New Alternatives "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

New Alternatives Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated Nov 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
34%
Recommend to a Friend
New Alternatives Executive Director Michael F. Bruich (no image)
Michael F. Bruich
0 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • "Staff is terrible low pay no support favoritism and nepotism lacking team player lacking certified med techs dispensing meds to clients(in 10 reviews)

  • "No holidays off, no extra pay for holidays, no comp time(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place for start experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Alternatives full-time

    Pros

    working with disadvantaged children to make a difference

    Cons

    the starting pay is low

    New Alternatives2018-09-28
  2. "Questionable management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at New Alternatives

    Pros

    Valuable learning experiencing for working with kids within a school setting. Great way to gain knowledge first hand about different interventions.

    Cons

    Severe low pay Supervisor has history of maltreatment of employees and is never around

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2018-11-28
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Work here only if you really want to help at risk youth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at New Alternatives full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You build bonds with your coworkers and the kids, that is really why most people stay for so long.

    Cons

    Rules change all the time, it's hard to keep up. They borderline make you lie in reports if your version of events doesn't match what they want you to say. Stuff that is broken down in the residential units does not get fixed in a timely matter and when it does, most of the time it's temporary fixes in order to pass an audit. Almost always short staffed which leads to an increase of incidents. No paid holidays. Low pay. Don't want to offer over time. Administration has unrealistic expectations and doesn't always support the residential staff. No real structure in place to actually help the kids. It is way to easy for the kids who have the worst behaviors to impact the ones who behave well. The school that most kids on campus go to is a complete joke.

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2017-10-05
  4. Helpful (4)

    "New alternatives is terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Child Care Worker in Spring Valley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New Alternatives for more than a year

    Pros

    Clients are amazing some clients have difficulty but when you care as staff clients will open up to you and do better when some staff support

    Cons

    Staff is terrible low pay no support favoritism and nepotism lacking team player lacking certified med techs dispensing meds to clients

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2017-04-08
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinician in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New Alternatives full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -great co-workers -supportive environment -invaluable experience with at-risk clients

    Cons

    -endless paperwork -low pay -no holidays off -little training

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2017-02-07
  6. "Great people low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at New Alternatives

    Pros

    people you work with are cool. management is friendly

    Cons

    low pay, vacations off and unpaid.

    New Alternatives2016-10-22
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Residential Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Counselor in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Alternatives full-time

    Pros

    Work with at risk youth, great doorway into social services, meaningful relationships with kids, caring staff, get to see some of the trauma- effects children develop, ver raw real human emotion.

    Cons

    Low pay, over worked, high turn over rate, little to no praise from upper chain of command, the pay is a joke.

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2015-09-30
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Starting point, DO NOT GET STUCK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Behavior Specialist in Chula Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New Alternatives full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There were a number of pros. for being a new grad and getting my feet wet in both social work and education, NA was a ripe opportunity to really learn if you like it. The people you work with are all great and can be some of your best friends. You also get at least 1 free meal with a shift, get to work with teenagers and actually feel like you change the world. The work/life balance was great, if you want to work 40 hrs a week, great, go for it kid. if you wanna work 56 hrs sure why not, we are always short staffed. OH, WORK YESTERDAY KILLED YOU? CALL IN AND TAKE A DAY OFF FOR "mental health day" ONCE A MONTH.

    Cons

    So this company hires 2 types of employees, recent grads, or therapists. All the managers have been there for 5+ years before they were promoted. The nature of the job is violent by nature and sometimes you may get hurt when a client really doesnt like you and may throw a brick at you or try and punch you etc. In my time i was bit, scratched, punched, kicked, spit on, and stabbed. You can easily get "stuck" in this job because it offers what a 21 year old new grad would love, hang out and supervise teenagers? why not? You get stuck with a low pay and no room to move up until someone above you leaves.

    New Alternatives2014-07-21
  9. "Great place to learn and develop skills"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at New Alternatives

    Pros

    Opportunities for growth and experience

    Cons

    Pay is low for the workload

    New Alternatives2013-11-13
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Come for the Kids. Leave for the Leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at New Alternatives

    Pros

    The best thing about this mismanaged company is the children it serves and the dedicated direct care staff. The 5 plus years I was employed at N.A.I. afforded me the opportunity to meet and form solid friendships with peers and cultivate rewarding relationships with the residents.

    Cons

    Aside from the low pay, which one would probably expect in the non profit sector, this company has gone from a leader in serving emotionally disturbed youth to one that prioritizes business over people. Imagine a place where people are afraid to voice opinions for fear of retaliation, where criticism trumps positive feedback and information is guarded and doled out not to inform, but control and sadly you have, in my opinion, New Alternatives.

    Continue reading
    New Alternatives2009-06-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews