NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Nov 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
87%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Working here is a great experience with great benefits to take advantage of(in 103 reviews)

  • "Good people good environment good benefits(in 55 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Loved my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Unit Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is very good, Benefits even better, #5 in the nation

    Cons

    I had to move out of state. :(

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-08-13
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and plenty of opportunities to go to other areas

    Cons

    Too many red tape and control groups to make fast effective changes

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-11-28
  3. "Fulfilling work will bring you, management and leadership will stretch you as far as possible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Lead in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Community focus, good benefits, mission-driven teams, diverse company

    Cons

    Teams are stretched thin, understaffed, many decisions made based on saving the company money at the expense of staff wellness and patient experience

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-11-09
  4. "Great co-workers and benefits but management is terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst - ACO 

    I worked at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were all great fantastic people. Pay was good. Benefits were good

    Cons

    Management in my team was terrible. Extreme lack of transparency. Director of the team did NOT inform me during my interviews that he/she worked remotely across the country. Interviews were all in-person. On my first day, I was pulled into the director's office and asked "How do you feel about working with people remotely?" I didn't have a problem as I have worked with teams overseas remotely. The director said... that's great because she lives across the country. Keep in mind this was all in-person, as she was in the office for a board meeting. Needless to say, I was shocked this wasn't communicated to me at all. Decided to give it a shot but found the manager extremely uncommunicative. Would constantly cancel and postpone meetings with me. As someone who is new to healthcare, these introductory informational meetings are essential for knowledge and growth. Manager was also rude and condescending to other members of the team, speaking over them, being noticeably irritable on many occasions. I put my notice in a few months later and the manager/director insisted that she informed me during the interview of her remote status. This was NOT the case.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is a severe lack of transparency from management, at least on my team. Communication is minimal and when there is communication, it is often one-sided and unproductive. Create an environment where employee's opinions are actually valued and listened to

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-10-18
  5. "Good place to work if you network and take advantage of the educational opportunities offered."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity at the management level, especially for African American males.

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-09-24
  6. "Best place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and good benefits

    Cons

    I have no complaints yet

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-08-01
  7. "Awful Rigid Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, that's about it.

    Cons

    The good benefits are not worth the misery of working there. Too many layers of leadership. Very cut throat, vicious environment. Toxic place. No working from home. Too many strict rules. Feels more like prison. You're monitored for when you come in, when you leave to lunch, when you get back, what time you leave, what you're wearing. No one can send an email to just you, everyone along the chain of command must be... copied on emails. Just makes you feel very uncomfortable, like you're walking on eggshells. The women there are extremely catty and clique-ish and anyone there will throw you under the bus in a heartbeat to make themselves look good. It's all about power and status there. No actual teamwork. I left as fast as I could.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up!

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-08-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lower Manhattan - Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, competitive salary, meaningful career -- as an employee you are doing God's work regardless of how harsh the managerial environment was

    Cons

    Deep-rooted politics, no break times for long-hours' work. You will be retaliated against for seeking clarification in order to perform well. Manager in power will take this a sign of disobedience and tried everything to get rid of you. HR won't help you, they allied with manager to terminate you under false pretext. This is against corporate compliance and against law but it is allowed in this campus. You can... be terminated for any or no reason within a short period of time without being given a fair chance to learn and perform well. No matter whom you talked to to get help -- recruiter, coworkers -- they were afraid and won't help you. It's a shame this happened in such a prestigious hospital. They have no respect for employees who put their faith in this organization and took a leap of faith in joining. Beware. If you are a follower and can give up your rights easily, perhaps you can survive.

    Show More
    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-07-26
  9. "Good benefits poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Technologist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, coverage is decent. Paid time off generous. Coworkers friendly

    Cons

    Poor management and lack of support Poor communication Lack of leadership Disrespectful attitude Lack of consistency and compliance with protocol High turnover rate Hostile work environment Too much gossip/work politics Lack of confidentiality rights Would not recommend working here for new grads/entry level

    Advice to Management

    Support your staff when they need you. We are human too.

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-07-25
  10. "medical technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital part-time

    Pros

    helping people good benefits good money learning new things

    Cons

    too busy too crowded hard to travel hard to find parking not enough breaktime

    NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital2019-05-11
Found 55 reviews