way in advance (at least 6 weeks).

    Show More

    Cons

    No pay raise the entire time I was there, everyone was paid the same rate and nobody got a pay raise unless they changed jobs. In fact our pay in benefits (used to have 10k allowance per year and anything not used was put into our paycheck) was taken away - at the same time the CEO got a $1 million bonus, hmm.... Felt like a dead end job. No opportunity to advance beyond the call center. Often had to be the bearer of bad news to customers (price change, delivery changes) and found out from customers before company told us.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat employees like they can't tell what you're really doing. We knew $1 million bonus money came out of our benefits fund. Trying to "positively position" a statement when we do that all day to customers feels demeaning. Just give it to us straight. Also, tell us what's happening BEFORE a customer tells us. Just makes the company look bad when they know before we do.

    Netflix2015-05-18
  8. Helpful (2)

    "call center for dvd department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    Great supervisors, they provide great feedback and advise to succeed in the work-place. btw free breakfast and lunch.

    Cons

    Its a call-center job, answering 80 to 100 calls a day, sometimes can become overwhelming

    Netflix2015-05-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good positive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    Good culture, positive work environment and overall a positive job because people like netflix

    Cons

    tough to move up even if your performing well. Mostly about politics and making sure the right people know you as there are a lot of employees in the call center. Tough to stand out.

    Advice to Management

    Was great when you allowed even newly hired CSR employees to purchase company stock using up to 15% of paycheck. When the stock took off and skyrocketed this was immediately taken away which came off as greedy.

    Netflix2015-02-25
  10. "Solid Job, sad to see it's closing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSR2 in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Netflix, PTO, Good Vacation, Severance, Good Work-Life Balance

    Cons

    Talking to the general public, policies can be hard to deliver to customers, might close your Call Center

    Netflix2014-10-27
Found 62 reviews