Next Century Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 88 of over 99 reviews

4.8
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Next Century President and CEO John McBeth
John McBeth
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "I enjoy coming to work every day here at Next Century(in 40 reviews)

  • "Since founding, the company has stayed true to its values and its mission to protect the country and save lives(in 20 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Next Century is not a perfect company, but it's WAY better than many other contract companies(in 15 reviews)

  • "There's only two offices but that's expected for a small company(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Company

      Feb 20, 2021 - Union Ironworker in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Probably the best company I have yet to work for.

      Cons

      Can't say anything bad about them.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      Jan 22, 2021 - Principal Software Engineer in Falls Church, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great compensation, opportunity to work on cutting edge technology

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Excellent

      Apr 19, 2020 - Treasurer in Annapolis Junction, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Top technical employees and cooperative atmosphere.

      Cons

      Longer drive than I like.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I AM Next Century!!!

      Sep 3, 2019 - Current Employee in Annapolis Junction, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy coming to work every day here at Next Century. This organization makes you want to continue to give your best and go above and beyond every day. Leadership is open to hearing new suggestions and willing to implement to make the organization better. Everyone is indeed genuine, and I'm not exaggerating at all. I'm glad to be a part of a caring organization.

      Cons

      There is none at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Next Century Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialist/ Social Media Lead

      Thanks for your review!

    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's a joy to work with so many smart, dedicated people

      Oct 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Although Next Century is a government contractor, it avoids the "beltway bandit" mentality; much of what is developed at Next Century is provided free-of-charge (after the development) to the government, and in sometimes the public as well. This matters, because that sense of "we're here to do good" instead of "we're here to make money" permeates all parts of the company, including who is attracted to working here. If you want to feel like you're contributing to something greater than a corporate bottom line - this is a good place for you. Management takes great care to make sure everyone feels clued in to everything that's happening at the company. For example, after wining a large contract this past month, the CEO came out to the smaller office in Falls Church to run a meeting specifically to explain the new work in depth, and let employees ask questions. We have quarterly all-hands meetings, where management briefs us honestly on revenue company business, and gives us realistic assessments on where we stand.

      Cons

      Some of our customers can be pretty demanding - but I do feel like we're given the support and resources to meet those demands, and management backs us up when we need their support with tough customers.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      "No Fluff Just Stuff"

      Sep 11, 2019 - Senior Software Engineer in Annapolis Junction, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Next Century is a company obsessed with excellence and fixated on competence at every level. The company develops its employees and supports their ambitions however possible.

      Cons

      Although the company has excellent benefits, Next Century's single-minded dedication to delivering exceptional products and developing high-performing employees means that the company does not cater to those who require "perks" or incentives to excel. If you are one of those people, take note.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Grateful

      Sep 12, 2019 - Talent Placement Director in Annapolis Junction, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Next Century has offered me so much, not only in my career but life, as well. I have a fuller sense of purpose, I am happy to come to the office each day, and I know that the company I stand behind will always do the right thing. And for all those things, I am grateful.

      Cons

      Nothing comes to mind at this time.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      High performing company with amazing culture

      Sep 3, 2019 - Software Engineer in Falls Church, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, cutting edge projects aimed at doing good, pay is great, work-life balance is respected and encouraged, there is an educational budget, and a less strict workspace (as far as government contractors go). Overall it’s pretty great

      Cons

      There are no cons :) - for real

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Next Century Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialist/ Social Media Lead

      Thank you!!

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Continuing to learn and grow

      Oct 15, 2018 - Software Architect in Annapolis Junction, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      After working on a really great project for quite some time, I decided that I was ready for a new challenge. This could have been a daunting prospect at another company where they treat employees like cogs that are expected to fill the same role no matter what. Not so at Next Century. One of Next Century's guiding principles is "People". In my experience that's meant connecting employees with challenging and meaningful work, helping us grow technically, developing our leadership abilities, and treating us with fairness and respect. Next Century values employee satisfaction, so I felt no trepidation about asking to explore new opportunities. Management was extremely responsive to my request and encouraging of my desire to grow. As we collaborate to find the the best fit for the next step in my career, they've also been extremely helpful in tailoring my current position so that I can explore new responsibilities.

      Cons

      I don't have any concerns at this time. My experience has been that Next Century is always looking to improve and grow and that feedback is welcome.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Next Century Response

      Talent Acquisition Specialist/ Social Media Lead

      Thank you for your transparency!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Love it

      Oct 22, 2019 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere, loved it here

      Cons

      some bad decisions sometimes, sometimes

      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 88 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Next Century Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Next Century? Share Your Experiences

    Next Century logo
    or