New Hope Treatment Center Reviews | Glassdoor

New Hope Treatment Center Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
George H Orvin
8 Ratings
  1. "Best place i have worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Hope Treatment Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    advancement, great team work feels almost like family, after a trying time the CEO reached out to me personally to check on how i was doing. Its a great place it thats what you want it to be . You can make a difference if only a small difference in the life a child who may have never had someone care for them

    Cons

    can sometimes heartbreaking to hear what some of these kids have been through

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more visible in the building

    New Hope Treatment Center2019-05-21
  2. "This is literally the worst job I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Counselor in Rock Hill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New Hope Treatment Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There wasn't a single good thing about working here. When I saw people filling out applications in the lobby, I had to restrain myself from running to them, ripping up their applications, and yelling, "Don't do it! Literally anywhere is better than working here."

    Cons

    *The pay is ATROCIOUS. I had a master's degree and only made $12.00/hr. *It's really hard to take time off, even if you have accrued PTO, and you have to fill your shift yourself. *They will bug you to take extra shifts because they're always short-handed. *They hire anyone who's over 18 and can pass a drug test (only one; many people did drugs but no one got caught/fired because when random drug tests were required,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You couldn't even have a facility without your residential counselors, so start treating them like they're people. Have more stringent hiring qualifications. Try harder to actually help the kids, rather than just housing them.

    New Hope Treatment Center2018-11-12
  3. "Residential Counselor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Counselor in Rock Hill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at New Hope Treatment Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are a few really good people that work here.

    Cons

    Understaffed, resulting in many who work double shifts, causing them to be tired, irritable, and abusive to residents. Few visitors get past the nice front lobby, to the place where most residents stay. Inadequate restroom facilities, broken sinks, no soap and paper towels. Minimal furnishings for residents, roaches, holes in walls, general uncleanliness. Many staff are verbally abusive to residents with cursing and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You make enough profit to fix this situation. Do what is right.

    New Hope Treatment Center2018-03-11
  4. "New Hope?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Residential Counselor in Rock Hill, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Hope Treatment Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with youth is a plus. Colleagues are collegial and supportive. Options between 3 shifts are a plus. Great location.

    Cons

    Privately owned, salary and benefits structure unclear, minimal room for advancement, high turnover, separation between corporate office and local facility

    Advice to Management

    Change top-down policies, address high turnover, change salary and benefits structure

    New Hope Treatment Center2017-07-06
  5. "Direct support personal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at New Hope Treatment Center part-time

      Pros

      working independently with nice educated staff.

      Cons

      Not having a permanent position, driving to where your needed.

      New Hope Treatment Center2017-01-23
    • "Horrible pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Residential Counselor II in Rock Hill, SC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at New Hope Treatment Center for more than a year

      Pros

      Being a mentor for disabled kids

      Cons

      Pay not worth the job, mentally stressful, no growth

      Advice to Management

      Put people in positions that are actually qualified and not based on who you like. P

      New Hope Treatment Center2016-04-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "A wonderful place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at New Hope Treatment Center full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Mission and purpose are exceptional. Leadership at the facility and corporate office are engaged, caring, and committed to providing the best care possible to the residents and for its employees.

      Cons

      Can be mentally draining and meeting the different state and insurance requirements can be challenging, but the pros outweigh the cons.

      Advice to Management

      Update policies and procedures and codify them. Use available technology to modernize.

      New Hope Treatment Center2016-03-23
    • "GREAT PLACE TO WORK!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at New Hope Treatment Center

      Pros

      Great coworkers and work flexibility.

      Cons

      Working with mentally ill chidren can be trying at times but it is very rewarding!

      New Hope Treatment Center2016-03-21
    • "rewarding job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Nurse in Rock Hill, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at New Hope Treatment Center for more than 3 years

      Pros

      It is rewarding to have the opportunity to improve the lives of children who have lived through difficult circumstances. The staff here is professional and clinically competent.

      Cons

      It can be a tough job working with children whose circumstances have made them difficult to connect with.

      New Hope Treatment Center2016-03-21
    • "Executive Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Executive Director in Rock Hill, SC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at New Hope Treatment Center for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Wonderful place to work. The employees genuinely care about the residents they serve.

        Cons

        The population can be challenging, but the rewards outweigh any situational challenges.

        New Hope Treatment Center2016-03-22
      Found 22 reviews