New York Magazine Reviews | Glassdoor

New York Magazine Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Pam Wasserstein
4 Ratings
  1. "Smart group of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    The work is interesting and the people are smart.

    Cons

    Could use more meeting rooms.

    New York Magazine2018-02-17

    New York Magazine Response

    February 20, 2018HR Generalist

    Couldn't agree with you more about the work we do and the people who do it! Thanks for the feedback and for everything you do to make this a great place to work.

  2. Helpful (5)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    name on resume, but overall, still not worth the trouble

    Cons

    - no recognition for project completion with insane deadlines - management has no interest in training or mentoring more junior staff - no one in the office talks to one another - lack of diversity - teams need each other in order for company to function, but have no idea what other teams do or how they do it - budgets are always shaky and there is little prospect for the brand to survive much longer

    Advice to Management

    Be present

    New York Magazine2018-02-11

    New York Magazine Response

    February 14, 2018HR Generalist

    Hi Anonymous - We appreciate the time you took to submit this feedback. While we're sorry to hear that your experience working here was lacking, we hope that you were able to participate in some of the initiatives we've instituted over the past year (using Check Ins to talk about ...

    Show More
  3. "Staff Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    Creative freedom. Good work environment. Healthy sense of purpose. Everyone seems to believe in the brand. Generally healthy work-life balance in employees.

    Cons

    Pay is not low, but it's not high. Health benefits could be better. Unclear organization structure at time, though company is making efforts to change this.

    New York Magazine2018-01-16

    New York Magazine Response

    February 9, 2018HR Generalist

    Hi Anonymous- We're glad to hear that you love the creativity, purpose, and collaboration behind the things we make as much as we do! Dedicated & passionate team members are what make our company such a great place to work. Because we value that work so much, we're constantly ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Be extremely cautious. Get experience for resume and leave."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Magazine

    Pros

    It’s hard not to be proud of the amazing product and iconic brand. Colleagues are generally smart and ambitious. It definitely looks good to have the company on your resume.

    Cons

    There’s abysmal communication between departments. Departmental and company goals are never clear. There’s absolutely no way to stay motivated — comfortable managers have no incentive to change or improve things. There’s absolutely no chance of a raise or promotion.

    New York Magazine2018-01-12

    New York Magazine Response

    February 9, 2018HR Generalist

    Hi Anonymous - We agree -our colleagues and products are great! We're very proud of all the hard work our team members put into the things they create. However, we're sorry to hear that you find communication lacking and find it difficult to stay motivated. If you have thoughts ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Editorial"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    Great magazine and web site, smart co-workers

    Cons

    Standoffish culture, upper management is boys club

    New York Magazine2017-12-13

    New York Magazine Response

    February 9, 2018HR Generalist

    Hi Anonymous - Thanks for the review! It's great to hear from people who are passionate about our brands and want to see us succeed. While we're sorry to hear that you find the culture standoffish, we encourage you to reach out to your manager or the human resources team with suggestions ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Do Not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New York Magazine is a great name to have to bolster your resume and open the door for further opportunities at other companies

    Cons

    -Workplace bullying is very real here -HR is not on your side -Managers need actual management training -Team members refuse to communicate anywhere other than IM -Junior level employees are expected to just know what to do and read minds instead of being trained -Feedback for managers is not a thing. Feedback from managers is not constructive -Pay sucks

    Advice to Management

    Honestly, revise everything. Train your employees. And fix your culture

    New York Magazine2017-10-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great brand, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is really smart and talented, and the magazine/site/verticals do quality work that it's cool to be a part of. Also looks good on your resume.

    Cons

    Management is awful. Very isolating and non-collaborative work culture -- no one wants to help anyone else and managers are completely uninterested in their direct reports' growth. Most opportunities for big projects go to established names rather than take a chance on an employee who isn't a big-name writer (yet). It feels very "every man for himself," even when you're literally working on the same team. Socially very...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to your employees! Give them actual feedback regularly and work with them to improve -- everybody will be happier.

    New York Magazine2017-09-30
  8. "Charismatic Company with Strong Emphasis on Maintaining Competence while Having a Carefree Attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly, productive, collaborative and loyal. Flexible work environment with solid trust between managers and employees. Projects and ideas are new and fun, and the opportunities for growth and learning are always evident.

    Cons

    The only downsides to speak of would be the level of (good) commitment to the company can bleed into nights and weekends for deadlines, but the effort is always repaid tenfold.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for trusting your staff to followthrough with our work and rewarding our efforts to the fullest that I have experienced.

    New York Magazine2017-08-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fact checker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    Work with great writers and editors. Opportunities to pick up writing assignments.

    Cons

    Low salary, negligible raises, few opportunities for advancement

    New York Magazine2017-07-21
  10. "Solid workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really brilliant coworkers and writers. Great editors. One of the best magazines in the business.

    Cons

    No free snacks, which is weird for a journalism outlet. Only 10 vacation days a year, most of which you have to use around the holidays because the office never closes. Office area itself could use some TLC.

    New York Magazine2017-07-03
Found 59 reviews