Newell Brands Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Newell Brands Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
Newell Brands CEO Ravi Saligram
Ravi Saligram
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with, informal & positive culture, challenging work assignments(in 41 reviews)

  • "Work-from-home on Fridays helps out with work-life balance(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "merger with Jarden has been one disaster after another(in 28 reviews)

  • "I don't trust Newell's upper management(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "***BIG change for the positive in past year***"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Newell Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    --Great products --Great brands --Great people --Finally bid adieu to leaders that didn't care about the people & now we are beginning to feel a big positive change --Many opportunities to develop & to make an impact

    Cons

    --Still a lot of change but far more manageable now that leadership changes have been implemented --Depending on location, parking can be a bit painful --Too many locations in Atlanta (3 or 4 buildings) instead of a single location

    Advice to Management

    --Remember that people drive your results and continue to make the progress you've been making --Figure out how to get Atlanta divisions and Corporate located under one roof

    Newell Brands2019-09-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Jarden review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Aurora, IL

    I worked at Newell Brands full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I never worked for Newell, but did work for Jarden before it was bought out by Newell. Jarden was a decent company to work for. The pay compensation is above average, and they take care of their employees. They promote and hire within the company before hiring outside of the company.

    Cons

    Sometimes management was chosen very well.

    Newell Brands2019-09-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transportation Planner in Greer, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management flexible work environment great wellness plan good pay

    Cons

    None so far and I’m 6 months in

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Newell Brands2019-09-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not that bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMarketing Manager in Hoboken, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are great Good working hours

    Cons

    Not much direction on anything

    Newell Brands2019-09-11
  5. "Fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 

    I worked at Newell Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, great people, benefits

    Cons

    Constantly changing objectives, many empty promises

    Newell Brands2019-09-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Chicago: Horrible horrible horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay decent 15 days PTO

    Cons

    Very uncomfortable physical workspace, the worst office lighting setup I’ve ever seen. Doesn’t really show the employees it cares about our well being as it was clearly done on the cheap. Unintelligent, unmotivated colleagues. So many of my colleagues struggle to calculate basic retail math. Many don’t have a grasp on basic economics. A players don’t exist here.

    Advice to Management

    Gut or move the office. No top talent in Chicago wants to work in that environment. Implement a standard of excellence.

    Newell Brands2019-10-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of brands / lots of changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Wooster, OH

    I have been working at Newell Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trying to find grove, leading to changes

    Cons

    Lots of changes, waiting to move forward

    Newell Brands2019-09-02
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Not A Bright Future Ahead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Brands full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, flex hours, people (but losing the best fast), exposure to many areas of the business due to short staff

    Cons

    Didn't pay bonuses for 2 years in a row, way too much change, leadership just trying to keep the company afloat, budget cuts, internal turmoil, turnover is higher than I've ever seen or thought possible, short staffed, limited resources, opportunities for advancement have been halted

    Advice to Management

    Fill the open positions faster. Your people who you claim to be the most valuable asset are drowning. Leadership is a boys club we need to see more diversity in upper management. When people leave take their feedback and implement. Prioritize.

    Newell Brands2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Don’t join if you want to grow with a company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ECommerce Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, Hours, Products, Location, Coffee

    Cons

    Pay Incentives Management Unequal structure Promotion opportunities Learning and development HR

    Advice to Management

    I chose Newell Brands because I was promised by recruitment that this was a place that promotes growth. However, I was told lies from the start. I was told there would be promotion opportunities, learning and development tools, if you work hard you would be rewarded, and particular pay. However in my time here I have learned that no one cares about the bottom and the assistants. We are all tasked with performing... manager level type work and even though it is recognized there is no reward. Every time someone leaves we have had to take over. Meetings with HR are cancelled and HR refuses to hear any of us out. There is a reason why 3/4ths of the new hires have left in a year, it’s not a coincidence. Newell should want people to grow with the company from the ground up. They should keep their promises and care about assistants. Assistants want to learn and grow. Instead they have just thrown more and more work and expect all of us to fulfill other former employees duties. On top of it have decreased pay significantly even in the case of a promotion. How can they expect people to stay and do these duties for 2 years just for a slight bump. People want the old newell back.

    Show More
    Newell Brands2019-10-02
  10. "Very fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Day went by really quick

    Cons

    Couldn't take break when on machine

    Newell Brands2019-08-29
Found 621 reviews