New York & Company "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

New York & Company Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
29%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
New York & Company CEO Gregory Scott
Gregory Scott
422 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Managers making you meet unattainable goals sometimes, they mainly care about credit cards(in 177 reviews)

  • "Upper management seems to be in flux(in 58 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Traveling Manager/Assistant Manager/Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Monroe, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The fashion was amazing! The structure of the company was impeccable as well. Easy to be a leader within this work field. Very fun work environment.

    Cons

    Disorganized Upper Management was a very big downfall.

    New York & Company2019-10-28
  2. "Absolute nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overtime for CA Store Managers.

    Cons

    So many I can list: -absolutely awful morale from the executive leadership team. Everyone is treated as if they’re just a number. That trickles down to the field. No one says anything to stand up for themselves against the leadership in this area. Everyone just “needs” their job so they take it. Toxic environment. Sad. -HR is unsupportive. Bring something, they’re doing that’s against the law, and you get... treated awfully. Retaliation I suppose? -zero work life balance. You’re constantly texted and called even when you’re off from both your team and your bosses (were in CA, shouldn’t we be paid for all of that time?) -There’s an underlying “get credit even if you do shady things” tone from upper management (district leaders and above) but once an associate actually does commit credit fraud everyone wants to shame them and “clutch pearls” yet, they’re the reason people feel so pressured in the first place. -the amount of time we spend on operations could go to sales but this company doesn’t care about good customer service. Oh, believe me. They act like they do. May even state it but, no. It’s all about switching promos and inflating prices to trick customers. THAT’S the only thing important to them. -Loss prevention leadership is a joke. Can’t even answer basic questions from the field. Why would we come to them to report loss, and make them look better when they cannot even provide the field with proper information? -I’m not surprised by how many lawsuits this company is getting slapped with and is about to get slapped with soon. There are a lot of very shady things happening right now (i.e people not being paid money they’re owed) and no one seems to care....Hoping the group of Store Managers in California ban together. I couldn’t deal so I had to leave but I hope they take a stand. This company lacks integrity, period.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice. Executives are hiring based on personal relationships and not business relationships resulting in an awful company culture. The CEO, is the worst so why would I expect anyone below him to actually care about employees? Leadership is much more than just Posing for the camera.

    New York & Company2019-12-01
  3. "Struggling Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Cranberry Twp, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good store manager makes for a good work experience. Create a posh-feeling shopping experience for customers. Significant special employee discounts for special store events.

    Cons

    Upper management seems to be in flux. Many stores closing. Corporate restructuring.

    Advice to Management

    Your associates are the people who keep the company running. Treat them with respect and they will work harder for you. If times are tough, don’t cut corners on the lower ranks.

    New York & Company2019-08-09
  4. "Whole Company Doesn’t Know What They’re Doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Lead in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Associates can do returns and manipulate prices and give discounts without a manager password. This is good because typically every transaction needs some form of adjusting the prices because of the confusing sales and promotions.

    Cons

    Confusing sales and marketing Upper management does not care about individual stores or helping them improve. Poor communication with upper management even in emergency situations.

    Advice to Management

    Have your marketing and sales teams communicate with each other. When there is a promotion like the “50% entire store” for a specific week, do not send out coupons for those same dates when the everything in the store excludes the coupons during that promotion. You may be getting people into the store with the sales signs and coupons, but it doesnt matter if every customer has a negative experience. Have your... District Managers work with their assigned stores. Do NOT threaten or pressure your stores so much on the credit cards. Focus on improving ways to make it easier for the customer to shop there. Nobody wants to have a credit card for a place that is frustrating to shop at. And employees should not fear for their jobs so much that they repeatedly apply for credit cards themselves to avoid getting reprimanded.

    Show More
    New York & Company2019-04-03
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Support your stores"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at New York & Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They keep you up on the current trends

    Cons

    Management is horrible and upper management is NO BETTER!! With no support

    Advice to Management

    Support the stores!! Make sure district and regional managers are helping their stores. And not just saying they are when they are not.

    New York & Company2019-01-23
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time

    Pros

    Able to work with all levels of the business

    Cons

    Everything- the culture is very negative. Everyone is overworked; no one is happy showing up to work. Rude upper management, no work life balance. They say they embrace change, but when you bring up ideas, they shake their heads and forget about what you just brought up. I could go on for hours.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team!

    New York & Company2018-11-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The discount was the only nice thing.

    Cons

    Not enough payroll No work life balance Heavy promos that constantly change Upper management doesn't care

    Advice to Management

    Rethink promos Think of your people

    New York & Company2018-11-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "So-So Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate and Key Holder in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great management team -Cute clothes -Great customers -Close-knit team

    Cons

    -Window changes almost every day -Huge promotional changes every morning -Management often has to change mannequins and floor sets during open hours since sometimes it is so last minute that mall security won't let employees stay late -Credit credit credit. Upper management only cares about whether you got new credit card applications and pays no attention to big sales or customer praise. -Low pay. I was there... for three years (one as an associate, two as a key holder) and the pay was just sad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    LISTEN to the people actually running your stores. Everyone will be happier if you actually make some changes to alleviate the craziness of every morning.

    New York & Company2018-08-02
  9. Helpful (3)

    "If you like to see your family don’t work at NY&Co"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Access to Penn Station for commuting to NJ

    Cons

    12 hour workdays. Plus weekend working and constant answering of emails. Upper management doesn’t have respect Bullying by CEO and Vps

    Advice to Management

    Trust your workers

    New York & Company2018-08-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at New York & Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great discount that is all

    Cons

    terrible upper management. A mess and you will be overworked and never have a life.

    Advice to Management

    promote within

    New York & Company2018-04-03
Found 58 reviews