New School "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

New School Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
New School President David E. Van Zandt
David E. Van Zandt
119 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Micromanagement, low pay, indecisive, high turnover(in 16 reviews)

  • "86% of the institution is part time faculty, so the institution runs on the backs of low paid faculty(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "General Writing Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at New School

    Pros

    Flexibility, great work/life balance, and staff was helpful

    Cons

    There are no cons for this company.

    New School2017-08-14
  2. "Good experience but political"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - International Student Advisor 

    I worked at New School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meet great people and students, diverse and forward-thinking environment, good benefits and work-life balance

    Cons

    Political and bureaucratic, lack of communication between staff

    New School2019-07-30
  3. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at New School full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and summer schedule

    Cons

    No decision making process amongst senior management

    Advice to Management

    Learn to make decisions

    New School2018-09-17
  4. "Good in general"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at New School full-time

    Pros

    Comfortable environment and very nice people

    Cons

    Zero flexibility. No work/life balance.

    New School2018-09-14
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Thorny organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New School full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Many of the people that work at this institution genuinely care about helping the students. A major pro were the wonderful co-workers I had. -Summer Fridays and the week off during Christmas through New Year. -Great location

    Cons

    - Leadership seems to have lost sight on the core mission. They still operate under the simulacrum of a progressive, critical thinking institution but it's bs. It's all an act. Do they even really care about the students b.c it feels like all they care about is the $$$. - TNS has an extremely high turnover rate probably due to the fact, they ask a lot and pay quite little. The longevity of employment is... irregular and strange. I have noticed staff who should have been let go awhile ago who are still at TNS and people who have served TNS 20+ years be let go without warning. So much for valuing such service. The junior staff at TNS are not compensated enough. That is my biggest gripe. It feels like TNS does not value their staff and gives you the barest minimum they can. - Depends on the office you're in but work/life balance is poor. TNS will give you the guise of a healthy work/life balance giving 22 vacation days, unlimited sick days but what if you can't take those vacation days? You're allowed to carry over a maximum of 15 days in a year, any remaining will be forfeited/put into a special leave bank in case of emergencies. If you leave the org, you will be paid out maximum of 15 days . -TNS is still very much siloed. The amount of bickering goes on for the most ridiculous thing is a sad sight. I think this hinders great ideas for improving operations and helping students. They're still battling I'm CoPA, I'm Parsons...the whole we are The New School identity is still a tough pill for some to swallow. - While the commitment to serve and help students is great, I also think on the flip side there is far too much molly-coddling going on. Sometimes a firm no is necessary. Many students now think if they cause a big enough scene, they'll get what they want.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start by valuing the junior staff more. Aren't they the ones doing most of the heavy lifting?

    New School2018-02-08
  6. "Analyst Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most departments strive for a work life balance

    Cons

    Even though benefits such as medical and PTO are good, compensation for most staff is below the market value.

    New School2017-12-14
  7. "Temp Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Undergrad Admissions Operations in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New School for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked the environment and fellow staff. Great work/life balance. Even though I only worked as a temp, they invested in my 401K.

    Cons

    nothing really it was a temp job

    Advice to Management

    Better opportunity for full-time employment for long term temp staff

    New School2016-11-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid at all cost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    people are genuinely friendly. great work life balance!

    Cons

    Terrible management, Worst on-boarding process EVER! everyone is so reactive and lazy! No one cares about anything.

    Advice to Management

    WAKE UP!

    New School2016-11-04
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Poor Management Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Data Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New School

    Pros

    Good work/life balance and benefits.

    Cons

    Bosses don't know how to use Excel!

    Advice to Management

    Please stop changing so often.

    New School2016-08-30
  10. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great colleagues, good work/life balance, committed mission-driven leadership - Support for and ability to innovate and create in one's position

    Cons

    - Legacy systems and organizational structures/walls/silos create some constraints for growth and efficiency, but school seems to be working on it.

    New School2016-03-22
Found 16 reviews