New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau Reviews | Glassdoor

New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau Reviews

Updated Nov 13, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
100%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau for less than a year

    Pros

    good hands on exp. with the marketing side of things in new orleans

    Cons

    not enough work at all times for me

    Advice to Management

    more in-depth internship with more work other than blog posts

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2018-11-13
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are great and employees are all friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    There aren't too many negatives to be said about working here.

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2018-03-21
  3. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intenship in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learned new skills. Very very nice people. Great internship. Wonderful company. Innovative company working for tourism in city is a HUGE deal. Very rewarding just by doing work and talking to people on phone. It’s like the holidays in the office everyone all happy. New Orleans is the best city!

    Cons

    Very boring. Didn’t give me enough to do or learn. After my internship was over I was given no opportunities to grow with the company even though I just received my bachelors degree in business. No benefits. I think I got a Christmas gift from a lady down the hall I didn’t even know her. Wish I was offered a position considering this was my major in college. Tourism Degree.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up good work but give people opportunities. Love that you had a paid internship some companies don’t even do that.

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2017-10-06
  4. "Marketing Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau for less than a year

    Pros

    Small office get to know everyone

    Cons

    Really don't get in the experience you would think. Wish they'd keep you more in the loop

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2017-03-30
  5. "Great Place to Gain Valuable Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau full-time

    Pros

    Great team to work for and with.

    Cons

    Pay is low, hours are very long.

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2017-03-16
  6. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau

    Pros

    Great company and great benefits

    Cons

    Salaries tend to be on the lower end

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2016-07-02
  7. "Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful employer with great benefits. Learned a great deal about the hospitality industry while working with this employer. This is a ideal position for a career or to further enhance a career in the hospitality industry.

    Cons

    Quite a bit of transition with leadership resulting in communication break down at times. Benefits were generous but salary fell on the lower side.

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2014-11-24
  8. "Intern Knowledge Hospitality Development of New Orleans"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Intern - Convention Services in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends

    I have been working at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau for less than a year

    Pros

    Computer/ Organization skills Always learning more about the city Operations of Hotels Insight Love doing projects

    Cons

    Old computers Communication could be more structured Never have enough to do wish I could learn more $8/hr salary hard to save money for a future People are very friendly and goal-oriented but close-minded and blunt communication Nobody knows me nor cares to get to know me

    Advice to Management

    Give me more to learn I love working and I love learning all I can

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2014-11-17
  9. "Great people in a great city"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly very fun staff, awesome perks since the CVB runs the roost in terms of the hospitality industry in New Orleans. My team was amazing and I was very lucky to be involved with such great people.

    Cons

    I think things have changed a bit in recent months, but the environment there was always extremely strict and old school. Lack of communication between departments, which lead to inconsistencies. Often times a very negative work place mentality due to leadership approach- very distinct hierarchy.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of assistants and upgrade benefits. Work-life balance does exist and is very important to creating happy, long-lasting employees.

    New Orleans Convention and Visitors Bureau2014-01-16
Found 9 reviews