New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene "red tape" Reviews | Glassdoor

New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene Employee Reviews about "red tape"

Updated Nov 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene Commissioner Mary Travis Bassett
Mary Travis Bassett
110 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some of the red tape can be infuriating(in 12 reviews)

  • "Not much room for growth; you kind of stay in the position you're hired for unless an official opening for a more senior position comes up around(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "red tape"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Emergency Preparedness Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rewarding work, highly intelligent and fast paced environment, opportunity for advancement

    Cons

    Government red tape, lower salaries than in the private sector, occasional burnout.

    Continue reading
    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2018-03-28
  2. "Chill Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chill people for the most part Time off provided for off-site training

    Cons

    Can be very political Connections mean everything Lots of red tape and bureaucracy PTO accrues extremely slowly Low salary

    Continue reading
    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2019-11-25
  3. "Interesting but government"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Research Scientist 

    I have been working at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene full-time

    Pros

    Good mentors, research projects, room to grow and be creative

    Cons

    Bureaucracy. At times working around the red tape is difficult

    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2019-08-22
  4. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Services Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pension plan. State of the art computer system

    Cons

    Promotions are based friendships and not based on what you can bring to the table. Employees don’t have a saying. Too much red tape.

    Continue reading
    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2019-03-29
  5. "Progressive Workplace, with some headaches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene full-time

    Pros

    The DOHMH prides itself on taking progressive stances on working to affect the health and well-being of New Yorkers. Good opportunities for growth and finding a work group that you fit in with.

    Cons

    Some divisions have more bureaucratic than others--giving some the impression that they are actually working against the agency's interest. Some of the red tape can be infuriating.

    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2019-02-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent benefits, lots of bureaucracy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMR Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Medical dental vision benefits Deferred comp and retirement HSA and union Ive got a great manager and coworkers Location is perfect for me and lots of new buildings going up We've gotten a lot of funding but who knows how long that will last given the way our tangerine in chief is running things. Im paid well for this particular role.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape. Can take forever to get promoted. Things often dont make sense. Interview and hiring will take months especially if ur coming from outside the agency. In my role im basically what the rest of the world calls a business analyst. People cant make up their minds half the time or they change their minds after they've given me a final decision. Project management is not ideal at all. People dont think through how theyre implementing their own programs so when the emr isnt doing what they expect its a huge problem. And its hard to fire people who aren't doing their job.

    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2017-03-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "City Research Scientist - great place to undertake cutting edge public sector work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    + Importance of job cannot be understated (protecting health of US's largest, most diverse city with correspondingly diverse health issues) + Position well-respected in field + Wide variety of work and decent amenities/perks (fitness classes, free health insurance)

    Cons

    - People above often do not have to be as hard-working/qualified due to tenure-driven structure - Slow pace of work (after all, it is a government job) and IT/other red tape and bureaucracy may discourage some - Attractiveness of pension reduced dramatically recently, with salaries already well below private-sector equivalent

    Continue reading
    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2016-11-07
  8. "A ton of red tape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Coordinator in Long Island City, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene

    Pros

    Interesting work, great projects. Extremely supportive Commissioner in Dr. Bassett.

    Cons

    Tons of red tape that can make it extremely difficult to get things done. Prepare yourself for the bureaucracy.

    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2016-09-13
  9. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Long Island City, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful work environment, friendly staff.

    Cons

    Lots of red tape, difficult to get a promotion.

    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2015-04-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene

    Pros

    Friendly environment, I enjoy what I do.

    Cons

    Too much red tape to get anything done.

    Continue reading
    New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene2015-03-07
Found 12 reviews