New York Magazine Reviews | Glassdoor

New York Magazine Reviews

Updated May 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
Pam Wasserstein
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Really Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time

    Pros

    Looks good on your resume. People are pretty nice. It's pretty impossible to get fired.

    Cons

    They're coasting on their reputation. Management is really passive and not that bright. Salaries are low and perks are pretty bad. The office itself is sorta dirty, too. High turnaround rate that they don't seem to care about. Also, they make a lot of bad hires.

    Advice to Management

    Step up! Pay attention to who's doing what. Don't put up with laziness or bad attitudes. Give yearly reviews. Promote based on smarts/achievements. Be smarter in how you hire your employees.

    New York Magazine2015-10-29
  2. "Assistant Stylist for Cover Shoot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Stylist in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at New York Magazine for less than a year

    Pros

    The crew that worked the shoot was extremely organized and professional. Our contact at the magazine was also well connected so that when we needed help procuring items for the shoot the name of the magazine as well as the professionalism of the staff removed any barriers.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is the amount of bureacratic red tape that is required for all of the different departments to interact.

    New York Magazine2015-08-19
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, fun co-workers, understand better than most other media companies

    Cons

    No real advancement opportunities, lack of communication from senior management and across departments

    New York Magazine2015-06-24
  4. "Work Hard, Amazing Colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine

    Pros

    Super smart colleagues and work environment Flexible hours, telecommuting abilities

    Cons

    Always on call The salary is low

    New York Magazine2015-06-15
  5. "Nice working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working hours is very flexible, and developers are friendly. New technologies apply to different projects. Compensation salary is good, but health insurance premium is little expensive.

    Cons

    Its publishing company need to deal with some legacy stuffs. Don't have real agile process for some projects, it really depended on team members and sometime its confusing.

    Advice to Management

    I think its on the right path for a publishing company. Its migrating to the new technology and fade out the old stuffs. M

    New York Magazine2015-03-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to get your foot in the door and learn a lot about Media!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at New York Magazine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can communicate between departments and multiple titles very easily. Really creative group of people and the environment thrives on young creative thoughts.

    Cons

    Pay is not competitive. Training is non-existent. Career advancement is few and far in between. Sales tools are non-existent. Constant turnover results in strained relationships with clients.

    Advice to Management

    Create career paths and offer incentives for Junior roles and develop a strict training regime to ensure all parties are aware of new products and basic protocols. Match 401k.

    New York Magazine2014-09-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting place, low salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's just a damn great magazine. The environment is tremendously energetic and the office is full of smart people. The independent ownership and downtown location give it an appealingly scrappy, small-company vibe, as opposed to lethargic media conglomerate tone at most magazines.

    Cons

    Bean-counter budget issues are a constant drain on the staff. Salaries are low, and as a result there's high turnover, with the really good people being picked off by competitors.

    Advice to Management

    Put as much effort into marketing and sales hires as you do editorial.

    New York Magazine2014-09-16
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Photo Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at New York Magazine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers, ability to pitch stories and contribute

    Cons

    High intensity, low compensation

    New York Magazine2014-08-20
  9. "Former employee and current read of Newyorkmag.com"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the most well branded companies I have worked for, the content was consistently sharp and interesting. My coworkers were young, intelligent and driven to do their best and the staff was also much more approachable compared to publications I had worked with in the past.

    Cons

    Print is a troubled space and luckily the company had a strong web presence. When I was an employee there the print and digital teams were separate groups who did not interact and sometimes competed for business. This is a losing strategy for business and employee motivation. I'm not sure how they have changed recently but it was part of my decision to leave at the time. Also my manager (a mid-level print director)...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Find strategies to keep the brand going (NYM's events were always fantastic, maybe expand on those) and enable your staff to succeed along with the company. Also stop being cheap on the pay.....

    New York Magazine2014-03-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Advertising Department Should be under investigation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Planner in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at New York Magazine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no micro managing Hands on Plenty of meetings Receptionist are friendly

    Cons

    AD Operation and Finance are verbally abusive Don't report the abuse to management because you will get prosecuted Everyone is miserable in the advertising department, upper management use fear to motivate the employees, WORST PLACE TO WORK!

    Advice to Management

    Hire smarter people to run the advertising department

    New York Magazine2014-03-04
Found 59 reviews