Newbury Comics Reviews | Glassdoor

Newbury Comics Reviews

Updated Dec 25, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Newbury Comics CEO Michael Dreese (no image)
Michael Dreese
17 Ratings
  1. "Fun and refreshing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Newbury Comics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always good music playing and most people are pretty easy going (customers and co-workers alike)

    Cons

    You kind of have to fight for hours

    Newbury Comics2018-12-26
  2. "Fun and fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Newbury Comics full-time

    Pros

    Newbury Comics is a fun company to work for and it can vary from fast paced to slow and steady.

    Cons

    The quality of manager culture can depend on who is running the store you work at. Can be inconsistent in standards and priorities.

    Newbury Comics2018-11-30
  3. "operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Newbury Comics

    Pros

    It is very fun and engaging and you learn a lot

    Cons

    sometime the hours are absolutely brutal

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work fellas

    Newbury Comics2018-08-03
  4. "Wicked Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newbury Comics full-time

    Pros

    The ability to get to know your clientele on a deeper level. Get to know the staff really well

    Cons

    Some lack of security measures for when items get stolen

    Newbury Comics2018-06-01
  5. "One of the best retail jobs!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Newbury Comics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The merchandise is very fun to sell and be around. The environment is generally very relaxed. Everyone is very nice and always willing to help one another.

    Cons

    Management can be pretty harsh on some employees for underperforming. Just make sure you're always finding something productive to do. If you're here for the holidays, be prepared for some intense shifts.

    Advice to Management

    Try and include the associates in your strategy and merchandising plans. It sometimes feels like its "Us vs Them".

    Newbury Comics2018-04-17
  6. "Love It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newbury Comics part-time

    Pros

    Cool products Fun team Great company Loved working here, I felt like I fit in and I was eager to help customers. The crew was also fun

    Cons

    Can be slow Not a lot of room for promotion

    Newbury Comics2018-02-28
  7. "A job that I loved!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newbury Comics for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The customers and people I worked with were great! I learned so much from everyone I interacted with.

    Cons

    Not a con for me, but it takes a lot of hard work to run a store. I loved putting in the hours and seeing my results come to fruition.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what selling and focus on that. Instead of bringing in so many similar items, choose a couple and go from there. Communication must be strengthened.

    Newbury Comics2017-10-02
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Current Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newbury Comics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are fun and genuine people. Vast majority of the products are interesting and catch my attention and focus. Customers can be down to earth and fun to talk to.

    Cons

    Managment seems more focused on bullying people than actually managing the store. Heirarchy is most clique based, a lot of passive aggressive attitude flung toward employees. Very little to no room at all for advancement unless you are willing to leave your location, and also promises on helping you move up are often empty. Company itself does little to research and buy into trends, very stuck in "what works"... instead of bringing in more popular products.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Enough with the clique based mentality and shady treatment of your employees, do more to make your store fun to work at instead of taking out personal drama on everyone, learn to seperate that. Higher ups need to do more marketing research and actually give their consumer base a bone if they don't want to be bankrupt in 5 years. Advice to aspiring NC employees, seek employment elsewhere.

    Newbury Comics2017-09-25
  9. "Best place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newbury Comics part-time

    Pros

    At least in my location: The staff are the best - so kind and passionate about what they sell. They're also very attentive and genuinely eager to help people out. The products are a lot of fun and make the experience interesting

    Cons

    There are some Newburys that don't offer great customer service. Compared to the one I worked at, it was disappointing.

    Advice to Management

    Better customer service in most locations.

    Newbury Comics2017-08-29
  10. "Part Time Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Newbury Comics

    Pros

    Awesome customers & getting to talk pop culture all day

    Cons

    Getting any kind of advancement is a popularity contest.

    Advice to Management

    Stop closing stores to bring more customer base to "fashion stores" and focus back on music, movies and comic books

    Newbury Comics2017-08-31
Found 40 reviews