Nexient Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Nexient CEO Mark Orttung
Mark Orttung
60 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free pop, co-workers, nice desks(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great place to start your career(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "No 401k match and expensive insurance for families(in 11 reviews)

  • "There is no 401k match, but overall benefits are great(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexient full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, relaxed environment, growing company, diverse

    Cons

    Not sure if growth potential

  2. "Average Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nexient full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, friendly and collaborative colleagues

    Cons

    It is a good place for some, worse for most others. It all depends on your projects, clients and managers. I say that because generally the colleagues are wonderful. Met with some of the nicest people while working here. But. And its big BUT. Some managers and directors can be a real pain in the neck. Nexient does have some people in the management who were hired not because of their competence, but because of their association to a particular country. These people for some reason can never speak the truth. I do not know why the CEO Mark (who I regard as a nice person) never took any actions to get rid of them because lots of employees I knew felt the same way. Working in Nexient can turn to your worst nightmare if the manager is as bad as most reviewers have talked about. And Nexient has quite a few of them. I knew one who would go almost crazy if he found anyone on the team missing from the desk even for 5 minutes. He would start asking others "Where is A? Have you seen B? When did C leave the desk?". Have had a manager who would choose to remain silent in the face of angry outbursts from the client and then would express his frustration only when the meetings were over. I was lucky to have few excellent team leaders who would choose to lead by example of pure talent, first class communication skill, fine character, grace and dignity; not by reprimands, mockery and fear. Nexient does fire people apparently for no reason and with no prior notice. I guess its because employees are paid so less that the top most management knows most are not going to stay longer anyways and they can always hire recent graduates with that awfully low pay. Sitting on the bench and jumping from one project to another in a short span of time can be real frustrating.

    Continue reading

    Nexient Response

    July 21, 2020CEO

    Thank you for providing feedback. Nexient's senior leadership and I are genuinely interested in understand the challenges you mention related to managers. When we have specific information about challenges, we address them. If you have specific information, I would encourage you to share it with me directly (either via email or send me a note to set up time to talk). Two points you mention that I disagree with: - We have never hired anyone because of their association to a particular country (we have a 100% US-based workforce and we serve clients in the US, so I'm not sure what this would mean in our context?). - We strive to give employees regular feedback informally and formally about their performance and how to continually grow their knowledge and skills. If you know of a specific case where we fell short of that, please reach out to me and share the details.


  3. "Was underpaid but a nice place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Developer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nexient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is pretty relaxed, the company is genuinely invested in growing your skill set and marketability as a developer, and working as a contractor has a way of insulating you from the corporate politics and financial woes of your clients.

    Cons

    Pay and benefits are mediocre. As a result, lot of folks will struggle to be comfortable working here indefinitely.

    Continue reading
  4. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Ok not the greatest."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nexient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free pop, co-workers, nice desks

    Cons

    Look up the reviews on Google too and see what people are saying about this company if you are thinking of working here. Because of COVID, laying people off because of budget issues, not telling people the truth, its mind-blowing how shady this company is and it's better if you just stay for a year - get some depth in your resume and leave. Treating engineers like children on projects. Hard timelines to built by the last wave of either contractors or in house people that had since left or current is what type of projects you'll find here. As well as functionality that was very, very poorly defined. You ask general questions and nobody really knows what they are trying to say in the story/task. This was more than 5 different projects, so you cannot tell me it is skewed.

    Continue reading

    Nexient Response

    June 30, 2020CEO

    I'm sorry that you haven't had a great experience. Your experience is not what I've seen since I've been at Nexient. Here are some specific areas that are different: - We have not done layoffs, either during the Covid-19 pandemic or during my time here. - While we have slowed our growth due to Covid-19's impacts on our clients, we are still growing and hiring (we had a group of new hires start yesterday) - We began operations in 2010, so not many can claim to have been with us 10+ years - We have an all company meeting via Zoom every Friday in which anyone can raise a question or issue. Direct, honest communication is key to our culture. I don't know the specifics of your experience, but I'd like to understand more. Please reach out to me directly and we can set up some time to talk. Thanks, Mark

  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not Agile"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Nexient full-time

    Pros

    free pop, pretty nice desks

    Cons

    They tout themselves as being super Agile. Not even close. I wouldn't even call it Waterfall. Like a lot of shops, they use Agile as an excuse to discard the extensive planning and documentation of Waterfall and replace it with Agile terminology, but with almost zero understanding of Agile principles. Every project I was involved in either already had hard timelines built in by the last wave of suckers that had since left, or the current engineers were required to provide hard timelines for proposed functionality that was very, very poorly defined. Engineers (even Seniors such as myself who are often older than their superiors) are generally treated like children. It might be a good first job for young people in order to get their feet wet. It's essentially a body shop. It might also be a good job for people who want to play politics to try and climb the corporate ladder. I witnessed some folks having success in that arena.

    Nexient Response

    June 29, 2020CEO

    I'll respectfully disagree with your conclusions on a few fronts. There are a number of people throughout the organization who have an extremely deep understanding of Agile. ,We always take a pragmatic approach to Agile. The reality of our clients' environments does not always allow for a purist view of Agile to be implemented (they have many constraints from both their history and their market pressures). We always strive to help our clients transform their processes to become more Agile and more product-minded and its a big reason for our strong growth with both new and existing clients. Not every client can transform as quickly as we or they would like. I don't know the specifics of the engagement you worked on or what leads you to think of it as a "body shop." Over 80% of our work is sold and executed in teams that we lead. These cross-functional product teams are a strength of the company and another key reason for our strong growth. I'm always open to speak to employees and former employees directly about their experience. My goal is to learn from you and make changes to improve Nexient. If you are open to it, please reach out to me directly. Mark

  6. "Great place to start your career"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Implentation/Support Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Nexient full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to start your career. Good benefits

    Cons

    Growing company with the usual growing pains

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Failed Leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is nothing great about Nexient other than it's near Detroit, Michigan where there are not many tech jobs.

    Cons

    Worst company culture. Mark is an unimpressive and failed CEO and he often is worried about getting fired as a CEO rather than showing leadership. As a CEO, he will make a trip to meet manager level employees on his client side rather than empowering his leadership to handle such scenarios. He has hired several wrong individuals as partners and this greatly spoiled the company culture. there are many other good companies in midwest so stay away from Nexient.

    Continue reading

    Nexient Response

    May 19, 2020CEO

    I can tell that you are not a VP in our Ann Arbor office based on the way you are using the concept of "failed." Please read "Mindset" by Carol Dweck to get a better understanding of how failure powers learning, which in turn can help you build your leadership skills. If you are a Nexient employee (or former employee), please reach out to me directly to share whatever issues you are seeing (this would demonstrate leadership on your part).

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Don't work here."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Nexient full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. This company promotes incompetent people to senior sales rep positions, who in turn lie and stab in the back the people who work for them.

    Cons

    Pathetic back stabbing management. There are no repercussions for their behavior either. I can't emphasize this enough. Any fool can be a sales VP/manager in this company. They attack the developers with lies.

    Continue reading

    Nexient Response

    May 4, 2020CEO

    At Nexient, we're always looking to learn and to improve how we operate. Its a core part of the Agile methodology, which is at the center of our culture and how we approach business. Another core part of how we work is honest communications with each other and with our clients. We have an incredibly strong leadership team who are focused on working with our team members to deliver great work to our clients while constantly developing our team members. When I read your review, it seems disconnected from the leadership team that I work closely with every day. We typically refer to our team members by their roles. For example, client partners, general managers, or account executives. So when you refer to a "Sales VP/Manager," I'm not sure who you might be referring to. As always, I'd like to understand your specific situation so I can learn from it, and if appropriate, address it specifically. Please reach out to me directly and share more specific information.

  9. "Opportunity Abounds Here"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Designer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Nexient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    We have a growing UX team here, with lots of opportunity for professional growth too! Casual office culture, friendly overall, with some work from home (unofficially) available. The Leadership here genuinely cares about its people. Some opportunities for travel if you're into that.

    Cons

    Your overall experience here can depend greatly on the project. Benefits are meh. The company overall skews young and male and is not very well balanced overall (yet) in terms of gender and age. The current office is a bit ghetto, and parking is currently a big issue, as we're fast outgrowing our space.

    Continue reading

    Nexient Response

    February 10, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to hear about the culture being friendly and welcoming. We'll continue to invest in growing our UX practice (along with a number of others). We're working on the office space and parking challenges and will have an update on that shortly. Thanks, Mark

  10. Helpful (4)

    "No one cares about you. No one in management or elsewhere. Corrupt, long hours, poor leadership. Be very careful."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ann Arbor, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Nexient full-time

    Pros

    Descent pay. Albeit, at the cost of your health (depending on your job!)

    Cons

    Management is incapable of handling situations in a professionall manner. Long hours, office politics, and employees who raise concerns about toxic workplace environments are disregarded. Be very careful before you decide to work here.

    Continue reading

    Nexient Response

    January 31, 2020CEO

    Thank you for your feedback. I would like to respectfully disagree with you on the point that nobody cares about you. I would very much like to understand your specific situation and what is causing you these concerns. Please reach out to me directly to set up some time to talk through the details.

Found 87 reviews