New School Reviews

Updated May 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
65%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
New School President David E. Van Zandt
David E. Van Zandt
119 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Micromanagement, low pay, indecisive, high turnover(in 16 reviews)

  • "Being part-time faculty sometimes feels isolating(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Worked at Milano, great experience"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Thoughtful manager and good team

    Cons

    Sometimes it gets busy but mostly it's not

    New School2020-01-20
  2. "Supportive Community!"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Peer Career Ambassador in New York, NY
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team I worked with at career services was extremely passionate about helping the students find their relative jobs and internships; I really admired their commitment to the work. Very organized, easy to get your bearings just starting.

    Cons

    Not much to say. I would say the department itself wasn't always allocated the amount of time and attention it could have been from the university. Many students didn't know about the asset of the Career Service branch.

    New School2020-05-14
  3. "Marketing and Communications Student Worker"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Student Worker in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities for leadership and management. I liked that the department would turn to us for paid focus group work and other marketing opportunities.

    Cons

    There was once miscommunication on store hours and shifts. Sometimes the check-out system would have issues, so more technological support would have been helpful.

    New School2020-04-22
  4. "Good Coworkers, Great Mission, Poor Institutional Leadership"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at New School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great education, liberal mission/values, support for new initatives

    Cons

    Execution of operations sometimes misaligns with values. Many incredible, dedicated, supportive folks in middle management. Leadership seems disconnected, say one thing, do another. Pay is abominable for part-time faculty.

    New School2020-03-16
  5. "too much expected"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Program Administrator in New York, NY

    I worked at New School full-time

    Pros

    free degree if you work there

    Cons

    too much expected of PAs with little reward

    New School2020-04-15
  6. "Student Supervisor"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New School part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good community of students to interact with

    Cons

    None that come to mind given the job

    New School2020-03-06
  7. "Not bad but has problems."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sick time, Vacation time, use of space

    Cons

    Problems systemically with faculty & what they do

    New School2020-03-01
  8. "Excellent College Experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New School full-time

    Pros

    Professors, Class sizes, Available classes

    Cons

    There were no cons from my experience at The New School

    New School2020-02-29
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Digital Content Producer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at New School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people to work with

    Cons

    Not a whole ton of hours, good pay

    New School2020-02-13
  10. "great people"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at New School part-time

    Pros

    nice new facilities, cool artsy people

    Cons

    for a graduate student worker, pay not very competitive

    New School2020-02-10
Found 313 reviews