New York Foundation for Senior Citizens Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
New York Foundation for Senior Citizens Chairman William N. Hubbard III  (no image)
William N. Hubbard III
4 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great

    Sep 11, 2019 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    --idependence --make your own schedule in terms of field visits (still 9-5 job) --some clients you will really bond with and will remember them for life --great team support --supervisors always open to assist

    Cons

    lack of office space. NO kitchen/break room for staff. really small fridge. too cramped, lack of opportunity to move up.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    It's fine

    Oct 3, 2020 - Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the people that work there

    Cons

    lack of support and acknowledgement from the higher ups

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great opportunity

    Apr 26, 2019 - Case Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Case Management: Learned a lot about resources and benefits - great learning experience to add on your resume. Home visits are only in designated areas in Manhattan. Supportive and understanding staff; can be flexible if needed.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, no clinical hours available.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Program Director

    Mar 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You will get supervisory experience along with running a program

    Cons

    The position is extremely over whelming. This is not a job for someone who can not work under pressure, multi task or have good time management skills. This job requires more than one person to do the work but in reality only one person is responsible for the entire program. It is simply too much for one person. There is not enough nor will there ever be enough time in the day to get everything done.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Program Director

    Sep 26, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Job! Management position and very friendly staff

    Cons

    No training and more responsibilities are piled up.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Faithful to NYFSCGS

    Jun 23, 2017 - Case Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The stories we are a part of are so interesting. We go into many different places and meet so many different people. A day is never predictable and is never boring. The work is very satisfying and puts perspective how fortunate we are to be helping our clients. We have opportunities to get fresh air out in the field, smell the roses, and pretty much we can set our own schedules. I like always learning. I get experience in emergency rooms, court rooms, police departments, go for rides with police or ambulances if needed, visit foreign consulates, and a myriad of other places to experience, including visits to clients' private apartments to see, etc. Being in the field also gives me the adrenaline and the exercise I need because I get off my chair as needed. The most rewarding part of this job is the diverse environments and people.

    Cons

    If you let yourself get burned out, you will burn out. You have to find a balance. I learned that You can never do enough. But with a good supervisor, you can prioritize and do great work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Case Manager - April 2017

    May 10, 2017 - Case Manager in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The only reason some people go into this terrible agency is because they claim to offer 43,175 annually but once you start to work with them the accounting Dept will tell you ... " the fiscal year is almost ending therefore; you are not yet entitle to what we agreed to pay you (43,175 annually) but 146 dollars less from your paycheck and this does not include the taxes which is much more based on your fake income..

    Cons

    Please stay away from this " agency"!!! They don't have a HR department They don't provide you with any training and will send you to court to be embarrassed by judges Every case manager complaints about their caseload which is 46 or more intensive cases Supervisors are never in the office if you have any question Supervisors will utilize you as a puppet and send you to client's homes even when you could not have time to read client's history/diagnosis You will not be able to finish until after 5PM and won't be able to take your 1 hour lunch break In order to get reimbursed with your $ 121 dollars monthly metro card , you have to complete a form showing the names of clients/locations you went to.... since you have so much work, you wont be able to complete this form They do not provide any information about sick days, PTO, life insurance ect There is no space in any of the offices... they use an old computer system and don't have space for files You will be able to notice that every case manager is in the "resigning process" They will ask you to do things without training such as " Appendix A" about clients you don't know and do not belong to your caseload If you lost the working cellphone, you will have to pay it back There is only one copy machine for about 25 people in this program You will have to email your schedule every morning before 9:15 AM to a group of people including your supervisor Almost everyone talks bad about their supervisors.... Some supervisors will send you to do 5 home visits in one day, if you don't have a car be ready to kill yourself! Pay attention that during the interview they cannot provide you with a job description because they don't have one... This agency does not have structure, space, air to breath.... Supervisors and Director don't care about their employees complaints or dissatisfaction. I feel sorry for those clients who report that they are missing some of their previous funds. It's not clear if supervisors steal client's funds or the agency itself keep them... Also, you will notice that supervisors will claim " client became irate and I had to hospitalize her/him" This is because the transition from the ER to the nursing home is easier and supervisors don't have to care intensively for the client when the nursing home is taking care of the client... Good Luck for those who are willing to compromise their health and mental stability!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice place to work

    Oct 20, 2016 - Case Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The overall atmosphere of working here is nice. It's quiet and no one bothers us so we are able to get our work done. I was actually surprised reading some of the reviews because some of the complaints seem like an extreme exaggeration from those who should never have been working in this field in the first place. When working for a non-profit, especially in an office with 20 people, you shouldn't expect to have your own personal office, since most of the money is going towards helping the clients. DFTA requires us to monitor our clients because as case managers that is our job, and we are responsible for ensuring their safety once we are hired. The office sometimes has potlucks and parties and the director tries her best to always keep the office morale positive. It's nice to work in a place where you feel like your supervisors actually care about you and want to help make your experience better. The flexible schedule and ability to schedule our own visits is also a major plus.

    Cons

    The work can sometimes get hectic when many clients all have needs at once. However, our ability to make our own schedule which is very flexible allows us to get it all done at our own pace.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    stay away

    Sep 6, 2016 - Case Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The clients' appreciation for your help is the only great thing. Flexibility to schedule your field days are also good, but not enough to make everything is worth it.

    Cons

    We have no personal space. Think about a computer lab in your old high school--this is exactly how we sit. We breathe on each other, bump into each other's chairs all the time. Why doesn't upper management arrange a new office? Because they don't care about their employees. I find it incredible that the workplace is so strained that we even have a mini fridge, no kitchen or lunch room. Secondly, DFTA requires us to treat our clients as babies and there is constant monitoring them for silly reasons. The organization is highly understaffed due to so many employees leaving each month. It is not common for 10 people to leave within a few months. That says it all. The supervisors are not all the same and some are much better than others. There are cliques and gossip sometimes, although mostly everyone is cordial with each other. The work is sometimes stressful, especially because of the understaffed issue and upper management taking 10 years to hire new people. We are constantly badgered to help with work that is not particularly our responsibility. -Again, If we even had a cubicle maybe it make everything better.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    It has its ups and downs...

    Sep 15, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The position allows you to touch on many different realms of social work including housing, legal, and benefits. Although the position is 9-5, it requires you to conduct field visits to each of your clients monthly. You schedule these visits, so it is often at your discretion when you are in the office or the field. All in all, a great job to gain experience in the field.

    Cons

    The court system has begun using the guardianship programs as housing programs. With increasing frequency, cases are coming in that are not really in need of guardianship, but rather are in need of eviction prevention/relocation when the client is living in on a limited income in NYC that has limited low-income housing. Case Loads have also been increasing in recent months. Although there is an accounting department, benefits specialist, housing department, etc., there is an over reliance on the Case Manager to fulfill aspects of these realms. Summation: Although it's a great job to get experience in the field, it is also an easy job to burn yourself out.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 English Reviews

Popular Careers with New York Foundation for Senior Citizens Job Seekers

Work at New York Foundation for Senior Citizens? Share Your Experiences

New York Foundation for Senior Citizens logo
or