Nevada Department of Health & Human Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Nevada Department of Health & Human Services Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
48%
Recommend to a Friend
Nevada Department of Health & Human Services Director Richard Whitley
Richard Whitley
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I found NYTC to be a professional, caring, clean and pleasant youth rehabilitation facility."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Group Supervisor in Elko, NV
    Recommends

    I worked at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services

    Pros

    Clean work environment Very interesting work to be directly involved with making a positive influence on a young mans life Professional, caring staff Elko has a great small town atmosphere

    Cons

    Some potential for physical confrontation Alternating shifts Regular exposure to extreme weather conditions of the high desert Night shifts are done alone except for occasional supervisor checks. The solitude can be very boring

    Continue reading
    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2012-02-06
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Office Assistant in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay and breaks lunches and

    Cons

    There was no cons here

    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2019-09-27
  3. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Carson City, NV

    I have been working at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services for more than a year

    Pros

    Teams work together to make work flow easier

    Cons

    So many procedures to follow

    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2018-06-06
  4. "Mental Health Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Technician in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learning experience and the patients are amazing

    Cons

    Always short staff safety was very poor when acuity was high

    Continue reading
    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2017-08-01
  5. "Decent, secure job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Leadership in my specific department is pretty good. They are pretty flexible given that we are state employees. Work load is reasonable and the leadership takes federal work regulations seriously (harassment/discrimination laws, fair work practices, etc)

    Cons

    Not every policy makes sense, leadership and administration tends to be more reactive than proactive.

    Continue reading
    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2017-06-04
  6. "Family Services Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Family Service Specialist in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Able to flex time rather than using annual and pay.

    Cons

    No ability to promote, management is poor and unpredictable.

    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2017-05-31
  7. "Project Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and support of the FTEs

    Cons

    No ability to telecommute. High political involvement

    Continue reading
    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2016-10-03
  8. "LCSW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lcsw in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services

    Pros

    When I hired in the salary was good; now, it is not. Great co-workers. Nice office.

    Cons

    Administration was in complete chaos, no respect for LCSW or professionals of any kind

    Continue reading
    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2016-03-05
  9. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Technician in Carson City, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay. Friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Working for the state is not challenging at all. Always the same thing.Not much room for growth.

    Continue reading
    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2015-12-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Work anywhere else instead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carson City, NV
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Nevada Department of Health & Human Services full-time

    Pros

    There is nowhere to go but up and you can do some fulfilling work if management gets out of your way. Most of the management is incompetent but there are a few jewels in the bunch.

    Cons

    Hostile work environment, our manager literally cussed at employees. Your co-workers will throw you under the bus, to include your manager. Received zero training from my direct supervisor and had to seek help from other management. Overworked and massively underpaid. Because of their pay structure, someone with less education and less experience can indeed make more than you if they have been there longer.

    Continue reading
    Nevada Department of Health & Human Services2015-11-13
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews