New York Magazine Reviews | Glassdoor

New York Magazine Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Pam Wasserstein
4 Ratings
  1. "Smart group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    The work is interesting and the people are smart.

    Cons

    Could use more meeting rooms.

    New York Magazine2018-02-17

    New York Magazine Response

    February 20, 2018HR Generalist

    Couldn't agree with you more about the work we do and the people who do it! Thanks for the feedback and for everything you do to make this a great place to work.

  2. "Charismatic Company with Strong Emphasis on Maintaining Competence while Having a Carefree Attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, productive, collaborative and loyal. Flexible work environment with solid trust between managers and employees. Projects and ideas are new and fun, and the opportunities for growth and learning are always evident.

    Cons

    The only downsides to speak of would be the level of (good) commitment to the company can bleed into nights and weekends for deadlines, but the effort is always repaid tenfold.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for trusting your staff to followthrough with our work and rewarding our efforts to the fullest that I have experienced.

    New York Magazine2017-08-15
  3. "Solid workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really brilliant coworkers and writers. Great editors. One of the best magazines in the business.

    Cons

    No free snacks, which is weird for a journalism outlet. Only 10 vacation days a year, most of which you have to use around the holidays because the office never closes. Office area itself could use some TLC.

    New York Magazine2017-07-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at New York Magazine

    Pros

    people there are genuine for NYC and easy to get along with, hours are pretty good

    Cons

    they've been around awhile so the space is a little old and cluttered

    New York Magazine2016-04-29
  5. "Assistant Stylist for Cover Shoot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Stylist in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at New York Magazine for less than a year

    Pros

    The crew that worked the shoot was extremely organized and professional. Our contact at the magazine was also well connected so that when we needed help procuring items for the shoot the name of the magazine as well as the professionalism of the staff removed any barriers.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is the amount of bureacratic red tape that is required for all of the different departments to interact.

    New York Magazine2015-08-19
  6. "General"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Performance is based on ability to produce in a fast paced environment. Lots of opportunity to diversify your experience if you have ideas and motivation.

    Cons

    Limited on the breath of company since it is not part of a larger entity however there are many brand extensions to explore.

    New York Magazine2013-02-27
  7. "receptive to new ideas and ways of doing old things"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Writer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York Magazine part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexible hours and fair pay for amount of work required

    Cons

    sometimes slow to respond to ideas, too many meetings.

    New York Magazine2018-05-02

    New York Magazine Response

    May 9, 2018HR Generalist

    Thanks for the feedback! We're glad to see that you enjoyed your experience as a member of the team here at New York Media.

  8. "Staff Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    Creative freedom. Good work environment. Healthy sense of purpose. Everyone seems to believe in the brand. Generally healthy work-life balance in employees.

    Cons

    Pay is not low, but it's not high. Health benefits could be better. Unclear organization structure at time, though company is making efforts to change this.

    New York Magazine2018-01-16

    New York Magazine Response

    February 9, 2018HR Generalist

    Hi Anonymous- We're glad to hear that you love the creativity, purpose, and collaboration behind the things we make as much as we do! Dedicated & passionate team members are what make our company such a great place to work. Because we value that work so much, we're constantly ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Satisfying interesting work and associates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editorial/Creative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Magazine full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ny media attracts some of the best creative and editorial talent and the work is interesting and stimulating. Working for/with people you respect and admire is a good thing. It makes going to work less of a drag

    Cons

    not much opportunity to grow or advance within company, depending on department, but it can happen if you take initiative. No 401k match, but it's a flexible and accommodating company in other ways which may make up for some short comings. Some parts are dysfunctional depending on who your manager is.

    Advice to Management

    The resources seem to be spread unevenly, between titles. but it's an industry in flux so who knows...

    New York Magazine2017-04-28
  10. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    You can get a lot of exposure and a lot of experience, if you're willing to work non-stop

    Cons

    Very little mentorship or oversight. And very little room to move up. Senior editors/producers are rarely built up within the company, and instead former employees our outsiders are brought back in to lead. Not enough pay for average day being 10-12 hours.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to foster training and mentorship.

    New York Magazine2016-01-21
Found 59 reviews