New School Reviews | Glassdoor

New School Reviews

Updated Dec 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
60%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
New School President David E. Van Zandt
David E. Van Zandt
116 Ratings
  1. "Socially Conscious Curriculum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Professor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in curriculum, great colleagues

    Cons

    Administrative structure, chaotic bureaucracy, disorganized

    New School2019-12-20
  2. "Amazing, Supportive, Full-filling Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented Students Supportive Staff Members

    Cons

    We are all passionate and work so hard!

    Advice to Management

    More personal development opportunities. Give more personal autonomy - we are adults and should be able to innovate to change the way we approach education every day.

    New School2019-12-20
  3. "Great institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor 

    I have been working at New School part-time

    Pros

    The facility is amazing and there is a lot to learn

    Cons

    As adjunct it’s hard to predict what tote schedule will be like, but that’s anywhere

    New School2019-12-15
  4. "lack of effective leaderships"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    colleagues are talented and inspiring. everyone is nice and willing to help most of the time.

    Cons

    lack of effective leaderships which leads to chaos and overworked staff. high turnover rate.

    New School2019-12-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant 

    I have been working at New School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, fun place to work!

    Cons

    Pay needs to be better

    New School2019-10-19
  6. "Could be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Folks are friendly, great location. Lots of opportunity to take courses.

    Cons

    The school saves money by not enrolling new employees in their health care plan right away. Depending on when you are hired, you will wait a month before your benefits kick in. If you take a class, which you can after your probation period (3 months) you are not allow to transfer credits.

    Advice to Management

    Salaries need to be reviewed. Many titles are underpaid.

    New School2019-10-08
  7. "Flexible student hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student Assistant 

    I have been working at New School part-time

    Pros

    - can work around class schedule because school is always first - get to know the ins and outs of a university office - make connections with other staff

    Cons

    - sometimes you have to deal with not so savory people - it's a lot of sitting - sometimes you are given busy work

    New School2019-10-08
  8. "Solid job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work is not super demanding and my superiors were very nice. The environment is also a plus.

    Cons

    Not many hours and poor benefits overall. Though I did work only part-time so it wasn't that big of a surprise.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    New School2019-09-30
  9. "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New School

    Pros

    Fantastic environment, great pay and benefits

    Cons

    None, this is a great place to work at.

    Advice to Management

    The website could be made more user friendly for employees

    New School2019-09-29
  10. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Assistant in New York, NY

    I have been working at New School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Classes, creative energy, surrounded by young people

    Cons

    Experience totally depends on your manager

    New School2019-09-18
Found 302 reviews