Newmont Goldcorp Mine Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Newmont Goldcorp Mine Engineer Reviews

Updated 17 Feb 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Gary J. Goldberg
5 Ratings
  1. "Mine Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mine Engineer in Winnemucca, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newmont Goldcorp for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Real world projects and responsibilities for mining projects, planning and daily tasks. Developed skills to make important decisions and real solutions to the mining projects. Safety culture, values and drive for a profitable business are only a few things that make this a great company.

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about Newmont.

    Newmont Goldcorp2017-08-02
  2. "Senior Mine Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mine Engineer in Battle Mountain, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newmont Goldcorp full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and Salary

    Cons

    Technical is not important, Systems are old. More Managers and Less Technical People with experience.

    Advice to Management

    Balance the Management with the Technical work. Newmont wants to reduce cost and improve the businesses so we need a balance to do that. we have a lot of young engineer without experience and a lot of managers.

    Newmont Goldcorp2017-05-01
  3. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer (Mining Engineer) in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newmont Goldcorp full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    4 day work weeks, sense of responsibility and good benefits, company is focused on safety and responsible mining, fast paced environment, corporate office is not overly intrusive

    Cons

    Long work days including 1hr 10min commute one way, hours are not very flexible, company is becoming more and more bureaucratic

    Newmont Goldcorp2016-07-29
  4. "Great opportunity to learn - poor job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mine Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Newmont Goldcorp for less than a year

    Pros

    Great operations, great employees (for the most part) and a good learning opportunity

    Cons

    No jobs security - people are the first things to go when the gold price tumbles

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people or suffer the consequences every 10 years when there's a downturn in the price cycle.

    Newmont Goldcorp2014-12-27
  5. "Volatile market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer (Mining Technology) in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newmont Goldcorp for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, traveling, resources, perks, people

    Cons

    Gold prices, long hours, long commute, management style

    Newmont Goldcorp2014-05-25
  6. "Experience in Mining Planinng"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mine Engineer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newmont Goldcorp full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Values and Good Oportunities to grow up your career

    Cons

    We produce gold so wee have to diversified our portafolio

    Newmont Goldcorp2013-10-25
  7. "great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mine Engineer in Elko, NV
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Newmont Goldcorp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity for personal development, great people, great safety culture

    Cons

    operations in the middle of Nevada. lacking off-work options. housing super expensive for small towns.

    Newmont Goldcorp2013-02-13
  8. "Mine Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mine Engineer in Paramaribo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Newmont Goldcorp full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worldwide business with good career opportunities, high values and great learning curve guaranteed. Multi cultural with much diversity

    Cons

    It is difficult to combine personal life with professional life as you are away from home. Being a woman that is even more difficult to combine.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing, Inclusion is the key to success. Provide opportunities and do not wait to promote and trust people. Some people need to see trust in order to perform.

    Newmont Goldcorp2019-02-17
Found 8 reviews