New York Group Reviews | Glassdoor

New York Group Reviews

Updated May 4, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, people are very nice and friendly. Totally won't feel too much pressure working here. Very creative company, have a lot of interesting ideas about how to improve brand image. Great place to be a better you.

    Cons

    A little bit too far away from my place so it took long time to get there, but actually located in very good place in financial district.

    New York Group2015-11-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at New York Group full-time

    Pros

    NONE AT ALL - IT"S AWFUL

    Cons

    This is the worst place for you. Walking door to door to business and up to random people to cell the cheapest and worst makeup for you. Whatever you do, DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THEIR EMPLOYMENT AD!

    Continue reading
    New York Group2017-05-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Entry Level 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at New York Group

    Pros

    Young people. Nice fake office. Nice to try even fake jobs even once. Honestly can't think of anything positive but will try to think of something. Nope still nothing.

    Cons

    Would have added more pros but I would be lying to you. They want you to work 6 days a week and it is business to business sales selling cheap makeup. They will hide the fact it is 6 days a week. There is a lot more to this list I could add. It is like a little cult.

    Continue reading
    New York Group2016-03-01
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Scam artists!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at New York Group

    Pros

    Nothing at all. The office looks nice, too bad no one was working in it. Its for show.

    Cons

    It doesn't take long to realize that something isn't right when you sit down with the "CEO." The website hardly offers any information as to what the company actually does. Once you sit down in an interview, the CEO goes on and on about himself without asking any questions of the interviewers actual skills, experience, or wants from a potential position. Meanwhile he maintains a vague dialogue so that you still have no clue what the actual position is. They make it sound as if you can advance quickly through the ranks and hopefully within a 1-2 year period be scamming other people into working below you while you steal their commissions.

    Continue reading
    New York Group2016-02-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "What you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team. Nice office environment morning & evening. It's a sales position. So you street sell, business to business. It's a systematic way of selling every day. You go to a different part of the city every day from 11-6/6:30. Mostly selling makeup...lol, anyway it's fun but you come across a lot of different kinds of people. The people can make your day or break it. Management highly suggests you do not get bummed about anything at all, but we are human it's natural to be upset when something upsetting occurs.

    Cons

    People in NYC do know these sales reps but not in the way that they advertise themselves as being known. It sucks because, they try not to be pushy but everyone knows them as the people that shove makeup bags into people's hands in hopes that they'll buy. I feel as though the people in these positions have so much more potential. But the ultimate goal is to get to management which just means -- you open your own office somewhere, and gather sales reps for yourself? Lol it's just sad, cuz these people can do more than that. Earn an honest living. What're you actually accomplishing? Nothing. And what're you doing for people who don't make it? Wasting their time.

    Continue reading
    New York Group2015-12-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New York Group full-time

    Pros

    you get the chance to learn a lot and gain experiences that will advance you in the future

    Cons

    had to advance to more ambitious jobs and was getting bored of the company environment

    New York Group2015-12-03
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to be a better you.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at New York Group full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful atmosphere full of people willing to help you grow. This position has helped me take initiative to really take control of my life. Lots of opportunity to grow and become better. very knowledgeable training program that helps you understand and implement what you've learned to the job.

    Cons

    Long days but definitely worth it if you want to be successful in what you do

    New York Group2015-10-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Direct Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New York Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everybody is incredibly friendly and welcoming. The office is upbeat and makes you excited to be here. Mostly for me the biggest pro is the personal development. I used to be a very shy and awkward person who constantly felt uncomfortable. The group here and the work that they do helped me break out of my shell and be more relaxed in society. Most people don't get the value of what a position like this offers, but it is an amazing opportunity coupled with an incredible learning experience. A great place to learn how to actually be successful in the working world rather than just the technical aspects of a field as learned in academics. I guarantee that even if this is not the career for you that being around this place and people will make you more successful in whatever you choose to do.

    Cons

    The hours are long. You generally work from 8am to 6:30 pm. The people here are so much fun though that the hours don't feel as bad as they are. The walking all day can be rough, but you get used to a hard working attitude that helps get other necessary things done too. It is a direct marketing job which people confuse with indirect marketing. The work is very difficult but you are warned that in the interview.

    Continue reading
    New York Group2015-10-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Bad experience, good for right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at New York Group full-time

    Pros

    Good because after doing this, any other job will be more bearable and seem easier. Walking around New York City approaching strangers and talking them into buy makeup for 10 hours a day sucks. Therefore anything else you do after this will be easier because of how silly this job is. You do learn to be tougher and can apply the positive mentality you apply to other jobs. The end goal is managing your own office, which can be a good opportunity for the right people.

    Cons

    They lie to you in order to get you to start working there. No one tells you exactly what you're going to be doing when you interview. When I asked "what are the day to day tasks?" They said something like "talking to clients and expanding customer base through marketing activities." Lol. They make it seem like any other job you do is lesser to keep you there. They say things like "I am happy knowing that I earn my health insurance with my pure commission job and my company doesn't just give it to me." Which is laughable. The end goal of getting your own office to manage seems nice, but all the good cities are already taken so you probably will end up somewhere like Hartford or Cleveland. They tell you that you'll make $150k a year as a manager, which might be true if you're in a good city which are all taken. If you have no other career prospects it is definitely worth pursuing, but there are sales job out there where you'll make just as much money as manager working less hours and not walking on the street all day. AND YOU ALSO WON'T HAVE TO WORK SATURDAYS LIKE YOU DO HERE. If you're smart or have a good degree I would not recommend pursuing a career here. If you have a good sales skills and no one else will hire you, this is the right place.

    Continue reading
    New York Group2015-10-24
  11. Helpful (1)

    "My amazing experience with The New York Management Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager and Supervisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at New York Group

    Pros

    - Surrounded in an environment with goal oriented and self motivated people. Amazing team atmosphere which is highly conducive to every day growth. - Learning leadership and management skills. - Learning how to be more and more self manageable each and every day despite believing that I already was at day one. - Being able to not only re-learn basic marketing systems, but also see results from actions of these. - Learning how to properly train new hires and teach them how to quickly grow. - Having the opportunity to learn every detail of the back end of the business, not just basic sales and marketing.

    Cons

    - coffee machine constantly broken (thankfully there is a Starbucks and 2 other cafes on the block!)

    Continue reading
    New York Group2015-10-06
Found 16 reviews