New Penn Motor Express Reviews | Glassdoor

New Penn Motor Express Reviews

Updated April 19, 2018
61 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
New Penn Motor Express President Howard Moshier
Howard Moshier
8 Ratings

61 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good pay, some co-workers were very nice (in 5 reviews)

  • Lots of good people, hourly employees (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • If you want low pay, a hostile work environment, long hours and constant criticism, this is a great place to work (in 4 reviews)

  • Very low morale, probably due to the low pay and absence of motivation or ability to move forward in the company (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (3)

    "Great people and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager
    Current Employee - Sales Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Penn Motor Express full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    In my career, the employees are the best people I have worked with. They care about doing a good job to the best of their ability, and are kind, hard-working compassionate people.

    Cons

    Clean up more often around terminal

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Feb 26, 2018 – Director - Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide New Penn with your feedback. We always appreciate it when a team member reaches out to us. We are happy to hear that your experience at New Penn has been... More


  2. "Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Billerica, MA
    Current Employee - Mechanic in Billerica, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Penn Motor Express full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Can’t beat the benefit package

    Cons

    Pay reduction, no training and not enough help

    Advice to Management

    Put us back to full rate and pension, provide more training for new equipment

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Operations Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Camp Hill, PA
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Camp Hill, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at New Penn Motor Express full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Not too many pros to working here

    Cons

    Poor communication from senior management, racial discrimination. Threats and intimidation from senior management constantly about termination. Poor attitudes and disgruntled front line management. Dock workers all working extended hours consistently because of poor senior management decisions. Lack of training on old antiquated computer systems. Hiring of personnel with known discrimination complaints filed against them. Berating of employees by senior management. Overall a terrible place to work, long hours for both front line supervisors and dock workers. No communication from senior management on a professional level. All communication handled thru secret channels. No concerns, I’ll be certainly terminated for some various reasons soon anyways. The training is non existent and poor as well.

    Advice to Management

    Start at the top in the central Pa facility. Everyone knows that place is being run into the ground and the leadership or lack thereof is the reason. I’m sure you won’t do anything anyway but support senior management there even though they are completely incompetent. I’ve retained an attorney just in case for my claim of discrimination with labor relations.

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Apr 19, 2018 – Manager, Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We take reviews like this very seriously. New Penn does not tolerate any type of discrimination or harassment in the workplace. Your comments are... More


  4. "IMPOSSIBLE WORKLOAD. AND BLATANT NEPOTISM is why turnaround for this job is faster than McDonald’s."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Decent hourly rate and casual atmosphere. Many of the non office employees are nice. 401k available. It’s always easy to find a parking place

    Cons

    Favoritism of family members takes its toll emotionally and physically. Family members waste time texting each other to communicate privately (in presence of non-related biller, who is pressured to pick up their slack).

    Advice to Management

    Immediate family members should never be considered for hire, it makes for an awkward work environment and major distraction to non-related worker. Consider changing and implementing nepotism policy. Frowning upon it isn’t working.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "No training, clear favoritism towards select individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lebanon, PA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lebanon, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New Penn Motor Express full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The people you directly work with are great people and are very welcoming, comfortable team to work with. Hour long lunches

    Cons

    There will be minimal training depending on the position, you will have the work load of two positions and expected to keep up with all of it.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to employees, try to learn what they actually do in a day, don’t just assume it is an easy task because it sounds that way. Sometimes a simple task can be 100 times more involved when you really look into it.

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Feb 26, 2018 – Director - Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that working at New Penn has been a positive experience for you. We certainly appreciate your efforts. While we... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Syracuse, NY
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Penn Motor Express full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very professional company. Management and upper management work closely together to resolve problems and exceed expectations. Very generous salary for people with experience and proven sales success

    Cons

    Union company. Driver environment can become hostile rather quickly. LTL Sales can also become very volatile. Maybe more than average in comparison to other management jobs. But it’s just as volatile for every carrier so the opportunity to gain accounts back is there

    Advice to Management

    -

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide New Penn with your feedback. We always appreciate it when a team member reaches out to us. We are happy to hear that your experience at New Penn has been... More


  7. "Dockworker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Penn Motor Express full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great job .Jack G. Easywork

    Cons

    Sometimes work 9 hrs days.

    Advice to Management

    Need more supervision.

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that working at New Penn has been a positive experience for you. We certainly appreciate your hard work and... More

  8. "Truck driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New Penn Motor Express full-time

    Pros

    Union benefits, but less than other union companies

    Cons

    Horrible management. Totally incompetent to run a warehouse and trucking business....they have to constantly hand off orders because of poor scheduling and bad equipment.They refuse to recognize or listen to their experiences drivers, and can't get replacements because of their non-competitive pay and their daily management. Many experienced drivers continue to leave, and, while they constantly preach safety, their warehouses are a mess. They need experienced terminal managers with driving knowledge and people skills, a lot of new equipment, more drivers and dock workers, and a completely new management culture, none of which seem to be on the horizon. If you want low pay, a hostile work environment, long hours and constant criticism, this is a great place to work. Read their company responses to these reviews....they tell you how completely detached their upper management is from the reality of how they are running the company.

    Advice to Management

    Where to begin. Hire experienced terminal managers that cares about the workforce. Restore their former pension benefits. Hire more and better mechanics. Upgrade the rolling stock. Hire dispatchers that understand logistics. Try to get more drivers, which will probably be impossible under the current system. I all honesty, I seriously doubt that the current management system is capable or even interested in fixing their operation.

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Jan 23, 2018 – Marketing Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us. We find this sort of feedback to be very concerning and we take reviews like this very seriously. In regards to your concerns, our president Howard... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "New Penn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Penn Motor Express full-time

    Pros

    New Penn has great employees along with a great brand name built on their 86 year history!

    Cons

    Nothing negative to report at this time

    Advice to Management

    Just be part of the New Penn team as you have great employees

    New Penn Motor Express Response

    Nov 17, 2017 – Account Manager

    Thank you for the positive review! We’re glad you enjoy being a part of the New Penn team. Please know that our 86-year history wouldn’t mean much if it weren’t for employees like you!


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Exasperating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Milton, PA
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor in Milton, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New Penn Motor Express full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Decent benefits, the customers we deal with are very friendly and easy to get along with, the other employees are good people

    Cons

    The pay is horrible, they take advantage of and use loyal hard working people, and treat employees with bad attitudes like they are gold

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better


Showing 61 of 61 reviews
Reset Filters