NexJ Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

NexJ Systems Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
NexJ Systems CEO Paul O’Donnell
Paul O’Donnell
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very convinient location, near 401 and subway(in 13 reviews)

  • "Very nice people and smart people, company is advancing in the tech space, located at a central spot, work from home available, flexible hours(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long work hours, No over time pay and no employee appreciation activity(in 19 reviews)

  • "Compensation should be better for a company that demands extra work hours(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good fast growing company to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NexJ Systems

    Pros

    Motivated and fast paced environment that allows great experience in the overall programming project life cycle. Good teamwork and facilties.

    Cons

    Fast growing company where emphasis on each individual can be slow.

    NexJ Systems2015-01-30
  2. Helpful (32)

    "Not a great experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NexJ Systems full-time

    Pros

    Very smart people who know their industry. Good intentions with product. Direct managers were great.

    Cons

    Leadership living off their laurels from the internet bubble. Not willing to progress. CEO thinks fear is a motiviator

    Advice to Management

    Regular screaming and swearing at executive team by the CEO does not make for a pleasant work environment.

    NexJ Systems2015-06-25
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (5)

    "Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NexJ Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Loved the people. Extremely smart.

    Cons

    The worst place I have ever been employed in. Thank God my time is over now with this company. Upper management was totally confused and the company as a whole has no direction and vision. People are lost as to what they need to do :(

    Advice to Management

    Please grow up and take care of your employees.

    NexJ Systems2019-08-23
  5. "Lots of opportunities and fantastic team of co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NexJ Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities to grow and change

    Cons

    - Pay scale a bit low

    Advice to Management

    - Great management in Development

    NexJ Systems2019-07-01
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Ambitious Company with the Wrong People Driving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NexJ Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part of NexJ is the HR team and the amazing people across all departments. People are mostly friendly and the environment is young and energetic.

    Cons

    - Complicated hierarchy with many layers of management. - High micromanagement by some executive members. They even interfere in very small details like a button change - Incapable senior people who lack managerial and leadership skills and have no knowledge about what is going on - Lot of time wasted on meetings while the company has many obligations

    Advice to Management

    Train the senior managers how to properly manage people and especially new hires. Train them how to delegate and minimize micromanagement. Train them how to have an open and flexible mentality. Train them how to build relationships with everyone. Train them how to deliver and communicate bad news.

    NexJ Systems2019-06-07
  7. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NexJ Systems full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I had the opportunity to work with a lot of intelligent people, as well as the opportunity to advance and try new things.

    Cons

    the approval process can be slow at time but this has been improving in recent years

    NexJ Systems2019-05-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Satisfied with the work life balance, care for employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NexJ Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    NexJ has put in some great effort to providing an above average comfortable feel for their employees. We come into work excited to strive for more and a successful future together. All together, it feels like our new CEO, who is brilliant, and our HR team have been making positive changes to the overall “feel” of the business. It’s a more uplifting place that really feels welcoming. I’m happy to be part of this... journey with NexJ. There will be ups and down but I believe we can achieve it if we stick to the plan together.

    Show More

    Cons

    I would say that the commute for me isn’t the best (coming from east), but we manage!

    NexJ Systems2019-03-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Warmth with Professionalism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at NexJ Systems full-time

    Pros

    Strong focus on employees Personable management Respectful and courteous office environment

    Cons

    Parking is expensive nearby (take public transit instead!)

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on employees. Human capital for a software company is its most prized asset.

    NexJ Systems2019-02-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Friendly people, collaborative space, improving their environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NexJ Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very nice people and smart people, company is advancing in the tech space, located at a central spot, work from home available, flexible hours

    Cons

    Training and development, career development and growth exploration

    NexJ Systems2018-12-18
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Well established company, invests in their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in North York, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NexJ Systems full-time

    Pros

    People investing, positive culture, open door policy, RRSP, flex hours, perks

    Cons

    North York, away from most tech companies

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    NexJ Systems2018-11-30
Found 101 reviews