New England Conservatory of Music Reviews | Glassdoor

New England Conservatory of Music Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
New England Conservatory of Music CEO Tom Novak
Tom Novak
3 Ratings
  1. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at New England Conservatory of Music part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice faculty and excellent student

    Cons

    Boston is a very cold place to live

    New England Conservatory of Music2019-01-16
  2. "A good mission, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New England Conservatory of Music full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great paid time off, wonderful music making environment. Great discounts throughout Boston.

    Cons

    Senior admin and the Board micromanage jobs they know little about without consulting the people with relevant experience. Low pay.

    New England Conservatory of Music2019-05-15
  3. "Usher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New England Conservatory of Music part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible job hours, the bosses were always nice, great first job for work study students

    Cons

    It was a very boring job and patrons could be rude

    New England Conservatory of Music2018-06-18
  4. "Great Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New England Conservatory of Music full-time

    Pros

    Everyone was very welcoming and the whole office had a good working and personal relationship. Everyone would help each other out with work.

    Cons

    None, it was a very good working environment.

    New England Conservatory of Music2018-03-19
  5. "Beautiful Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends

    I worked at New England Conservatory of Music full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Paid Time Off benefits

    Cons

    This is a very stable environment to work in.

    New England Conservatory of Music2017-10-02
  6. "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at New England Conservatory of Music part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Brilliant coworkers abound. Some of the smartest people I've ever been around

    Cons

    The overall school's culture seems a little slow to change...

    Advice to Management

    Embrace and fund new ideas

    New England Conservatory of Music2017-03-29
  7. "Mixed Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New England Conservatory of Music full-time

    Pros

    Hours, discounted concert tickets, access to a myriad of performances, vacation time, benefits

    Cons

    Supervision varies greatly from department, micromanaging, lack of oversight from HR, office politics

    Advice to Management

    Examine each department with the same standard and make the appropriate actions. There seems to be very little understanding/oversight at the executive level.

    New England Conservatory of Music2017-03-18
  8. "Great place to learn and contribute to a wothycause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New England Conservatory of Music full-time

    Pros

    Intangibles: The people, the culture, the music, the students, opportunity to learn Tangibles: Very generous benefits and vacation/time-off package

    Cons

    Somewhat hierarchical structure with few opportunities for advancement within. Demanding responsibilities and slightly lower than average pay

    New England Conservatory of Music2016-04-05
  9. "Great opportunity to gain variety of knowledge in educaiton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Assistant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New England Conservatory of Music part-time

    Pros

    It is a great creativity-driven environment. I liked that each office had very clear tasks and goals. The conservatory really utilizes its students to help in the offices, too. This creates a great learning environment for the staff and students to better serve the needs of the conservatory. This also creates opportunity for career growth within the conservatory.

    Cons

    Facilities and technology are a bit dated, and this can make work challenging sometimes. Other than that, it was a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    I wish there had been more management involvement in advocating for changes to inefficient processes and bureaucratic obstacles.

    New England Conservatory of Music2015-12-18
  10. "Box Office Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at New England Conservatory of Music

    Pros

    I loved the environment, so many excited concertgoers and amazing music to listen to. I learned a lot about customer service and how to manage ushers!

    Cons

    There were no downsides at all! The only one I can think of is that they downsized the coat room which was our meeting place!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, this was one of the best work environments that I have ever had the pleasure of being involved with.

    New England Conservatory of Music2015-08-05
Found 17 reviews