Newell Rubbermaid Reviews in Atlanta, GA | Glassdoor

Newell Rubbermaid Atlanta Reviews

Updated June 18, 2017
154 reviews

Filter

Filter

Atlanta, GA

154 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • work/life balance is great, working from home is encouraged in some departments (in 47 reviews)

  • Great people to work with and can develop lasting friendships with colleagues (in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • Lack of communication and no work life balance (in 30 reviews)

  • A lot of upper management changes (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Changes Abound"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Quality Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great opportunities to gain a wealth of consumer products experience, and grow your career. The money can be quite nice.

    Cons

    Political correctness overload, coupled with a need for office politics. It can be difficult to know who you can trust. I like Mike a lot; I like what he seemed to be doing, but his absentee management coupled with wild axe swinging made it difficult for a lot of folks. The bottom line is that this may not be a long term gig, but a short term experience stop.

    Advice to Management

    Don't wash the corporate cultures down the drain with the reorganizational bathwater.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Sep 3, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Leader Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leader Human Resources in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Leader Human Resources in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Global Company. Innovative. Can grow, promote from within. Learn a lot. Diverse Company, lots of great consumer brands. Employee Discount. You can wear Jeans all the time.

    Cons

    New Leadership. Uncertainty , Change. Re-orgs. Lay offs. No standard Tuition Reimbursement Policy, based on HR approval. So it's Political, who gets it and who does not. No Stable HQ Building. You must reserve your desk daily (hoteling) Expect a lot. Long hours for Big Projects.

    Advice to Management

    Work Life Balance. Don't abuse your hard working employees by expecting them to do too much.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Sep 3, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Channel Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Senior Channel Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Performance based culture
    Flexible and casual work environment
    High Mobility and easy to move around within
    Highly recognized brands
    Lots of upside as it pertains to company growth

    Cons

    Ways of working are still providing some challenges due to veterans and new employees adapting to a new business structure both structurally and strategically

    Advice to Management

    Continue to smooth out or operating rhythm, and to drive a performance culture that continues to invest in their employees development and overall we'll being

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!


  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    work/life balance is great, working from home is encouraged in some departments

    Cons

    young management, some departments micromanage

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 20, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!


  5. "Good Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I was employed at Newell Rubbermaid for 5+ years. Some of the things I enjoyed while working there included: solid work ethic among colleagues, work/life balance, average pay and benefits, and state-of-the-art office space. Newell Rubbermaid is definitely one of the best companies I've ever worked for. I would likely return if the right opportunity presented itself.

    Cons

    The downside of working at Newell Rubbermaid is the constant change in Management and strategy in the recent years and the continuous layoffs. Unfortunately, the former Newell culture that existed when I first started suffered as a result of these things. Lastly, there were plenty of advancement opportunities within the company. When I applied for opportunities outside of my department, I was often not even considered for the roles even though I was qualified which is why I ultimately left the company.

    Advice to Management

    While change is necessary in today's society, try to establish a clear strategy and stick to it which will not only benefit the company but also the employees.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 20, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We wish you the best of luck and hope that you'll keep in touch for future career opportunities.


  6. "Order Picker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Loading/Unloading in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Loading/Unloading in Atlanta, GA

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great hours, plenty of overtime

    Cons

    Poor management, wrong people in management positions

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 31, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great brands, too many stop gates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    Good people, company is trying to get back to work/life balance focus, but is doing more with less every year.

    Cons

    Too many processes and internal barriers to do business easily with external customers.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 1, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We want to hear your feedback and encourage you to share with your manager, HR Business Partner and/or leaders.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Challenging projects, lots of opportunity to travel, flex time, w@h opportunities, training is encouraged for development, excellent work-life balance

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on certain business segments, re-orgs every 12-18 months (you might get new director once a year)

    Advice to Management

    Probably the best executive team Newell Rubbermaid has.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jul 6, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and encourage you to continue to share with your leaders as we continue to build an "I want to work here" culture.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Full Time in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and great company. I only wish I could have continued working with the people

    Cons

    The people can be very conceited at times. There is no communication

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 30, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  10. Helpful (6)

    "It depends on which organization you support - be wary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - IT Senior Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Atlanta office has great facilities and generally smart hard-working people. Sales, mktg, prod dev are king

    Cons

    Execs have no respect for people, crappy vacation policy, terrible performance mgmt process. Daily heroics expected, understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Don't keep promoting people who don't treat their teams with respect or actually know how to manage a team. Your people are burned out too

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 23, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


Showing 154 of 588 reviews
Reset Filters