Netflix "let go" Reviews | Glassdoor

Netflix Employee Reviews about "let go"

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
71%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Netflix CEO Reed Hastings
Reed Hastings
638 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "and eventually they will be let go(in 53 reviews)

  • "The SLC call center is not like the Netflix you see on TV or in the media(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "let go"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Netflix is the place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    A great culture that focuses on freedom & responsibility and tries to avoid the pitfalls of typical Hollywood. You work among the best and brightest. You're treated like an adult in terms of how & when to do your work-- as long as it gets done and is done well. Plus, I mean, who can resist free food?

    Cons

    The culture isn't for everyone. If you're not performing at your best, you could be let go. Not a place for people who try to skate by.

    Netflix2018-09-29
  2. Helpful (45)

    "Senior software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Perks like free food, unlimited vacations (though a double edged sword really), swag, sometimes exciting projects and some good coworkers.

    Cons

    Too much of hiring and firing. As a result everyone is looking out only for their roles and jobs. A lot of political crap. Esp not good for single income families or H1B visa holders. I've had people cry when they are let go because they don't have any other options. Take the good salary with the risk it gives. You will be let go, it's just a matter of when. Growth opportunities are non-existent and your... salary bumps are very subjective. Work life balance is a joke at times but it depends on team and manager. You can't have great work life balance for long since either your manager will be let go or you will be let go for not working harder. Unlimited vacations are good in a good team but if your manager is a micromanager forget about it. It then becomes worse than limited vacations.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change the way you reward your employees.now there are a lot of people that would push their colleagues under the bus. Sadly Netflix has changed for the worse in the past decade.

    Netflix2019-01-14
  3. Helpful (29)

    "Growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product in Los Gatos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Autonomy, good place for self-starters, open culture where you can reach out to anyone with ideas and ask for input.

    Cons

    A culture of fear. Level of stress is high and I have been through so many team members being fired or let go that I can't even count them.

    Advice to Management

    Look at skills not experience when shaping the teams. Some people were good at the early phase and are also able to adapt. Identify the strong candidates who are able to work cross-functionally rather than getting rid of entire teams when you are moving into a new direction.

    Netflix2018-03-23
  4. Helpful (36)

    "If it sounds too good to be true, it is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    If you are a young, single person very early in your career, you will get paid double what you would elsewhere and learn a lot from smart colleagues--just be sure to get out while it's your decision, and before you burn out, so you can take your knowledge and experience to a company with work/life balance.

    Cons

    Read the reviews on here. They are an accurate cross-section of experiences that show the reality of working at Netflix and how entirely it depends on your manager, or who gets fired or promoted and suddenly becomes your manager. You will have zero life outside of work, and even if you are someone who could never imagine being considered anything other than a top performer, let alone getting fired, recognize that... you--yes, you--will very likely be let go abruptly within your first year--sometimes in a matter of weeks--with no opportunity to improve, at the sole discretion of your manager, who him/herself may or may not be competent or honest. Be sure that you can afford to live in whichever very expensive city you are relocating to with no income, and are willing to explain a firing in your next job search. Political backstabbing is the order of the day. The meeting culture is horrendous and symptomatic of an organization that is growing too rapidly and clutching desperately to a culture that doesn't scale. Ask anyone who has been at Netflix in a leadership or cross-functional position and they will tell you that they spend their entire day in meetings, and then spend all of their nights and weekends at home trying to actually get work done. And finally, if you do survive beyond the first year, don't expect pay progression. They will happily offer you more than whatever you are getting in your current position to bring you in, and then leave your pay stagnant for years if you were already "over market."

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Recruiting away top talent and churning through them with no regard for them as human beings may have been a viable strategy when Netflix was a smaller company, but understand that many of the industries you need to recruit from are small and nearly tapped. Consider the employee experience. Word gets around.

    Netflix2017-09-11
  5. Helpful (27)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    - compensation - from a product perspective: a unique blend of technology & entertainment - exciting industry and great business opportunities - you will be getting to know how to deal with AWS at scale

    Cons

    Culture: - high turnover - many people are staying only for the top of the market paycheck - employees adjust lifestyle to high compensation. As a result constant fear of being let go - colleagues will throw you under the bus to keep their jobs - very political due to lack of company policies/processes - any mistakes you make will be used against you (see point #3) - 0 empathy, mentorship or compassion - no... clear career path - your experience will largely depend on your manager - if you want "psychological safety" go to Google or Facebook instead Technology: - overall very poor code quality - most bigger architecture solutions are suboptimal due to "freedom and responsibility" and lack of overall technical vision - related to architecture: most technical decisions are completely localized, again due to "freedom and responsibility". As a result, high level of technical debt and meaningless duplication (NIH syndrome at scale) - dated technology stack (the most popular tech stack is tomcat/war)

    Show More
    Netflix2017-02-20
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Just blown away, I am Michael Jordan and you chose Sam Bowie. Never will have another like me. Run !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and my peers. I loved my direct reports and they performed at a very high level. Low good attrition because they loved coming in every day. CSR'S are the most important part of any call center, I still get messages from past employees that are miserable there. Working hard for them, priceless and so rewarding. Still get messages from my first leadership job, wireless co. that rhythms with horizon wanting me... back.. see the trend!

    Show More

    Cons

    Approved FMLA was frowned upon, illegal but NetflixCS NOT NETFLIX (totaly separate companies) didn't care. They chose Utah because it's a right to hire/right to fire state. Worst location and facility, cheap equipmment and desks. Lesser companys that thought location may be important are all along UTA trax or frontrunner railways. Om never observed a coaching in final 7 months and was let go not for performance... but for adjusting, not changing coaching logs. Coaching was wrote same but what Csr had to do was same and crystal clear. Wife has degree in English Communication and proof read my work. A+ ☆☆☆ writing. 0

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I opened the center, top 2 in 0overall stats 2015 & 2016 and my team loved me. Was not a yes man, was and always will be honest man. Was overpaid, told them first thing. Was told I changed coaching without rep in coaching with me, not actually changed just rewrote same thing but l with help of English grammar pro. I was never Netflix leadership trained and this0 was in leadership training to change coaching... without csr present. How would i know without training? 0BPO'S have better structure and the first Supervisor hired begged me to not tell you be lied on resume, no leadership experience. Michigan fan, liar and still there along with many yes man. I was Verizon Trained in leadership, A++ and award winning training on all aspects of management. Still have emails of praise from Senior ops from Netflix Om's and led a 22 person team 3 months and it was 2nd overall in stats. It was because I cast the large shadow of a leader who could move mountains with my coaching, feedback and motivation. I came to you before FMLA, you approved my leave but let me go. Unheard of in any business. Ask my time off was approved and I was protected federally in my time off. It is the job of the company to get support to team while I was out. I still never had that leadership training to teach me not to Change coaching log (said same thing in log of what csr needed to do) without the csr present. CSR didn't even notice change, it was grammar and verbiage update of the same coaching recommendation. Remember giving me lower bowl Jazz tickets 2x for performance? Performance still high when using Federal Medical Leave Act insurance and still let go. Reading all the reviews left here are a clear direction of poor structure, internal training and bottom to top processes that produce consistency and values. Changing values, policy's monthly create chaos. Convergys has higher employee satisfaction and where I work now is best in state company to work for 2 years in row - Thumbtack! I make less but who cares, integrity means something. Try it sometime.. and still think you committed federal crime by letting someone go with approved FMLA.

    Show More
    Netflix2017-02-22
  7. Helpful (33)

    "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time

    Pros

    An offer you cant resist

    Cons

    You will literally quit a decent job to come here thinking you have found something great only to find that you have stepped in front of an immature high school firing squad. There is no obectivity to the termination process so any of them could terminate for unethical reasons that are summed up in the phrase, you are not a high performer or you weren't a right fit. There constantly breathing down your neck and... watching you looking for you to do something wrong. THeres little warning. Generally you get one. If your lucky or buddy buddy with with management or the supes you might get a bit more slack, maybe a lot more. If they dont like what they see they could be rid of you in less than a month and they openly joke about terminating people and about how expendable you are from day one. I read the reviews on here and went in and smellled the fish immediately. FIrst off they bring on a ton of people all the time for an amazing job so where do they end up. All of this is contingent on whether they decide if you are fit for production. You could be let go at the end of training and they dont give you any metrics on how that decision is made.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remember that you are giving skilled people an amazing offer that leads many to leave stable employment. By making impossibly high expectations with no metrics applied to the termination process the vast majority wont hit the mark and office politics will govern the termination process. Luring people into a firing pit hurts them and there families and puts a dent in there career. Remember that. Your hurting people.

    Netflix2016-11-16
  8. Helpful (30)

    "Use them, don't let them use you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Gatos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    +Top of the line pay +Great benefits package +Free catered meals+snacks (vending machines here dispense electronics!) +Lots of free swag and of course a free account +"Freedom and responsibility" +Once you move on from Netflix, it's very easy to get a job anywhere else once you have Netflix on YOUR resume.

    Cons

    Amount of office politics and favoritism is downright ridiculous. They encourage "transparency" but the moment you speak out too much or to the wrong person, you automatically have a bullseye on you. Yes, people are often let go all the time with very little context or insight. Netflix culture stresses "stunning colleagues" but in reality, it's a very superficial environment where people who suck up to the... right people or "SAY YES" types are the only ones who do well. Oh and despite being a "fast moving" company, there's little room for internal growth. What you get hired in as will most likely be your one and only position with the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As a salaried employee, there's no reason why you need to treat hourly employees so poorly (no stock options, no unlimited PTO policy, etc.)

    Netflix2016-02-17
  9. Helpful (32)

    "Not high standards, high conformity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Netflix

    Pros

    Many of the engineers are genuinely good within their bounds. They exhibit a desire to get work done. The tooling is excellent, deployments globally are a breeze, and one can gather great insights from the metrics. Pay and benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    Please stop firing amazing talent. Other posts here paint the wrong picture -- that those who survive at Netflix are the best. It is inaccurate at best. The quality of many of those let go is not in doubt, but management is frequently inept at appreciating their ability. Many who stay are very bright, but many who are let go are as well. If you do not tow engineering's backwards line you are looked down upon.... People live in constant fear of being canned and this causes them to behave in an immature fashion painting their peers as less than they are. Some seem to delight in the plight of others who are let go -- a mentality of "better him than me." It is not survival of the fittest, it is a blind thought police, who speak openly about wanting to hear others' opinions (as long as the opinion agrees with theirs) and then balk when they are actually given. Alternatives are not actually wanted, obedience and maintaining the status quo are. If you are to be disruptive, you must be disruptive in their way. If that makes no sense it is because it is truly illogical. One can hope this is not so pernicious as to infect every team and I would dare to say that it isn't. But do your homework and know what you are getting yourself into.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Look inward to a policy and culture that perhaps on its surface appears attractive but hides an ugly story of fear and a need to conform which stifles creativity and achieving quality work. Quality need not be continually sacrificed in the name of "getting sh** done." You were a once great company with great engineers. Stop it with the culture of fear. Just stop it. It does not encourage making the right decisions,... people do things to protect their job and high salary, not because it is the best thing to do. It is poisoning the work and you are and can be better than that. Also do not fool yourselves with those who pay lip service to the culture in public -- in private, I have found, they lambast it. Perhaps a retrospective on your culture is in order.

    Show More
    Netflix2016-02-03
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Great Product - Great People - Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Netflix

    Pros

    The Salt Lake City, UT site is an inbound Call-Center where both Chat & Voice agents help customers with general product questions, troubleshooting and resolving Netflix issues (Accounting and Technical) with english speaking customers only, from all countries where Netflix is available. You are challenged daily to become better at your job, and you're given the tools and the training to do exactly that! You're... coached weekly and your leaders are great motivators and great people to interact with. It's like everyone gives a damn about their careers, and their own personal growth as well as YOUR career and personal growth! Other Perks: Great wages, 401k, very affordable Health Insurance (after your temp agency contract is over and they convert you to full-time Netflix). The building I work in is pretty great. It's a fun and colorful atmosphere with a lot of 20-and-30-somethings working hard and having fun! Around every corner is some kind of Netflix branding that's related to one of their shows, like Orange Is The New Black, or House of Cards. There's a cafeteria that cooks fresh food for you during the day (Vegetarian options included!). And Netflix covers half the cost of the meals so you can get really great lunches on the cheap! Free coffee (there's even an espresso machine to make your own lattes - also free!). And there's occasionally Netflix swag given out, like windbreakers, water bottles, even Netflix labeled sweatpants! It's easily the best place I've ever worked!

    Show More

    Cons

    If you don't give a damn about your career or your own development, you won't last long. The talent pool is also extremely saturated with highly skilled people, which makes it very challenging in terms of promotions. Because it's a call-center, there can be a bit of turnover with the staff. This is pretty common for call centers in my experience, and terminations always seem to happen for the same reason:... Attendance If you get terminated for attendance, it's because you were prone to missing work frequently. They will also let you go if you're a tool to your customers on the phone calls you take. A good rule is don't swear at, or start freaking out at them. Follow this and you should be fine. You're graded on your Customer Satisfaction levels and how active you are at putting in the practice to get better. If you're not getting better at your job, or you're not working on the areas where you need improvement, you'll get let go. But your Supervisors are pretty good at telling you exactly what needs work, and they work with you to get to where you need to be. And if you're in any danger of getting terminated, either due to your performance or your attendance, your Supervisors are pretty upfront about it, giving you plenty of fair warning as well as an opportunity to turn it around. Generally speaking, if you get fired from this place, it's because you either didn't care, or you didn't show up.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'd like to see more healthy food options, especially in the Avanti Markets. Or better yet would be to remove the Avanti Markets all together! They're stupid-expensive compared to everything else on site and the snack options are mostly garbage. But this would be my only suggestion. Overall, this place is great!

    Netflix2015-12-26
Found 53 reviews