New York & Company "credit cards" Reviews | Glassdoor

New York & Company Employee Reviews about "credit cards"

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
29%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
New York & Company CEO Gregory Scott
Gregory Scott
422 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Managers making you meet unattainable goals sometimes, they mainly care about credit cards(in 177 reviews)

  • "Upper management seems to be in flux(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "credit cards"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at New York & Company full-time

    Pros

    Great employee discount year round

    Cons

    Working weekends and pushing credit card applications

    New York & Company2017-11-26
  2. "Not the worst retail job, but they could treat their employees better."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Wayne, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked the people that I worked with; most of the managers were amicable and friendly. It was a pretty positive atmosphere on most days.

    Cons

    Being "on call" means you don't know if you're working that day until two hours ahead of the shift. It makes it hard to plan a personal schedule. I was making about $8.25/hour in New Jersey. They could offer better merchandise discounts to their hard-working employees. They pushed us hard to sell their credit cards, which was uncomfortable for both the sales associate and the customer. Sometimes they wanted us... to help individual customers shop, however there was no commission for helping make sales.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Commission on big sales would be a great incentive for the sales associate. The "on call" system is very inconvenient for employees. They should offer full-time sales associate positions with benefits. Some employees work overtime, but with no benefits.

    New York & Company2019-10-04
  3. "Horrible first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Coral Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros at all. None.

    Cons

    Rushed through training. They only cared about selling credit cards that people don't want. They didn't know what they were doing in there. Horrible management. Didn't tell me anything about the job or what to do and expected me to do all the things they didn't even tell me. Didn't tell me about break times. Just horrible.

    New York & Company2019-09-22
  4. "Growth opportunities/ overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PTO days after 60-90 days.

    Cons

    You work for what you get. & even then the company doesn’t want to pay enough. Especially for the associates. The wage is so low and you definitely work a lot. Promo changes every day. Entire floor sets every two weeks & it’s just too overwhelming for a clothing store. You do online orders and the pressure is big on credit cards. They need to have more employees working so everything can get done.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the prices the same for more time and not switching it up every morning. Also, too many floor sets and random updates. makes work so much more stressful. Instead of focusing on making money we are focusing on moving everything around and changing everything every 2-3 days.

    New York & Company2019-07-24
  5. "Pretty easy job. Only thing is that your hours is base off on how many credit cards you sign up."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at New York & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and fun environment

    Cons

    Pay and hours and the fact that your hours is base off credit card sales

    New York & Company2019-07-08
  6. "You’re always tired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay time out. Great discount.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations. You will have to push credit card and sales associates schedule is based on how much credits they have. Promos changes every day. Floor set change olmos every week. Terrible schedule. You have to move heavy tables, constructed walls, update windows and more with no enough coverage or hours! Every day!

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate more your employees!

    New York & Company2019-06-24
  7. "A Job is a Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at New York & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are some opportunities to grow in the company. The people I have worked with.

    Cons

    Confusing sales tactics Selling credit cards Limited pay

    Advice to Management

    Expand style options to accommodate younger clientele that is your target demographic. Don't make sales tactics that are confusing for customers and associates that will have the customers lash out to employees. Example: Having a coupon that says "No Exclusions" but really excludes have the store.

    New York & Company2019-04-02
  8. "Alright..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at New York & Company part-time

    Pros

    You can receive pay weekly.

    Cons

    Managers making you meet unattainable goals sometimes, they mainly care about credit cards.

    New York & Company2019-04-01
  9. "don't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at New York & Company part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    a job but very little pay

    Cons

    -bad management -very low pay for all the work you have to do -push you to make people sign up for credit cards and still get paid little -not very good employee benefits -rude customers -sometimes you stay later than your shift -can be hard to ask for days off

    Advice to Management

    -be more professional -actually communicate with your employees

    New York & Company2019-04-09
  10. "Decent Retail Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Wilmington, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Co-workers, good area, nice store. Easy for starting out in retail.

    Cons

    Corporate decides on hours based on your sales. So if the store didn't meat set sales the store would get less hours and it would impact your hours. One week I would get 8 hours in a whole week other weeks I would get 36 hours. So it varied a lot. You are also pushed to have customers open credit cards. Not what I like to do. Very pushy environment.

    New York & Company2019-03-05
Found 177 reviews