Newell Rubbermaid Reviews | Glassdoor

Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

63 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Newell Rubbermaid President and Chief Executive Officer Michael B. Polk
Michael B. Polk
34 Ratings

63 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • work/life balance is great, working from home is encouraged in some departments (in 47 reviews)

  • Great people to work with and can develop lasting friendships with colleagues (in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • Lack of communication and no work life balance (in 30 reviews)

  • A lot of upper management changes (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great exciting and growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities, strong brand recognition and good benefits. Great exposure to all aspects of a large corporation without the standard red tape found at similar sized companies

    Cons

    Rapid growth can add some challenges but there's a strong push to integrate quicker to alleviate these issues. Lack of direction can sometimes be difficult for new hires

    Advice to Management

    Continue focusing on developing your associates

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Sep 30, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Systems and Operations Analyst

    Thank you for your review.


  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Overall the staff is amazing, great hours!!!

    Cons

    The pay is not great and there are not many opportunities to advance.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Aug 1, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Systems and Operations Analyst

    Thank you for your review

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Just starting out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Flexible hours, understanding and helpful employees, in-depth training program for interns.

    Cons

    The huntersville office is a little out of the way and the starting salaries are a little low, but there's lots of room for promotion.

    Advice to Management

    Keep developing the training programs and expand some of the intern programs other than brand management, like trade marketing, sourcing, sales, etc.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jun 13, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for your review.


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Brand Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager
    Current Employee - Brand Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Learning more than I would have at a smaller, less established company. Flexible work hours. Career development opportunities.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to share. I enjoy my job and really think they care about my development.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Mar 8, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Recommends

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome work and experience provided during the summer

    Cons

    There weren't any cons to this job


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Manager - Category Strategy and Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager - Category Strategy and Development in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Manager - Category Strategy and Development in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than a year)

    Pros

    Professional, Fun, Challenging, Helped me grow as a strategy manager.

    Cons

    Too many cutbacks, restructuring, taking the focus off of what we brought to the team and company.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Feb 12, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent Brands and great international exposure

    Cons

    None other than lot of quick changes to adapt to.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 27, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  8. "Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Labor in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - Construction Labor in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A good employer to work for.

    Cons

    Some time not enough work to get your 40hrs.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great People, great passion, great perks.

    Cons

    Favoritism in call center that drives productivity down.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favoritism.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  10. "Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - R&D New Product Development in Downers Grove, IL
    Former Intern - R&D New Product Development in Downers Grove, IL

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid as an intern (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great relaxed, intelligent group of people. Learned a lot about the writing department and was able to explore my manufacturing skills. It was fun working with products that we all know and love. Young, welcoming group of people.

    Cons

    While it is great that the environment is relaxed and friendly, it moved a little slow for my taste at times. While it is the nature of an internship to be slow on work, I was occasionally bored. People appreciated when I asked for more work, however.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!


Showing 63 of 587 reviews
Reset Filters