New Alternatives Reviews | Glassdoor

New Alternatives Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
34%
Recommend to a Friend
New Alternatives Executive Director Michael F. Bruich (no image)
Michael F. Bruich
0 Rating
  1. "Good place for start experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Alternatives full-time

    Pros

    working with disadvantaged children to make a difference

    Cons

    the starting pay is low

    New Alternatives2018-09-28
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Behavior Specialist in El Cajon, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Alternatives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with kids in a school setting

    Cons

    Difficult kids that can take a toll on you

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2014-01-01
  3. "Great for hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Therapist in Chula Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New Alternatives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great for gaining child, family, supervision hours. Make your own schedule within scheduled work times. Flexible on occasional times needing to switch hours. Lady that does supervision is awesome. Relationship with teens. Loved my position with CAC and working with probation teens.

    Cons

    Management sucks. Lazy leadership. Too much paperwork. No raises in group Home jobs.

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2019-08-26
  4. "Not much to complain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TBS Coach in San Diego, CA

    I worked at New Alternatives part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, fun environment and good training

    Cons

    Long drive distances (drive distance was compensated)

    New Alternatives2019-02-10
  5. "Parent Partner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at New Alternatives full-time

    Pros

    Great staff dynamics and passionate direct services.

    Cons

    Turnover can be difficult for staff and families.

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2018-08-09
  6. "New Alternatives, Inc. South Bay Campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Alternatives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    trauma-informed work culture, flexible, lots of training opportunities, great population to serve and team to work with, great health insurance coverage, frequent opportunities to earn overtime hours and be compensated for the hours you are putting in, management truly cares about their staff and advocate for them as needed.

    Cons

    non-competitive compensation even for experienced mental health professionals, no paid holidays, no 403B matching from employer,

    New Alternatives2018-04-03
  7. "Behavioral Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Alternatives part-time

    Pros

    Good company, lots of flexibility and strong support from administration.

    Cons

    Long hours, and the pay is on the lower end for the amount of qualifications required.

    New Alternatives2017-06-05
  8. "Great PT Job as WSP III doing Respite and Caregiver Support work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - WSP III 
    Recommends

    I worked at New Alternatives part-time

    Pros

    great supervision and training opportunities. understanding, empathic staff and supervisors. I was lucky to have a good and engaged family.

    Cons

    little pay for time spent on documentation and treatment planning which I believe is industry-standard

    New Alternatives2017-05-09
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at New Alternatives

    Pros

    a great place to work

    Cons

    you have to work holidays

    New Alternatives2016-08-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at New Alternatives

    Pros

    New Alternatives is a great place to get experience and work with a collaborative team. The company has several facilities with different levels of care. Your team is often very supportive.

    Cons

    Be aware of what level of care you are applying to. High turnover is common, so you should fee comfortable with a constantly changing team as employers are often in high stress situations and county funding becomes more limited.

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2015-09-08
Found 65 reviews