New York Public Library Reviews | Glassdoor

New York Public Library Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 211 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
New York Public Library CEO Anthony Marx
Anthony Marx
67 Ratings
Pros
  • "NYPL really takes care of their employees(in 19 reviews)

  • "Part time employees are given flexible hours to work around school schedules(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay and hours, sometimes there is too much shelving and others won't help, people who have been in the system for a while are very negative(in 15 reviews)

  • "As it's a place for the public, can have some troubles with difficult patrons(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Systems Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Public Library full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great working environment for all.

    Cons

    Salary is lower compare to private companies.

    New York Public Library2019-08-05
  2. "Dream job that turned into a nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Information Assistant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York Public Library full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunity for creative people; talented staff; room for growth.

    Cons

    If you apply for a position in a branch of the New York Public Library, be aware that you can be transferred at a moment’s notice, and end up in a place where you may be unhappy, and at times scared. I wish I knew that could happen before I applied for a position at a branch in a quiet suburban setting. Within a week or two, I was telling friends that I found the perfect job. I chatted with patrons about good books....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make clear to potential employees that they may be transferred at a moment's notice, even if they do not want to be in the new location.

    New York Public Library2019-08-11
  3. "Good student job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page 

    I worked at New York Public Library part-time

    Pros

    Ample training & at the branch I worked at we switched areas/activities on an hourly rotation which helped me stay focused and engaged. Would have been manageable even during semesters (I only worked one summer). Management is flexible.

    Cons

    Pay was at/just above minimum wage for this role/level

    New York Public Library2019-07-23
  4. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Library Page in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Public Library part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At the library I work at, the employees really really care about their jobs. It makes every task, even the most tedious, a pleasure.

    Cons

    The higher-ups don't understand how awful budget cuts could be. They're always insistent on cutting costs, but hardly ever consider how detrimental their decisions are for the smaller departments.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your workers.

    New York Public Library2019-07-07
  5. "Page"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Library Page 

    I have been working at New York Public Library part-time

    Pros

    - Good pay and good hours

    Cons

    - Can be tedious work sometimes

    New York Public Library2019-07-07
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Public Library full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    NYPL has fantastic people and everyone is dedicated to its mission

    Cons

    As a non-profit, resources are tight

    New York Public Library2019-06-07
  7. "One of the easiest jobs in the city, just no immediate career growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Page in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I have been working at New York Public Library part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely flexible schedule while you are in school

    Cons

    No more than 19 hours a week, even if school is out of session

    New York Public Library2019-05-22
  8. "Great place to get your feet wet in employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at New York Public Library

    Pros

    Great vacation and time off

    Cons

    Working with all types of people. Most of them might have mental health problems

    Advice to Management

    Even the smallest person count

    New York Public Library2019-05-08
  9. "Learned a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Technician in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York Public Library full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    benefits, job security, location, work environment

    Cons

    some of the people were not the nicest to be around

    New York Public Library2019-04-02
  10. "good to start out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Library Page 

    I worked at New York Public Library part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule for school and finals

    Cons

    need more training to know things

    New York Public Library2019-02-19
Found 211 reviews