Netflix "call center" Reviews | Glassdoor

Netflix Reviews

Updated Apr 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Netflix Founder, Chairman and CEO Reed Hastings
Reed Hastings
647 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Employees treated like a paper towel - good for one use then throw away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    - Higher that average pay for a call center - Free food/ fun incentives - Good benefits package

    Cons

    - No job security what so ever - Extreme lack of communication (you can be told you are doing great 4 days in a row and then "let go" on the 5th.) - Sickening climate of fear in this workplace - Lack of respect and sensitivity during the "let go" process

    Continue reading
    Netflix2010-04-28
  2. "Good if the job suites you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    Everything about Netflix is great except for the callers. The management and supervisors are strict about your performance, but never in a negative way. They tell you how it is and never leave you in the dark. Pay and benefits are good for a call center.

    Cons

    The callers. It's a call center and people LOVE their movies. If they don't get what they want, they will whine and cry even if they didn't read the terms of use. You have to be patient and be the right fit for this job

    Continue reading
    Netflix2010-02-24
  3. Helpful (2)

    ""Not a good fit" Remember that quote. You'll find yourself repeating it in the end."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    Very clean and relatively new building. The pay was above average for a call center, but at a price. To be honest, nothing else.

    Cons

    Your job will revolve around essentially one metric, the DSAT. Forget everything you think this job will be, you're being paid to get surveys.

    Continue reading
    Netflix2010-01-17
  4. "Well ran company, better call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    Better pay than most call centers with a pretty good enviroment at the center itself. Most of the team leaders are very solid. The company itself is organized well, and its great to work at a company that works. Very merit based. Overall one of the better call centers in the country I would guess.

    Cons

    It is a call center and that is a huge downside due to the nature of the work. The constant measurement of progress, and high expectations can be stressful. Time off is very difficult to imposssible to get off unless you plan months a head. Currently there is no availble time off for the rest of the year. The team managers (my supervisors supervisors) seem to be less compentent than many of the team supervisors. No advancement outside of the call center, and the advancement within the call center is pretty competative. Also the "company values" of taking invoation from anywhere in the company is a little bit of BS. I and others have made recomendations that don't leave the call center to corprate. I have even been told by a team manager to not waste my time thinking of call drivers or to come up with ideas as "people with advanced degrees are already doing that."

    Continue reading
    Netflix2009-11-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Hillsboro Call Center in Constant State of Flux"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    * Decent pay rate * Medical, Dental, Vision benefits from date of hire * Free Netflix subscription at the highest plan * Retirement plan with matching * Employee Stock Purchase Plan (although they're threatening to take it away)

    Cons

    The Call Center is constantly changing. The people driving these changes will try to convince you that it's positive, innovative, progressive. I say those people are just coming up with ways to make themselves look like they're working hard. Granted, there have been some positive changes. But the recent reorganization that occurred with the latest shift bid? I used to have a competent supervisor who would help me when I needed it and who knew I was competent enough to handle most things. Now I have a supervisor who knows that I've been here two years and that my scores consistently put me in the top 50 performers ... but she tries to get out of taking escalations by giving me "tips" to de-escalate and telling me to go back to the customer with some compromise they've already declined. (Gee ... I think I have a good handle on how to de-escalate a call by now. If I'm asking my supervisor to take the call, I've done everything I can and the customer has asked for the manager. Just take the flippin' call, because sending me back onto the phone will just make the customer angrier and make sure they give a "no" response on that customer satisfaction survey. Awesome.) This latest re-org seemed to be completely geared toward shaking up teams that had just gotten into their groove; my old team had great combined scores and even though most of our shifts didn't change all that radically, we all got split up. It seems truly unnecessary.

    Continue reading
    Netflix2009-10-20
  6. Helpful (7)

    "So much potential to be a great place to work, too bad it's not."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Representative in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    Decent hourly pay, Use of the eight out at a time membership plan while employeed with Netflix, Hand sanatizer readily available.

    Cons

    In May 2009 Netflix took away sick/vacation hours and provided employees an additional dollar an hour pay and then advised all employees to open up their own savings account to save for unexpected days off. Netflix does not have a policy regarding sick days so as to hold it against you when you cannot make it to work (even if you provide a doctor's note). In nine months I called out sick twice and still received warnings not to miss work. Netflix promotes itself as striving to have the best customer service, however has reduced it's training too only two weeks. One week in classroom and the next week on the floor taking calls. The training is insufficiect which leads to inconsistency on the call center floor and the information which is relayed to customers. The turn over rate is ridiculous. I managed to work there for nine months before my part time shift was taken away and forced to go full time. I was not able to work full time due to childcare needs and was told that either I take the shift I am given (which is based on call volumes and business needs only) or I can quit. Netflix refused to work out a schedule that would let me keep my job there and work with their needs as well. Netflix anticipates doing a shift bid every six months, which means there is no gurantee you will be able to stay at the shift that you are hired for, and no room for disscussion. So if you have small children or attend school this is not a suitable job. Netflix promotes a no policy policy environment, which gives each individual team manager and leader to do as they see fit. One day they will tell you you are doing a great job, the next you will be let go. Netflix call center fired employees for not being able to make it to work due to snowstorms that hit hard in December 2008. Roads were not plowed, public transportation was not running, and yet you were let go. People were in accidents trying to get to work. Other's they put up in a hotel to make sure they would make their shift. Netflix had random mandatory OT in some cases without any notice. It wasn't just that they required a set amount of extra hours from everyone, they only had specific hours in which had to be filled. My husband had to take days off work so I could meet their required OT. Again no flexiblity with regards to family needs. Overall it's just really sad because this job was and could be fun. It's about movies and tv shows and all the great changes that are happening with the internet and instant streaming. Still it is a call center and those jobs aren't always the best, however when the entire company is working so hard against their own employess, the job is terrible. It's not even something you can count on because you don't know when they will fire you and for what.

    Continue reading
    Netflix2009-08-07
  7. "Strong company for self- starters, Call Center needs work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Hillsboro, OR
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    Focused on individuals who can self manage and get their work done. Netflix has nice in -house perks: the movies, etc and pretty good benefits & vacation. Fast paced change.

    Cons

    Not clear goal setting or expectations from senior directors or management - and when something does come down the pipe then it tends to be a bit frantic and "get it done now" instead of always doing comprehensive future planning. Call center managers all have very different management personalities and don't seem to be as calibrated on aspects - which then reflects out the the floor and floor then tends to think that the managers who are more "hard line" and terminate more are the "favorites" of upper management. Change that happens has positive end results, but transitions & communication to the call center floor are not done as well or as immediate as they could be.

    Continue reading
    Netflix2009-03-06
  8. "Question everything and deliver world-class service."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Movie Lover in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    The call center in Hillsboro is truly focused on making our customers' experience a great one each and every time.

    Cons

    24-7 work environment isn't for everyone

    Continue reading
    Netflix2008-08-28
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Netflix is Great! ...Just Stay Out of the Call Center."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Support Staff in Hillsboro, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    The upper management of Netflix really does seem to want to take a different approach with how they handle their employees, and accepts the fact that as an adult, you're able to get your job done. They appear to be very with it. The call center attempts to echo that sentiment, and provides many perks that make work an alright place to be. From the free coffee and refreshments in the cafeteria to the free rental plan, great benefits, and competitive pay, there is a great ideal that the company attempts to live up to - that the people populating the center are worth the extra buck or two. It was refreshing to work for a company that was capable of identifying problems, and instead of sweeping them under the rug, took the initiative to change the problem.

    Cons

    Specific to the Hillsboro location, the middle-management is hit-or-miss with whether or not they treat you like a valued member of the team. Many of the team managers do not communicate clearly with their teams - as a member of the support staff, it was evident which managers were taking the time to coach, train, and encourage their teammates, and which were not. Many reps who were extremely good at their job were let go for seemingly innocuous reasons, veiling the manager's personal dislike for the individual. The Hillsboro center has been open since September of 2006, and very few (if any) original cast members from the first three training classes exist. The management of the call center was not in any way stable; the entire team had been replaced once over, and in the less-than two years, they've gone through two site directors. With all of the management, quality, and training staff adjustments, many representatives felt as though getting promoted was a death knell to your time at Netflix. NOT that there were copious opportunities for advancement - quite the contrary. Team managers were hired from outside of the company, and rarely were promotions from within occurring. There were a handful of people who did move up the ladder, and, as previously mentioned, found themselves restructured out of the company, told that there was no longer work for them to do and laid off, or outright fired because they "don't fit the way the department is going."

    Continue reading
    Netflix2008-08-08
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not worth the "hype""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual Dress Code Colleagues generally friendly Laid back office atmosphere Assuming you last half a year you will obtain monk-like patience after surviving the coachings and meetings

    Cons

    -Monotonous job. Seriously you will lose your mind after a month. It happens to the best of us. -Difficult upward advancement -If they could pay you less they would. For example, management finally boosted employee compensation to barely surpass their competing call center only after bleeding agents left and right to said competitor for months - The management shoves company values so far down your throat but typically follow some and ignore others themselves when it fits the moment's narrative - Very cliquish environment, if you don't spend your time outside work with colleagues you can forget a chance at a promotion regardless of your ability or achievements - MASSIVE turnover. The requirements are fairly straightforward but after a month or two, colleagues begin to drop like flies - Assuming you have general people skills and the ability to arrive to work on time there are no new skills or training provided to advance your career outside being a more efficient Netflix agent.

    Continue reading
    Netflix2018-10-14

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 62 reviews