NewDay USA "hard work" Reviews | Glassdoor

NewDay USA Employee Reviews about "hard work"

Updated Nov 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
NewDay USA CEO Robert Posner
Robert Posner
266 Ratings
Pros
  • "They invested in me by paying for my licensing and training(in 46 reviews)

  • "It also keeps me very eligible for all promotions to award any hard work(in 30 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "The opportunity is here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewDay USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to succeed and grow as a young professional is unparalleled. Excellent base pay, benefits, and people.

    Cons

    Hard-work, not for the weak minded.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for allowing young professionals the chance to build a career.

    NewDay USA2019-11-09
  2. "Good culture, Well Paid, Quick Promotions, and a Learn a Lot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewDay USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was my first job out of college and I have been here for about 3 and a half years. Some of my best friends now are people I have met here and work with every day. I have made more money than I ever expected. I’m entirely debt free (besides a mortgage) and just bought my first house. For the sales division, they promote only from within the company. That means that no stranger is going to just show up one day to... run my team. It also keeps me very eligible for all promotions to award any hard work. NewDay has thought me everything I need to know about the mortgage business and with that I can and preform at a high level compared to other loan officers nationwide.

    Show More

    Cons

    The long hours and competitive culture is a dangerous beast, it pushes you to be your best but it can also burn you out if you’re not careful. I highly recommend using the PTO given and take multiple vacations throughout the year.

    NewDay USA2019-11-08
  3. "Excellent Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewDay USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The opportunities available to young professionals are endless. Hard work is rewarded with great pay and leadership opportunites.

    Cons

    Long hours, comes with the territory.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to recognize the efforts given by all.

    NewDay USA2019-03-04
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Favoritism Will Go A Long Way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NewDay USA full-time

    Pros

    The one thing I will say at this company is that reaching your potential is entirely dependent on yourself. If you have the drive and are willing to do whatever it takes to get to the next level, your hard work will be noticed. This is a life skill. You will need to be proactive, take initiative, and sometimes feel as though you are working towards nothing, but the skill of work ethic and diversity that is developed... on the way is a major asset for the next job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Empty promises, no career growth plans, and no structure This company is sinking, and it is not just because of the Ginnie Mae sanctions, the FHA business failing, or because of the Purchase business being 18 months in and still not able to close more than 70 loans. For account executives, the comp plans are continuously changing and paying less money. You will work 60 hour weeks and your top earning... potential for the first few years will be 70K. This isn't how things used to be. With that incentive, what is the point? The culture is that of favoritism. They groom individuals that the CEO deems as fit, and puts them into leadership positions of his choosing. If the CEO doesn't know who you are, you will stay in your position with maybe a promotion every couple of years and still mediocre pay. Promotion doesn't mean increase in pay. What goes under the radar is that senior management are puppets to the CEO. Your performance reviews and evaluations are meaningless for growth because if the CEO doesn't know who you are and thinks you are providing extraordinary value to the company, you'll never get a raise. Managers that value you will promise how much you'll grow in the company and how they've never seen pay raises and bonus' like this before, and as a recent college graduate you'll eat it up and work your tail off for nothing in return.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Structured career growth plans, incentive based expectations, and transparency There's a reason why everyone of value at NewDay is either in a senior position, or has left for a better opportunity.

    NewDay USA2019-01-03
  5. "University Training Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewDay USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The University at NewDay USA goes above and beyond what is necessary to provide newly hired individuals with the required education needed for their position with the company. The effect of this training is represented on their highly successful pass rate. University coordinator, Alyssa Tucker, is a spectacular instructor. She consistently does more than her position asks of her, explains material in a way that is... easy for students to understand, and provides unique insight in one on one study sessions. She is certainly a valuable and essential piece to the university team.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours. Hard work.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    NewDay USA2018-12-12
  6. "Amazing Opportunity If..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewDay USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you're someone very success-driven, who is willing to work long hours you will have paramount success at NewDay. I came to NewDay because of the opportunity to make 6 figures after just a year or two. I am very money-driven, and this is a company that pays you handsomely if you put in the hard work and long hours. On top of being paid a $60,000 salary with full benefits and matching 401k, you also get the... incredible opportunity to help homeowner's in desperate financial need. Being able to completely change people's lives through their finances is so rewarding in itself, getting paid on top of that makes this job all the more elite. Ultimately, if you are willing to put in the long hours, have a strong drive to win, and want to help people, come work at Newday and you'll be rewarded with success.

    Show More

    Cons

    50-60 hour weeks. Work 3 out of 4 Saturday's a month.

    NewDay USA2018-12-12
  7. "I’m proud to work here! Core values that fit mine and helping Vets purchase a new home is exciting to be a part of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewDay USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Serve Veterans High transparency and accountability within the company Strong leadership development Managers are always available to newer employees to teach them and answer any questions. Strong Core Values

    Cons

    I'm not going to say these are cons because I do not personally see them as negatives, but for anybody wondering if you would be a fit here: We work 47+ hour weeks and we have to dress professional. This company values hard work and a professional attitude so we can help as many people as possible with the best service possible.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being outstanding! I am excited about the future of our company.

    NewDay USA2018-04-19
  8. "Great Opportunity and Company- Job of a LIFETIME"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processinh in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewDay USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are many reasons why I love the company I work for. There are endless amounts of opportunities within the company along with training to help with your growth. The company helps everyone understand the mortgage company as a whole and understanding the laws / guidelines that are within the industry. They do not hire outside the company, much is within the company. They do constant quarterly reviews to give you... an understanding of where you stand within the expectations and standards, and tools and plan to utilize to grow and pursue any opportunity you feel you can obtain to obtain a promotion and better your career. They have amazing compensation and rewards for your hard work. Not many companies out there that compensate and reward you for your success and growth like this company does. Hard work and dedication you bring you a far way with this company as it is an open playing field and you control your own destiny. The company is very upfront about the hours and workload they expect and the standards they set, this helps set the tone and give you an opportunity to go as far as you want within the company. I must say, this is the first company where I do not feel micro-managed. The senior leadership and the management team is one of the best. They help train you for a career always and give you an opportunity if you want to step up. Management on the operations side by run by Nicole Novella is a big part of why the company is where they are now. She promotes within and strides to help her team in anyway she can. She motivates everyone daily and created such an amazing atmosphere which is the reason why I love coming into work everyday. The company is growing at a fast pace and creating many opportunities for others to step up as they start their own servicing company, grow the Purchase division / FHA program and still have one main goal, do anything we can to give the best customer service and help our veterans.

    Show More

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is the negativity that gets portrayed toward the company, that in turn gives others a different opinion and thought on the company as a whole. the company is a great place with many opportunities. Understanding a good work life balance is important. This is not the place for someone who does not want to put their all and their heart into their work.

    Advice to Management

    Continuing to keep the culture and finding the best fit for each employee is key to the success with the company. Appreciate the opportunity that I have been given and the opportunity to let me control my own destiny.

    NewDay USA2018-04-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Fulton, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewDay USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are so many opportunities for growth and promotions. Great compensation and rewards for hard work. I don’t think there are many other companies that reward their employees for success like New Day does. You get 100% out of what you put into it, and those expectations are set up front- in sales, operations, or any other department. The managers and team leads are always there to help you and they genuinely want... everyone to succeed. Also, the work atmosphere is young and fun which makes me like coming to work.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you don’t have a good work ethic and don’t want to work hard, then don’t bother applying- no matter what position. This is not a place for someone wants to come to work, do the bare minimum, then go home. Also, people that complain that the goals are unrealistic don’t know what the definition of a goal is. Yeah the goals can seem impossible at times, but if you don't think you can reach them and don't want to try... to better each month, then it’ll be hard for you to be truly successful anywhere

    Show More
    NewDay USA2018-03-31
  10. "Honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff in Columbia, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NewDay USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The training is absolutely unbelievable. Many people coming out of college have no experience whatsoever about mortgages, but with their university, people are up and running in a matter of weeks. The people you will meet and grow connections with are great. For a job fresh out of college, there really isn't a better situation to come in to. The company rewards hard work with great incentives. Last year they sent... a group of managers to the final 4 and it was an incredible experience. You can tell managers care about all the employees and truly do everything in their power to make the work experience as gratifying as possible.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hours at month end can be long, but it is still easy to maintain a work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting and acknowledging those who put in the hard work day in and day out.

    NewDay USA2018-01-19
Found 43 reviews