Newell Rubbermaid Reviews in Atlanta, GA | Glassdoor

Newell Rubbermaid Atlanta Reviews

Updated March 3, 2017
51 reviews

Filter

Filter

Atlanta, GA

4.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
25 Ratings

51 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • work/life balance is great, working from home is encouraged in some departments (in 47 reviews)

  • Great people to work with and can develop lasting friendships with colleagues (in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • Lack of communication and no work life balance (in 30 reviews)

  • A lot of upper management changes (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great team; too many changes"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FP&A Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - FP&A Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good growth opportunity; fair pay and good local management. Diversified business units and global presence creates more possibility to learn across the board

    Cons

    Lack of stability; too many changes all at once; most decisions are made at headquarter without input from local teams

    Advice to Management

    Try to hear local employee feedback more often

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Mar 10, 2017 – TA Analyst

    Thank you for your review of your previous role.


  2. "Global IT"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Director in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - IT Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Solid business leadership that knows how to run a company.

    Cons

    Lack of strategic leadership within the IT function

    Advice to Management

    Bring better top leadership to the IT arena.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – TA Analyst

    Thank you for your review.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to start your marketing career!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in Atlanta, GA

    Pros

    Nice people, casual environment, opportunity to work in a lot of different industries, actually good work/life balance, it's a really exciting time to work there since there's lots of new brands and locations

    Cons

    Can be viewed as "bland corporate culture." The benefits are not unique, but still a solid place to work. HR can be too bound by rules

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 24, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Systems and Operations Analyst

    Thank you for your review


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Supply Planner/Buyer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supply Planner in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Supply Planner in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    good work life balance
    they really care about their employees and developing talent. I especially enjoyed all of the work within the community, i.e. Habitat for Humanity among others.

    Cons

    Salary is not aligned with the market and there's too much turnover and layoffs

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 20, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Systems and Operations Analyst

    Thank you for your review.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great products"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Working at Newell Rubbermaid was great. Awesome products that everyone is familiar with, and much improved focus on branding.

    Cons

    Communication was challenging at times, and could feel like operating in silos. This may have improved with the change in portfolio that has been happening the last few years.

    Advice to Management

    More focus on R&D and long term investment and less on wall street will help the company more in the long run.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    May 16, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Systems and Operations Analyst

    Thank you for your review.


  7. "IT Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work culture, very intelligent peers & colleagues

    Cons

    Executive leadership team needs to be more transparent, will no longer be one corporate office as they are splitting their Atlanta headquarters into multiple locations

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 27, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  8. "Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great experience to a corporate environment. Good to see the workings of a large organization. Company is moving to a new location which sounds very exciting. Great events for interns to meet each other.

    Cons

    Takes initiative to meet employees from other segments of the company, which can be difficult for an intern to navigate.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your internship experience and hope you'll consider us for full-time opportunities!


  9. Helpful (19)

    "A little shaky right now"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have always loved working here. The people and the culture really make the place feel like home. Up until recently, I always felt that directives from "on high," so to speak, were coming from a fair and informed understanding of our resources and capabilities.

    Cons

    However, within the last few months, myself and my team have been stretched far beyond capacity with no end in sight. And when we're told the "Newell Way" culture is meant to empower employees, but my own teammates are afraid to speak up about their low morale because they're afraid of losing their jobs...it's a little incongruous.

    Advice to Management

    I know it's a consumer driven business, but you have systematically removed many of the reasons people loved working here. Team building is almost completely gone where it used to be a huge part of our professional life. It seems like the only people Newell is interested in making comfortable, besides the customers, are marketing employees.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 5, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your candid feedback.


  10. "N/a"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible work schedules , clear direction on skills needed for advancement

    Cons

    the processes and length to market

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Dec 3, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback!


  11. "Positive Place to Work, eBusiness Department"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Contractor - Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great headquarters, nice people, world renowned brands. Excellent amenities - open to contractors. Well organized department.

    Cons

    When I worked here the company was going through monthly layoffs to consolidate operations. The layoffs didn't affect me personally but created an unpredictable environment, leaving employees constantly wondering when and if they might be next.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.



Showing 51 of 578 reviews
Reset Filters