New York Times Reviews

Updated May 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
76%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
New York Times President & CEO Mark Thompson (no image)
Mark Thompson
139 Ratings
Pros
  • "The NYT is truly committed to journalism of the highest caliber, even when times are tough economically(in 34 reviews)

  • "The culture is moderately formal, but the work-life balance is fantastic and coworkers often help accommodate life events for each other(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "Restrictions on what you can discuss on social media if you work in the newsroom(in 15 reviews)

  • "If it's career fulfillment and being apart of arguably the best newspaper ever created then this is the palace for you(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "growth opportunity for ambitious person"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York Times full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Creative opportunity in changing environment

    Cons

    Long hours under deadline pressure

    Continue reading
    New York Times2020-05-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I feel proud to work here."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Lead in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Times full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues, relaxed atmosphere, you work for the most important media outlet to our democracy

    Cons

    HIGHLY political, promotions near-impossible and communication from upper management always comes in piece meal; flexible seating = no seat ever.

    New York Times2020-04-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place To Work At"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Times full-time

    Pros

    Very collaborative environment, company always has employees wellness and happiness in mind.

    Cons

    Things can move slowly like at any other large company.

    Continue reading
    New York Times2020-03-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Thanks to NYT, I Can Sleep at Night"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Times full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I work with some of the smartest, most interesting people from so many different backgrounds. Mission driven so at the end of the day, I feel really good about the kind off work we do.

    Cons

    Work can be disrupted or hectic depending on the news cycle. This is exciting but also exhausting.

    New York Times2020-01-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Salar"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTIS 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Times full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Invest in learning -Flexible work hours -Lots of different tools and libraries

    Cons

    -Not enough time to focus on self or project you believe in -Culture -Awkward big groups

    New York Times2020-01-29
  6. "Leadership listens to feedback, and makes changes. People are nice to work with."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York Times full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The formal process used for promotions and hiring are predictable and transparent, there is a sense of fairness above all else. Feedback is taken seriously, and changes are made company-wide when appropriate. There are a lot of opportunities to give and receive feedback, and the overall impression is that everyone is working toward the same goals. People are generally kind to each other, and respectful. The culture is moderately formal, but the work-life balance is fantastic and coworkers often help accommodate life events for each other.

    Cons

    The formal processes can be complex! Lots of paperwork and things can move slowly. Meeting heavy culture can take up a lot of time. Like any large company, there can be sudden shifts in priorities that can force you to drop everything and take care of a big project, but teams usually work together quite well in those cases. It can be disruptive but such projects are infrequent. It can be difficult to keep track of all the stakeholders for projects in such a large company, and projects can be delayed when a team catches up late in a process.

    New York Times2019-12-13
  7. "Great experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York Times full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get great insights on the media industry. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    From tech point of view, the company didn't create enough differentiating technology.

    New York Times2019-11-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "good place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 

    I worked at New York Times full-time

    Pros

    a good place to work

    Cons

    sometimes a lot of bureaucracy

    New York Times2019-10-30
  9. "Product Manager"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at New York Times full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission. Beautiful office space. Great benefits.

    Cons

    High turnover. Lack of leadership.

    New York Times2019-10-28
  10. "Great place to work at all career stages"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Staff Editor 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York Times full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Commitment to excellence, exciting projects

    Cons

    It’s hard to move up unless you’re plucked to be a star. A lot of people just make constant lateral movements

    New York Times2019-10-05
Found 397 reviews