New York City Department of Education "no benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

New York City Department of Education Employee Reviews about "no benefits"

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
68%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
New York City Department of Education CEO 	Carmen Farina (no image)
Carmen Farina
565 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are some terrible schools and principals in the system(in 50 reviews)

  • "long hours will affect your home life(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Adjunct Instructor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Teacher in Bronx, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Education part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can climb the educational ladder as high as you want

    Cons

    no benefits for part time

    New York City Department of Education2019-10-07
  2. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 
    Recommends

    I have been working at New York City Department of Education full-time

    Pros

    You get to choose the days you work. There will be work every day if you choose to work everyday.

    Cons

    As a sub you receive no benefits

    New York City Department of Education2019-07-07
  3. "Happy Morale, Short Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Substitute Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Education for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -SHORT day (compared to many other jobs). -You choose your schedule and location. -Freedom of what you want to do and how you want to do your job (Most schools let you choose what you want to do with the kids). -Kids

    Cons

    -PAY. What you make in a day is decent but what you make in a YEAR is little so if you live on your own or have kids, a second job is necessary. -No benefits. -GREAT JOB. I wouldn't trade this for any other. Would've been 5 star rating if yearly earnings wasn't so low..

    Advice to Management

    Inform employees of better or other career opportunities in the board of Ed (e.g. send email, give workshops, job fairs, etc.) . Some people actually want to move up in life.

    New York City Department of Education2019-06-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "SUB Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at New York City Department of Education

    Pros

    Flexible Hours, Pick location etc

    Cons

    Easily taken advantage of, no benefits or paid days off

    Advice to Management

    Offer benefits to substitutes

    New York City Department of Education2018-08-13
  5. "Paraprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Education part-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Short work hours, Days Off

    Cons

    No Benefits unless contracted full time

    New York City Department of Education2018-03-19
  6. "I mean you get what you get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Substitute Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the flexibility of cancelling an hour prior to school visit as a per diem sub

    Cons

    No benefits as a substitute teacher

    New York City Department of Education2018-03-14
  7. "SUB-Paraprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sub Paraprofessional in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Education part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Higher pay than permanent position, flexibility.

    Cons

    no benefits, no PTO, have to work during the summer to earn money

    New York City Department of Education2018-01-30
  8. "I've been a substitute para for 2 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Substitute Paraprofessionals 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York City Department of Education for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Being a substitute paraprofessionals allows me the Flexibility To work in different environments, take an assignment even i want, cancel an assignment if i need.

    Cons

    While you are a substitute you are provided with no benefits. Although i am still required to pay union dues, they don't provide me with any union benefits.

    New York City Department of Education2018-01-15
  9. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I have been working at New York City Department of Education

    Pros

    Diverse Culture, friendly team,

    Cons

    No Benefits, slow advancement,

    New York City Department of Education2017-10-10
  10. "Contract fee for service hourly rate as an occupational therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at New York City Department of Education

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule . Can choose number of hours and setting it work location to work in. Can negotiate rate of pay depends on experience and references.

    Cons

    No benefits. Should have private transport to be mobile between work sites. You have to be flexible and adaptable for new settings, schedules and working with different work teams, layouts and procedures and programs and documentation

    Advice to Management

    Can offer rates with or without benefits

    New York City Department of Education2017-10-16
Found 30 reviews