New Jersey Transit Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
New Jersey Transit Executive Director Veronique ("Ronnie") Hakim (no image)
Veronique ("Ronnie") Hakim
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits HealthCoverage vacation(in 11 reviews)

  • "good pay, the healthcare benefits are the best I've had, the retirement plan is unmatched by any previous job I've had(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Room for Growth!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at New Jersey Transit full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, healthcare, and work/life balance.

    Cons

    Nepotism is real there, so just keep your head down.

    New Jersey Transit2020-04-16
  2. "Benefits are great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Jersey Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Health and retirement benefits, tuition assistance

    Cons

    Politics, cliques. Not being part of a clique makes it a bit more difficult for career advancement.

    Continue reading
    New Jersey Transit2020-03-14
  3. "Review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager of Payroll in Maplewood, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Jersey Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health benefits are the only pro

    Cons

    Lack of support and advancement, no raises nor bonuses, lack of external candidates

    New Jersey Transit2020-03-25
  4. "No"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Conductor 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New Jersey Transit full-time

    Pros

    Pay very good Benefits are ok

    Cons

    Management has no clue how torun a rail road

    Continue reading
    New Jersey Transit2020-04-14
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Accountant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Jersey Transit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work load is just right, coworkers are very professional and willing to help and train. Work life balance is good.

    Cons

    No policy on remote work.

    Continue reading
    New Jersey Transit2020-02-27
  6. "Ok"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Chief Compliance Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at New Jersey Transit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work not monitored. Easy to do nothing.

    Cons

    Politics, poor work product from peers.

    New Jersey Transit2019-12-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No structure"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Jersey Transit full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Free transportation in the trains

    Cons

    Too political. Top management have no clue. Racism no diversity Corruption. Extremely low pay

    New Jersey Transit2019-11-20
  8. "Worked for 20 years, now retired."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Bus Operator in Maplewood, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New Jersey Transit full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Do your job, the rewards are worth it. You have job security, it pays well and has excellent benefits. Operated well cared-for late model equipment. The atmosphere is what you make it.

    Cons

    No cons, work is chosen according to seniority as it should be.

    New Jersey Transit2019-09-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Authoritarian workplace"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bus Operator in Oradell, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Jersey Transit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Medical Dental Vision & Pension Plan

    Cons

    Management Workplace Culture Inability to transfer to other garages unless it’s beneficial to the company No night & weekend differential or longevity pay Inadequate layover time

    Continue reading
    New Jersey Transit2019-10-11
  10. "I am interested in para transit work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bus Operator in Camden, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New Jersey Transit full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I enjoy working with the public

    Cons

    For me there are no downsides.

    New Jersey Transit2019-09-05
Found 106 reviews