New Seasons Market Reviews | Glassdoor

New Seasons Market Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 247 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Forrest Hoffmaster
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free food decent pay and benefits(in 50 reviews)

  • "Relaxed work environment, great benefits, and supporting local farms(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management at store level (Slabtown specifically) was unresponsive to issues affecting clerks in various departments(in 11 reviews)

  • "All customer service positions are still(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cheese Clerk in Lake Oswego, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New Seasons Market full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive workplace; great, friendly staff; management cares about the success and happiness of employees

    Cons

    The "just say yes" to customers policy can be daunting and often requires you to go out of your way to please overly-needy customers

    Advice to Management

    None

    New Seasons Market2019-03-07
  2. "Progressive Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wellness Specialist 
    Recommends

    I worked at New Seasons Market full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, Blue Slip program, environmentally responsible company

    Cons

    Head office sometimes not receptive to suggested new products to bring in

    New Seasons Market2019-07-01
  3. "Amazing work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Produce Clerk in Cedar Hills, OR
      Recommends

      I worked at New Seasons Market full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Friendly co-workers, B-corp, competitive pay, good training

      Cons

      Heavy lifting, produce can be tough on hands

      New Seasons Market2019-06-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "The worst place I have worked! Because of management and their lack of training. This place is a good ol' buys club"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Freight Lead in Mercer Island, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at New Seasons Market full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I didn't have to work closely with the horrible managers since I worked night shift.

      Cons

      The manager was supposed to train me. She spent 2 days "training" me but really what she did was give me busy work as she sat around and visited with the people she chose as her favorites. She was fake nice to me until other staff were around and like a switch she flipped into a condescending and rude superior. She single handedly ruined my experience working there and I will tell anyone who will listen how badly they...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Watch what your managers are doing all you have to do is OPEN YOUR EYES!!!. One day I was told by my manager to check in with her before I left for the day...then she took her favorite employee upstairs where they could talk, disappearing from any of the areas where I would be able to find her to do as she asked and check in. She was gone for 45 mins to an hour. Making me walk around looking for her after I clocked out...

      Show More
      New Seasons Market2019-07-06
    • "Always changing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at New Seasons Market full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Free food, good benefits, multi cultural

      Cons

      Inexperienced management, company financial trouble

      New Seasons Market2019-05-29
    • "Great enviroment and benefits, bad management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at New Seasons Market full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great enviroment, awesome coworkers, really good benefits

      Cons

      Management is bad and the workload is huge.

      New Seasons Market2019-05-29
    • "great job!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Chalkboard Artist 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at New Seasons Market full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      creative freedom, no strict guidelines, being creative, being your own department

      Cons

      none i can think of!

      New Seasons Market2019-05-14
    • "Its good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Clerk 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at New Seasons Market full-time

      Pros

      Good pay, blue slip perks, good company to work for

      Cons

      Same issues as with any other grocery store.

      New Seasons Market2019-05-01
    • "Better than average retail work, but still retail work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Courtesy Clerk 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at New Seasons Market part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Slightly better benefits than comparable jobs in other grocery stores On average probably a less stressful than other retail jobs, but this can be highly dependent on your job and department.

      Cons

      Higher turnover than they used too have, benefits from the past have disappeared. Starting at the bottom and moving up may not be as viable as it used to be, which is to be expected as a company gets bigger.

      New Seasons Market2019-05-11
    • "A good place to work in theory, but at the end of the day, it's just another grocery store."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Floater in Cedar Hills, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at New Seasons Market full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A lot of the people who get hired at New Seasons are really cool, and have a lot of cool side projects going on. They all have very interesting stories, and many of them don't seem stuck in life. If you get lucky with one of the urban stores, the customers are usually pretty cool too.

      Cons

      Most of the people hired here are desperately overworked and underpaid for the work they do, especially people in management. Inhuman amounts of work are expected from people and everyone winds up exhausted. It can drag the vibe of the whole store down as negative energy from one department dissipates into the rest of the departments.

      Advice to Management

      Don't be afraid to go to the CEOs and founders of the company and let them know what's up, and how crappy it can be to work here when we're so desperately understaffed.

      New Seasons Market2019-05-10
    Found 247 reviews