Newell Rubbermaid Reviews in Atlanta, GA | Glassdoor

Newell Rubbermaid Atlanta Reviews

41 reviews

Filter

Filter

Atlanta, GA

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
17 Ratings

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • work/life balance is great, working from home is encouraged in some departments (in 47 reviews)

  • Great people to work with and can develop lasting friendships with colleagues (in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • Lack of communication and no work life balance (in 30 reviews)

  • A lot of upper management changes (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (5)

    "Leadership sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great perks. Lot of employees events.

    Cons

    Leadership hasn't a clue they keep changing strategy

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 16, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Systems and Operations Analyst

    Thank you for your review of your previous role.


  2. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - IT Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Current Contractor - IT Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    IT department is very learned
    Location is good.
    Salary is okay
    Working hours are pretty well defined

    Cons

    Business works in a separate league with IT and fails to accept responsibility.
    Work structure needs improvement
    Company moving to NJ from GA, so am concerned there will be further disconnect between business and IT.

    Advice to Management

    Good luck for future endeavors.

  3. "A great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Financial Officer - Brazil in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Chief Financial Officer - Brazil in Atlanta, GA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    A multibrands with great success in USA, great professional opportunities and high level of integrity. In USA the work-life balance is possible and incentivated. Good variable compensation package.A multibrands with great sucess in USA, great professional opportunities, and high level of integraty. In USA work-life balance.

    Cons

    Lack of a hohttps://translate.google.com.br/mogenic level of local expertize in South America. Frequent restructurings causing disruption of plans and internal competition. What finally jeopardize growth consistency.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 12, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  4. "Ok Comapny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent Salary and nice working environment

    Cons

    Need to be adapt to a quick turn

    Advice to Management

    None

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 27, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Take time to ask questions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Vice President in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great brands. Growing company. Purpose driven culture. Continuously raising the bar on capabilities.

    Cons

    New CEO doesn't ask enough questions.

    Advice to Management

    Good luck.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  6. Helpful (7)

    "Sr. Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Mid-Level Pay with some nice perks and benefits. You are given full flexibility in your role in Sales. You just have to perform.

    Cons

    Don't expect any pay increases. In addition, CONSTANT Upper Management changes (and thus priorities) makes this a very chaotic company to work for. If you are not part of a Brand that is the current golden child with upper management, you should expect to have a reduced budget, resources and lack of support Newell has let powerful brands "die on the vine" because they don't put any effort into improving or maintaining certain brands. As such, if you are a Sales Rep or Manager in certain areas (National Accounts), you will be heavily compensated and given lavish rewards and bonuses. If you are not, expect a job of frustration and no support.

    Advice to Management

    Stop killing promising brands that are "too complex." LISTEN to your sales people about the issues they are having and FIX THEM. S

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 3, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your candor.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "HQ Corporate Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Leader in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Human Resources Leader in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great Culture, Benefits, Global Travel

    Cons

    Over worked staff, expect more with less employees, corporate restructuring, new CEO

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 3, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your insight!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Atlanta, GA

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, solid brands

    Cons

    Constant change, low morale, no development

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 3, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thanks for sharing!


  9. Helpful (3)

    "Need more visibly to long term strategy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Plenty of capability to take ownership in company. Individual contributions go far.

    Cons

    Too little overall statistic understanding of company decisions. Overall, actions seem to be "firing at the hip".

    Advice to Management

    Slow down and give us time to do things right the first time. It'll take more time at first but then we won't have to spend years fixing simple mistakes.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Sep 24, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback.


  10. Helpful (16)

    "Oh Newell...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    HQ is a beautiful building (although they are moving to an older smaller building at the end of the year). We have an internal Starbucks, a Cafe (that is going away with the new move), Company store (also going away), on site gym (oh yeah, that's going away as well), and great people who work here...(although most are leaving or have left)...

    Cons

    - Most of the pros will be gone. So consider those cons.

    - Restructuring every 3 months (even if it is not company wide, it will be within your team, segment, or specifically your role)

    - As a result of restructuring, there is no development or the reward of seeing all of your hard work through to completion. Most of us have had 8 or more managers within a 24 month span. My co-worker is on his 4th manager and just hit his 12 months with the company. I have had 11 and have been with Newell for less than 5 years.

    - Also if you're lucky enough to NOT have a constant change in management, then you will likely experience a change in roles or responsibilities. In 1 year, my department has changed 4x.

    - While the company is really trying (and FINALLY) implementing some pretty cool initiatives, unfortunately they have done it during a time where people can't really utilize them. The training opportunities are great, but there's no time to take them because we're working. Working from home is lovely, but only if your manager is not the type who feels that work is only being done if you're in the office. We used to have team events, happy hours, team building, etc, but with the pressure to save $xx million, they have literally taken all of the money and opportunities away. So when you come to work, expect to work and nothing else - especially when we move to the new building.

    My advice to you, wait to join until after the dust has fully settled, unless you like high stress and confusion.

    Advice to Management

    We all truly love Newell and want to see the company succeed, but we also want to love where we work and come to work HAPPY. Stop focusing on the big payout that comes if we raise the stock and help Mr. Polk look good. Unless he plans to renew his contract and stay longer, the company should focus on longevity, not just the $avings for 2015.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 10, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


Showing 41 of 588 reviews
Reset Filters