Newell Rubbermaid Reviews | Glassdoor

Newell Rubbermaid Reviews

Updated April 14, 2017
547 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

547 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • work/life balance is great, working from home is encouraged in some departments (in 47 reviews)

  • Great people to work with and can develop lasting friendships with colleagues (in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • Lack of communication and no work life balance (in 30 reviews)

  • A lot of upper management changes (in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "IT Analyst"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work culture, very intelligent peers & colleagues

    Cons

    Executive leadership team needs to be more transparent, will no longer be one corporate office as they are splitting their Atlanta headquarters into multiple locations

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 27, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  2. "Ok Comapny"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Engineering Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent Salary and nice working environment

    Cons

    Need to be adapt to a quick turn

    Advice to Management

    None

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 27, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  3. "Warehouse"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Labor in Akron, OH
    Current Employee - Construction Labor in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    A good employer to work for.

    Cons

    Some time not enough work to get your 40hrs.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    "MATERIAL MASTER DATA MANAGER"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Leader in North Concord, NC
    Former Employee - Leader in North Concord, NC

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Technology driven, fast-paced work environment, employee flexible work environment, web based training

    Cons

    inefficient onboarding, lack of effective leadership and support for new hires, poor work ethics amongst employees

    Advice to Management

    more support needed for new hires

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  6. "Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Intern in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great experience to a corporate environment. Good to see the workings of a large organization. Company is moving to a new location which sounds very exciting. Great events for interns to meet each other.

    Cons

    Takes initiative to meet employees from other segments of the company, which can be difficult for an intern to navigate.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your internship experience and hope you'll consider us for full-time opportunities!


  7. Helpful (5)

    "This place needs a union"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operator in Winchester, VA
    Current Employee - Operator in Winchester, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    Opportunities for advancement on factory floor. It's been a pleasure to work with many people over the years.

    Cons

    Forced overtime in fifth straight month. Safety record the worst in four years. Machine speed-up without compensation. I'm not a union guy, but we need one.

    Advice to Management

    Management training for all factory floor supervisory positions. Too many people promoted without personal/management skills. Scrap the forced overtime and hire people to work the machines.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 27, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  8. Helpful (19)

    "A little shaky right now"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have always loved working here. The people and the culture really make the place feel like home. Up until recently, I always felt that directives from "on high," so to speak, were coming from a fair and informed understanding of our resources and capabilities.

    Cons

    However, within the last few months, myself and my team have been stretched far beyond capacity with no end in sight. And when we're told the "Newell Way" culture is meant to empower employees, but my own teammates are afraid to speak up about their low morale because they're afraid of losing their jobs...it's a little incongruous.

    Advice to Management

    I know it's a consumer driven business, but you have systematically removed many of the reasons people loved working here. Team building is almost completely gone where it used to be a huge part of our professional life. It seems like the only people Newell is interested in making comfortable, besides the customers, are marketing employees.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Nov 5, 2015 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your candid feedback.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Company not so great to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in High Point, NC
    Former Employee - Customer Service Specialist in High Point, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    None really just a nice office

    Cons

    Have to do a training class like if it kindergarten, 30 min lunches, horrible severe weather policies, seems favoritism plays a huge role especially towards blacks since they seem to favor them mostly ( most of the leadership is black) and other races are seen as whatever ( no promotions or opportunities to grow) , promise a lot of stuff and they dont meet promises.

    Advice to Management

    Restructure everything. Give people freedom, 1 hour lunches, get rid of the occurrence system and stop discriminating and give everybody a chance regardless of what color or ethnicity they come from.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 27, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    We appreciate your candid feedback. If you would like to share any specifics, please contact ethics@newellco.com.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "great job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great People, great passion, great perks.

    Cons

    Favoritism in call center that drives productivity down.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favoritism.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


  11. Helpful (11)

    "Perfection or else!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Huntersville, NC
    Former Employee - Design Engineer in Huntersville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Newell Rubbermaid full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay, a young vibrant culture where grass roots individuals are trying to make a difference in a continuously volatile environment

    Cons

    Everything is in flux, engineering has no standards or global specs. They expect you to be a CAD monkey and get things finished within unreasonable deadlines and constantly changing parameters. The newell way is this bogus smoke and mirrors rollout baselining the company's core values and has not taken a foothold.

    Onsite HR is abysmal, I went to them with a communication issue with my manager and they took over 60 days to respond.

    Morale is crap in the Huntersville office

    Advice to Management

    Stop changing everything and get your fundamentals in place. You're not going anywhere with ever shifting priorities and the negative talk between job functions.

    Newell Rubbermaid Response

    Jan 7, 2016 – Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.


Showing 547 of 578 reviews
Reset Filters