Netflix "freedom and responsibility" Reviews | Glassdoor

Netflix Employee Reviews about "freedom and responsibility"

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Netflix CEO Reed Hastings
Reed Hastings
638 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "and eventually they will be let go(in 53 reviews)

  • "The SLC call center is not like the Netflix you see on TV or in the media(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "freedom and responsibility"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Physical Production in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Freedom and responsibility Great colleagues

    Cons

    Highly demanding and competitive Long hours and crazy schedules

    Advice to Management

    Special effort on cross functional work

    Netflix2019-11-15
  2. "Great Company, Lightning Speed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Los Gatos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy and Freedom and Responsibility

    Cons

    Cannot keep up with hiring, fast burnout

    Advice to Management

    Outsource less and hire better talent

    Netflix2019-09-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It's a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Event Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The freedom and responsibility culture in practice allows you the space to do your best work.

    Cons

    It's a high performance company and the pace at which we move is exhilarating but can be daunting for newer folks.

    Netflix2019-08-27
  4. "strong culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    strong on freedom and responsibility. but requires a big commitment in return.

    Cons

    being on call on a regular basis and a high stress environment.

    Netflix2019-07-24
  5. Helpful (17)

    "Great diverse culture, work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Los Gatos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Smart and talented colleagues, you work with mature people who know a lot but not full of themselves and take feedback seriously - Freedom and responsibility in day-to-day work, no micromanagement - Working with cutting edge tech and freedom to pick your tools/frameworks - Great work-life balance, there is no fear of being let go - The most diverse team I've worked at in Silicon Valley - Top of the market... compensation - Company is super transparent about everything

    Show More

    Cons

    Netflix hires mature people and trusts their employees to prioritize their work the best way based on all the business context they have. There is not a lot of manager oversight or direction when it comes to what to work on. While I personally love this, I realize some people can find it challenging especially during first few months at the company.

    Netflix2018-08-09
  6. "Overall a great memory and experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Payment Specialist (Accounting) in Los Gatos, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix for less than a year

    Pros

    -Free food on a daily basis! -Considerate, friendly, and smart coworkers -People will help you if you ask -Lives up to its values/culture memo including: Freedom and responsibility, no brilliant jerks, and more -Above average compensation

    Cons

    -ERP System is not the most efficient product around and some people I work with dislike it (Maybe position specific) -High-volume workload (but this should NOT be a surprise to anyone considering how fast the company is growing; it's more about adjusting to it) -Since the company values freedom that means working at Netflix you have to independently prioritize and figure out how to resolve pain points

    Advice to Management

    Not advice to management but want to include this in my review. I only left Netflix because I received a rare and special opportunity elsewhere. And that was an incredibly tough decision leaving Netflix.

    Netflix2018-10-01
  7. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Localization Project Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom and Responsibility culture.

    Cons

    I wasn't able to find any cons yet. Best company I ever worked.

    Netflix2018-05-18
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Finance Ops Business Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Operations Associate in Hollywood, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    positive culture. great place to innovate. amazing content. freedom and responsibility.

    Cons

    extremely competitive. long hours. very intense all around.

    Advice to Management

    make sure all team members feel valued and heard.

    Netflix2018-02-06
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Competitive Pay, Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    stands by culture deck, 'freedom and responsibility' is not a buzz phrase but reality, treated like an adult, no micromanagement

    Cons

    no bonuses, no pay increases based on performance

    Netflix2017-10-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Dubbing Producer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    Freedom and responsibility. Great benefits, compensation and colleagues.

    Cons

    Can be stressful at times.

    Netflix2017-10-10
Found 58 reviews