New York & Company Reviews | Glassdoor

New York & Company Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
New York & Company CEO Gregory Scott
Gregory Scott
422 Ratings
  1. "I like my store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management has the ability to be flexible and work with all employees on scheduling.

    Cons

    There are daily changes to the promotions which take a lot of time.

    Advice to Management

    You're doing a great job. I've worked in retail management for several years at many different stores. NYCO is my favorite so far.

    New York & Company2019-11-28
  2. "Traveling Manager/Assistant Manager/Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Monroe, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The fashion was amazing! The structure of the company was impeccable as well. Easy to be a leader within this work field. Very fun work environment.

    Cons

    Disorganized Upper Management was a very big downfall.

    New York & Company2019-10-28
  3. "NYC Ex-Employee Opinion Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Mentor, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Co Workers and Management and District Manager.

    Cons

    On your feet without breaks

    Advice to Management

    Be nice to your employees and appreciate them for the hard work they do.

    New York & Company2019-07-19
  4. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at New York & Company part-time

    Pros

    I love the environment!

    Cons

    I wish that they paid a little better

    New York & Company2019-05-20
  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced, philanthropy, smart people

    Cons

    No cons to list here

    New York & Company2019-01-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time

    Pros

    New York & Company had a good uplifting environment. There was never a day while I was working there that a staff or an employee came in upset. We all did what we were supposed to do as employees to make our customers happy.

    Cons

    Co-worker would talk about the other co-workers just to stir up drama. We had a lot of no call no shows.

    New York & Company2019-01-05
  7. "Came back for a reason."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pace is awesome, always something to do. Sales are ever changing, merchandising is fun and system very easy to navigate both POS and management systems.

    Cons

    Wish we could give sales associate a more competitive wage. Despite the amazing environment we try to create, in the end, money talks. Others complain about expectations and goals, but they are achievable, given the right staff is in place and you're not consistently having to train someone on an almost weekly basis.

    Advice to Management

    Offer more pay to sales associates and freight team, less turnover and more loyalty and hopefully better candidates to choose from when promotions are being considered.

    New York & Company2018-12-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Arlington, TX
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome employee discount. The job was fun.

    Cons

    You better love sales, because this isn’t just a retail job. You push customer sales and credit apps persistently

    Advice to Management

    None

    New York & Company2018-07-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Merchandising Assistsant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at New York & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great company where you learn a lot and a lot of exposure to all of the fascists of the company and the environment is great.

    Cons

    Long hours and not a lot of training prior to just throwing you into a role. You learn as you go and make it work.

    Advice to Management

    Overall work on training from the higher managers and being open to questions and making it more of a teaching environment.

    New York & Company2018-06-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "management was great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manage Niki in Vernon Hills is the best. Great atmosphere that really knows the importance of a good team.

    Cons

    The store in VH is larger than other NYC stores and it was a disadvantage that we were understaffed.

    New York & Company2018-06-22
Found 1070 reviews