Netnames Reviews | Glassdoor

Netnames Reviews

Updated Apr 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Netnames CEO Rodman Ward III
Rodman Ward III
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "the office managers asked for certain people to be available 24/7 to work so there was no good work/life balance(in 4 reviews)

  • "oh, and a great office location(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The senior management doesnt trust its employees and it doesnt take care of them(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Learned and experienced about the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager & Cybersecurity Support in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Netnames full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing training and materials for line of support responsibilities. Became an expert in domain management and online anti-counterfeiting services in one years time.

    Cons

    Workload was 3 times than 1 person’s capacity, support model was somewhat mismanaged. Bottom up communication to management was much ignored.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the good people you have

    Netnames2018-03-01
  2. "Corporate Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Netnames for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vacation time was based on a european schedule, there was great flexibility with travel and related expenses. The insurance and 401k were excellent.

    Cons

    Compensation plan included base plus commission, however, the commission plan included more perks than anything else. For example, trips would be included as a bonus for reaching certain targets instead of cash.

    Advice to Management

    na

    Netnames2016-09-01
  3. Helpful (6)

    "In A Word - Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Netnames full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility. Time off. Work laptop. Some very smart people.

    Cons

    I don't know where to start, unfortunately. I've seen promotions for those with the highest number of HR complaints. I've seen years of no pay rises on very, very low salaries to begin with. Environment where people don't even really want to be around each other out of 9-5. Negative vibes since HG took over in 2012. Near-constant customer complaints due to sub-par product. Making people interview for their own promotions...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I'm in no place; I don't run a company. But there has to be something you can do differently. Maybe check on how other companies (even competitors so you have no real excuse) do internal culture / career mapping? Dig into your pockets to pay employees even just 5k more? Create roles with more responsibility for promotions? Create a better product? Literally anything. Try... something.

    Netnames2015-09-02
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Horrible Company All-Around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Netnames full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health care is good. Holiday time is good. Some nice people.

    Cons

    Where to begin? The executives are incompetent at best. Some of the worst management decisions I've ever seen in business on a constant basis. Treat employees as disposable chips. Which leads to untrained, unknowable workers, which leads to hell for customers. Systems are pathetic. And no investment at all in upgrading them. Culture is just horrible. Unmotivated, uncaring, unqualified employees. It's a pleasure....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    They dont care, so what's the point right? They'll just write a fake review to balance this one out.

    Netnames2014-12-10
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Evil Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Netnames full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked some good people initially however they were all gone by the time I left. Perhaps the culture is better in other offices but working in the US office was the worst experience of my 10 year career.

    Cons

    There is no mission or culture. Employees and customers are there to make HG Capital money. Human Resources exists purely to serve upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Develop a corporate soul, start acting ethically and realize the error of your ways.

    Netnames2014-11-21
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Going downhill and fast."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Netnames full-time

    Pros

    The company is in a unique industry. capable people work here but no one is compensated for their worth. the office managers asked for certain people to be available 24/7 to work so there was no good work/life balance.

    Cons

    The senior management doesnt trust its employees and it doesnt take care of them. they got rid of many folks who had a wealth of knowledge of the industry and the databases.

    Advice to Management

    open your eyes and look around, you are losing quality people to make a quick buck. theres no room for advancement really.

    Netnames2014-08-05
  7. "Management doesn’t know how to manage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netnames full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A laid back atmosphere. A lot of geeks and colourful characters getting to spend all day reviewing marketplaces, social media on behalf of clients and loving what they do.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, Netnames is an extremely TOXIC atmosphere. People are constantly setting up others to fail and engaging in petty office politics of a kind I have rarely seen. For instance, managers are often complained to by a subordinate with an agenda and the managers decide to believe one side of the story and berate the other team member by completely blindsiding them. Things are rarely dealt with out in the open....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate you have moved into a new building. But a shiny new building full of glass doesn’t change the fact that people make up the environment. If you allow toxic people to abuse and stab people in the back, you end up demotivating your workforce. I can sprinkle honey, syrup and sprinkles over dog poop, that doesn’t make it cookie and cream ice cream now does it??? Hire managers with knowledge of managing people,...

    Show More
    Netnames2019-04-16
  8. "Friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Netnames full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly place to work Less work pressure

    Cons

    Not much spent on training. Not many opportunities to progress to senior roles.

    Netnames2018-01-25
  9. "Software development specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Netnames full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing company, great friendly people. Very nice office and extremely positive experience while working here. Highly recommended!

    Cons

    No cons all very positive.

    Advice to Management

    Keep improving benefits for talented people.

    Netnames2017-09-18
  10. "Good people but not so great management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Netnames full-time

    Pros

    People are great and very welcoming. International environment helps a lot. Flexible working hours but depends on the manager

    Cons

    Training, training, training. Like any other big corporation, a lot of things get lots half way and sometimes its demotivating

    Advice to Management

    Reward your good people to ensure they stick around. Invest in training.

    Netnames2017-09-09
Found 50 reviews