Nexant Reviews | Glassdoor

Nexant Reviews

Updated July 14, 2017
92 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Gustafson
0 Ratings

92 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Work/life balance in the engineering group is great (can't speak for other groups in office) (in 12 reviews)

  • There are Good benefits such as lots of vacation time and the Cigna benefits are good as well as personal time (in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer
    Former Employee - Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Nexant full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great group of consultants that perform at a high level of professionalism. The salary and benefits are good. They treat their employees very well in my opinion.

    Cons

    There were a lot of soft changes in the company, but overall management appears to be creating a stable company.

    Advice to Management

    Slow down cost cutting changes.

    Nexant Response

    May 19, 2017 – Nexant HR

    We recognize that change across a company is not always easy, but we appreciate those who are willing to ride the waves with us. It's team members, like yourself, who help us through these changes... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Stable employment with personal growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Nexant full-time

    Pros

    If you desire a job not a career. Or a company where your day is predictable, this is the place for you

    Cons

    No opportunities for progression, employee benefits are extremely lacking

  3. Helpful (5)

    "So much amazing potential - wasted..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    * The energy efficiency mission
    * Some really great, dedicated, and passionate people

    Cons

    * Negative and disruptive employees need to be more immediately and proactively dealt with. It's come at the cost of loosing good valuable employees who ultimately leave in frustration when bad behavior is allowed to perpetuate.

    Advice to Management

    * Strong proactive management needs to start at the top, and reinforced down the chain.
    * It's sad to see so much wasted potential.

    Nexant Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Nexant HR

    We hope you are willing to share this information, confidentially, with HR. We take these these matters seriously, and would like the opportunity to review protocols and ensure we are fostering... More


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Small company trying to get out the the startup phase."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nexant full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The folks who aren't playing political games can be rather refreshing. Some folks may even be brutally honest, and trust me, this is a pro, since Nexant upper management is generally secretive.

    Cons

    Lower than average pay. What's worse is that certain departments have such a toxic environment that even senior staff will resign without securing positions first.

    Advice to Management

    The HR employee review process is a joke and should be removed. It doesn't matter if you have a near perfect score year after year, as I've found out that it's not in their best interest to reward you. When I leave, I'll at least know that I left nothing on the table.

    Nexant Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Nexant HR

    Please feel free to suggest best practices to us, as we strive to improve the process each year. We thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Your feedback is valued.


  5. Helpful (4)

    "Sad state of affairs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexant full-time

    Pros

    Still trying to come up with one

    Cons

    Penny pinching leading to quick attrition of the company's best asset ... people

    Advice to Management

    See above

    Nexant Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Nexant HR

    Nexant has valued it's team members since 2000. We have thrived throughout the highs and lows of the economy and we recognize the importance of creating strategy and consistency in the organization... More


  6. Helpful (10)

    "spiral down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexant full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    5% 401k, 9 day sick leave, 3 floating leave

    Cons

    Lack of overall leadership and unprofessionalism of certain upper management

    Advice to Management

    when you see people leaving (some without a job to go to) on their own, did you ever wonder why? The major asset for a consulting firm is not cash, it's human capital.

    Nexant Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Nexant HR

    There are many factors that are reviewed when a team member leaves the company. We appreciate your honesty, and wish you continued success in your career.


  7. "Great company, great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outreach Manager/Project Manager in Mount Vernon, IN
    Former Employee - Outreach Manager/Project Manager in Mount Vernon, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nexant (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very engaged with employees and value their opinions--Great people to work with. Management is also fantastic.

    Cons

    none at this time for Nexant

    Advice to Management

    None

    Nexant Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Nexant HR

    We hope you continue your success here! Thank you for sharing!

  8. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Good learning experience and ability to work closely with managers

    Cons

    poor life and work balance

    Nexant Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Nexant HR

    We are glad to read that you learned a lot while you were a Nexant team member. We wish you the best in your career.


  9. Helpful (7)

    "Know your manager before you get in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nexant full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Working with smart professionals with good manners. There are very talented engineers and (some) managers in this company.

    Cons

    There are some long-distance micromanagers with overly inflated egos here.
    They undervalue and disrespect the people who work for them, making them perform low value busywork, while making sure that they do the high value work themselves and shine.

    The performance review and bonus system is a joke. It is not transparent, they say it is based on a system, but they never explain you how it is actually calculated.

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of the damage that the micromanagers are doing to the employee morale and the lack of transparency of the performance review system which is demotivating the employees.

    Nexant Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Nexant HR

    Nexant is continually reviewing best practices when it comes to performance reviews. We feel it is a difficult process because of the variety of each role. Each year, we strive to improve the... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "job as soul mate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    management is off the hook
    project is very interesting
    respondents are the best

    Cons

    It would be terrific to have more work.

    Advice to Management

    keep on keeping on

    Nexant Response

    Apr 6, 2017 – Nexant HR

    We appreciate your feedback! We hope you continue to find value in the work that we do.


Showing 92 of 96 reviews
Reset Filters