New York & Company Reviews | Glassdoor

New York & Company Reviews

Updated Jan 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
New York & Company CEO Gregory Scott
Gregory Scott
423 Ratings
  1. "Temporary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Jersey City, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees discount to buy clothes in store.

    Cons

    Ridiculous schedules, short shifts, unprofessional

    Advice to Management

    Stop hiring some many employees to give them 2 or 3 real work shifts per week plus tons of on-call shifts that end up in not being needed for work. People have bills to pay and then you get mad when your Sales Associate job is not taken seriously and people quit. Not room for growth. Managers have their favorites. If manager feels threatened by your potential. He or she will definitely give you even less shifts and just on-calls until you get tired and quit.

    Show More
    New York & Company2020-01-19
  2. "The absolute worst job I ever had. So much unnecessary stress."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Woodbridge, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The original team I worked with.

    Cons

    The training I had was good, however it was done in a store that did all the trials of new clothing so the procedures were so different than others. Which would not be an issue however you train in one store and then actually work in another. My training manager was amazing, however the manager I was supposed to work with was unbelievable and completely unprofessional. Mornings were a nightmare. Sales change every day so we would go in two hours early just to change ALL the signage in the store which is super unorganized. It was horrendous. I was very upfront about my availability with school and my training manager was completely fine with it and it was never, ever a problem. The first week I was in my home store I got scheduled to work over night for a floor change (and yes it’s completely overnight). I let them know I could not work that as I had school in the morning. They told me it was required and they would see if they could work with it. This goes back to my point of training in the store you’re going to be working at. Because the store I trained in was a test store they did not do over nights, instead they had a whole different team come in to do their floor set. No one ever told me overnight shifts were a thing until I saw it on my schedule. The pay was a joke for all the work you do. To be honest I would have to be offered at least six figures to even consider going back there. The people who were amazing during my training know what they are doing and have their store running smoothly but that does not help all the work you have to do. The company just adds so much unnecessary stress to everyday tasks. Also, the hourly number report you have to do is ridiculous. It takes time away from you being on the floor and paying attention to the store. We have technology to tell us our numbers, we don’t need to be a mathematician to write them down.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lighten up the tediousness. It’s stressful and redundant. There is so much importance put on difficult paperwork when the focus should be on the team and the store. Have employees train in their home store if at all possible. Have a designated team for overnight shifts. Not everyone can accommodate those hours and it’s a whole other job in itself. Normal sales associates/ managers should not be doing that. I get retail is changing but the pay given for the work that is required is disgusting. Stop trying to trick the customer with the ever changing sales.

    Show More
    New York & Company2020-01-18
  3. "It's really a college job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours that work around your schedule if you communicate that.

    Cons

    Hours can be crazy during the holiday season

    New York & Company2020-01-17
  4. "NY&Co. Hanover"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at New York & Company part-time

    Pros

    Helping customers to look at their best.

    Cons

    Management isn't the best. Low Pay Under staff

    New York & Company2020-01-15
  5. "Interview Questions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in North Brunswick, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    easy interview, nice management, flexible hours

    Cons

    Wish there was more training with customer service

    Advice to Management

    Better prepare sales associates for customer training

    New York & Company2020-01-13
  6. "Easy job but over worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good hours if you have seniority

    Cons

    felt over worked. they made me acting assistant manager without the ASM pay

    New York & Company2019-12-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "It keeps you on your feet until you find something better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discount. You can move up fast as long as you do your job.

    Cons

    Associate culture is a joke Pushing credit Last minute changes and expectations to the schedule Unorganized as a company Not enough payroll to perform task daily Too many floor sets

    Advice to Management

    Keep a sale for at least two weeks. Send floor set in timely manner. Keep changes to a minimum and expect them to take place the following week, not during when a schedule is already in place for the previous week's expectations. Associates and managers have lives outside of work, do not expect them to drop everything on their days off at risk of losing their job. Allow management staff to let associates go based on performance, rather than dwindle hours. Do not micromanage. Management can not do their jobs efficiently if they're being hovered over. Support your management staff, every manager is different much like associates, handle and speak with them accordingly.

    Show More
    New York & Company2019-12-20
  8. "No room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Murfreesboro, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    nice discount on the clothing

    Cons

    terrible pay, no opportunity for a raise

    New York & Company2019-12-15
  9. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Westbury, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility Stylish clothes great training computer training Great experience with customer

    Cons

    Pay rate minimum wage Not eligible for coupon

    Advice to Management

    Great opportunity to advance

    New York & Company2019-12-13
  10. "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Other employees were friendly and we all got along

    Cons

    only pay 7.25 but had me doing the work the store lead would do

    Advice to Management

    maybe pay a little more to your employees for there work that they do everyday.

    New York & Company2019-12-09
Found 1071 reviews