Next I.T. Reviews | Glassdoor

Next I.T. Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Next I.T. CEO Eric Ringelberg (no image)
Eric Ringelberg
19 Ratings
  1. "Staffed, Network Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staffed, Network Administrator in Kalkaska, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next I.T. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My position is not the norm for the company. However, working in this position, I have gained experience in virtually every aspect of technology. Whether it is drilling walls and running line, or setting up a complex network of all different servers and databases. On a daily basis, I am working on enterprise level servers, routers, firewalls, switches, controllers, phones, cameras, security doors, and computers. I... (along with part-time help) have over 4,000 managed devices. This job is perfect to learn, and to experience. The pay is fair, especially for the area. The job is fun, as every day is different. There is always something new to learn about, and work on. I am my own boss... Well, in a sense at least. I have never experienced any form of micromanagement. In my own domain, I am the manager, and I am free to work on what I want. This has allowed me to create some pretty sophisticated advancements within "my domain". If you love IT, and want to learn every aspect, you would love my position and this company.

    Show More

    Cons

    As I have stated before, my position is not the norm within the company. It is because of this, I am very much isolated from the company. I don't know anyone there at a personal level, except for a guy in sales whom I communicate with often. I feel that I have been neglected in some aspects. It is difficult for management to understand what it is all that I have accomplished, and what I can handle on my own. The... people I work for in my staffed position know, and value my work ethic. However, I don't believe the company itself have the same level of appreciation. This may seem contradictory to the reader. It's nice to have little involvement with the company itself. No one constantly breathing over my shoulder. However, to me at least, work is more than only a paycheck. The lack of acknowledgement for your accomplishments will eat at anyone eventually. On my two year anniversary, I received some cashews and a letter of appreciation. I'm still waiting for my three year anniversary gift ;) Those cashews were so good. The biggest con however for my position however, is the usage of my own car. I drive an average of 80 miles a day with my vehicle. I get mileage for driving from one site location to another. On average, this is about 10 of the mentioned miles. There is no additional pay for maintenance, and home-to-work mileage.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the awesome work. Keep in mind, that appreciation of someone's work, means an awfully lot to an employee. Don't forget about the "other guys" in your company. It would be nice to have help with vehicle maintenance. 80 miles/day is a lot of ground for advertisement... just saying.

    Next I.T.2019-01-09
  2. "A solid choice for a West Michigan career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Services Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Next I.T. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Next IT has a very diverse client base, meaning you get to work in a range of environments from large to small, from non-profit to manufacturing. They utilize standard MSP software and common industry practices. I enjoyed visiting places and working to make clients networks reliable. I was mainly tasked with projects which was nice because I would be dedicated and focused on a particular project and not pulled... away to perform service calls. Eric Ringelberg or ER as he is known is a good boss and cares about his staff, we would have a morning huddle for the professional and remote staff which is good to keep in touch, he was very approachable at all times. Company culture was good, professional staff was not expected to be on-call or after hours unless the client paid for after hours service. Management did not cater to crazy or unreasonable client requests or demands which always helps. Company vehicles were always maintained and functional.

    Show More

    Cons

    The sick and vacation policy is one of the contributing factors in why I left, you only get two paid sick days per year, and after your sick time is exhausted you must use your vacation time and after that is gone despite being a salaried employee you do not get paid. Sales staff would over promise and under deliver, I had to mediate client expectations of the outcomes of projects or service. There was... incentives for training but not a clear path for professional services staff to take them, as being tasked with projects back to back, there wasn't clear opportunity to break for training Being gone from the office for extended periods of time I felt like I wasn't included in company events, and that there was a disconnect from professional staff, service staff, and help desk.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    + Invest in your employees, give them one or two weeks out of the year to study and train. + People need more sick time than two days, convert your policy to earn time off or earn sick days based on hours in pay period. + Mobile and remote personnel need more attention, the main office is a very nice place but you need to remember about the staff in other locations and make them feel special buy them pizza or... fill their fridge with some beverages once a quarter.

    Show More
    Next I.T.2019-01-25
  3. "Setting the Record Straight!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Centralized Services in Muskegon, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next I.T. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked for Next I.T. for 5 years now and have been in several different positions that have allowed me to view life here from different angles. As a coordinator with admin and scheduling functions I was able to watch the flow from the tech team, sales team and management team. The biggest challenge is always communication wherever you go. This was relevant with a few people that I worked with as well, and... the answer is just more coaching and learning. The management team always did a wonderful job at coaching employees on how to communicate with other teams AND what they expect from them, but it's up to the EMPLOYEE to put those skills into place. It's up to the employee to sacrifice time to learn the technical skills they need to achieve their own successes. I caught on quickly with the day to day processes as training was on point for me. I was mentored to learn the ins and outs of the company's systems and procedures. As a manager I had the pleasure of working with the technicians, engineers and clients one on one. Seeing the client's perspective and the hard work the employees put forth every day was enlightening as I was now sort of a neutral medium between the both of them. I got to engage with client onboarding, attend client meetings and really understand the client's point of view and what they expected from their IT company. While on the other end of the spectrum I got to go to bat for my team, make sure their voices were heard and do my best to empower and motivate them to further their skill set and reach their career goals. Working with the other members of the management team gave me the opportunity to also see things from their side. From day to day operations, finance, and sales consulting, it was interesting to see the gears working together. As a department administrator I get to hone my skills for the internal systems and backbone of tools and resources for the company. I thoroughly enjoy rolling out new assets, being the SME on all things Next I.T. and training our teams to understand them. I still work very close with management and clients, which really rounds out my position. I get to enjoy being both inside and outside of the office. I love meeting new clients and representing Next I.T.! The point is this; I've worked hard and put my all into my positions because I respect myself enough to do my very best. I've learned to communicate and voice my opinions in a professional manner. I've learned to not take things so personally, this is business. And the business we're in is not easy work. Some people can't hack it, or they take shortcuts or expect to have the world handed to them on a silver platter without offering much if anything in return. This is not how life works - when you work hard and put your "all" into something and are appreciative of the opportunities you are given, it shows in both your professional and personal life.

    Show More

    Cons

    Every company has cons - so let me set the record straight! - Yes there are uniforms. They are Next I.T. shirts and they give us an opportunity to show our company proudly when outside the office and when working with clients. It's also a way to represent who we are for the client. The logo says "I work for Next I.T." the meaning is, I'm your IT person and I'm here fix your issues, kick butt, and take names! And... hopefully make you smile! - Yes sometimes there can be overtime hours even when you're salary. I've never seen it abused, and I've worked them myself. I'm here to help make the company successful and keep the clients happy. It's part of the job and well stated as an expectation before you're hired. This is a 24/7 career choice no matter where you go. If you're looking for the simple clock in at 8am and stand by the door at 4:59pm, then pass us by. This company is only for the serious and passionate hearted with a lust for Information Technology! - Yes we are a small business in the heart of Muskegon. Sometimes we cannot give what a corporate business can. But many times we can give what a corporate business can't! - Yes we've transitioned and changed the rules, the processes and the way we do day to day business. If you're not changing; you're falling behind. I've learned this from the best MSP's in the country, as I've had the pleasure of speaking with them and on behalf of Next I.T. at tech events and forums. - Yes we're partnered up with certain vendors, and yes we expect certifications from employees to maintain those partnerships at certain levels. Our amazing clients also expect us to keep our skill sets at top notch level. Would you consider anything less if you had to choose an MSP? My advice to future candidates and employees: Be serious about your goals and plans while working for and at this company. If it's just a stepping stone, that's ok! We love our local college grads and are proud to be your foot in the door to the world of technology! So, be proud to represent a small business in Michigan that is growing. Yes their will be pains. You have a voice; use it, but be professional and respectful when doing so. Make sure you understand the expectations before you take on any role, as they will be high and there will be many! Be patient, the tech world is ever changing, and we are too!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep fine tuning the processes, we're getting there!

    Next I.T.2019-01-25
  4. "Stepping-stone for a career in I.T."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Next I.T. full-time

    Pros

    It can be difficult to get started in an I.T. career right out of college. Next I.T. is somewhat lax on their hiring, which is a pro for inexperienced individuals that want the chance to prove themselves. This helped me get started in my career. Everyone that works for the company is extremely helpful.

    Cons

    I've heard negative comments about the stress of working on the help desk, but I did not experience any issues. Show up on time, wear your uniform, get your work done, and leave. Be patient with the customers and understand their frustrations. Stay cool in stressful situations. As long as you're doing those things, help desk is fine.

    Advice to Management

    HR could be a little more patient in general. For example, the time-card system does not always work properly, and the frustration of this should not be taken out on the employees. Put on a happy face! The CEO has expressed passion when discussing some of the sacrifices that have been made to get the company where it is today. This passion is contagious, and the more that it is leveraged, the more everyone will... feel like coming together as a team. As long as everyone feels like their voice is heard and their individual impediments are being addressed, the company will continue to succeed.

    Show More
    Next I.T.2019-01-10
  5. "Great place to grow & develop service and technical skills!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Muskegon, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Next I.T. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Next I.T. was a create place to practice customer service skills and develop lots of Technical skills as well. Like any active MSP/Hosting it’s a challenging environment! The people, both customers and co-workers are great but their expectations are also high.

    Cons

    We all have bad days but if you are looking for a cube (cubical) to hide in all day, look elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    The death of a small company starts with burn out, both employees and management.

    Next I.T.2019-01-08

    Next I.T. Response

    January 8, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - We strive to be a great 'home' for our employees

  6. "Great place to learn quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer in Muskegon, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Next I.T. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gain experience with many different technologies. Everyday is different with new challenges. Employees are friendly and genuinely try to provide great customer service. Fridays are always fun! (current and former employees will understand)

    Cons

    Unorganized at times. Lots of overtime for salary employees. Vacation can be difficult to get approved. Expectations from sales and management are sometimes unreasonable.

    Advice to Management

    Technician recommendations should be taken more seriously. Sales needs to work more closely with the tech team. Keep Friday's fun!

    Next I.T.2019-01-08

    Next I.T. Response

    January 10, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your feedback - as a small business we do as much as we can for our employees. We do still keep our Friday's Fun (the fridge is always full of 'refreshments'

  7. "Local IT Company with Promising Future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tier II Onsite Technician in Muskegon, MI
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Next I.T. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Room for personal growth - Great clients - Remote work or Onsite work available - Take on big projects - Great atmosphere - Great learning environment

    Cons

    - Be sure to use your time wisely; invest in yourself, invest in the company

    Next I.T.2019-01-08

    Next I.T. Response

    January 8, 2019HR Manager

    Great feedback - Truly appreciated!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ROC Technician in Muskegon, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Next I.T. full-time

    Pros

    -If you live on the Lakeshore and don't want to drive to work for a legit company they will hire you fast. -No real interview process - very fast. -No true HR, it is a part time accounting employee so easy to get hired. -Met some good people and made some friends.

    Cons

    -Below average pay. -Terrible benefits. -No work/life balance. -Company hires weak managers with very little to no leadership. -Owner is worst micro-manager ever, even to his managers who have no authority. Calls it coaching, what a joke. -Wants to be a big company but has little company policies. -Dictatorship from top leadership - wanted to complain about pay and other issues but was complaining to the... same person...who always sides with ownership anyway. -Office is in bad neighbor hood in Muskegon Heights, in a ran down house.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Treat employees as important assets. -Understand how bad our company reputation is and try to fix at least some of it - most if not all employees are looking for jobs. -Come out of the old days with policies and procedures. -Hire managers with real experience and leadership. -Understand the difference between micro management and coaching. -Move office out of the hood.

    Next I.T.2019-02-08

    Next I.T. Response

    February 26, 2019CEO

    Interesting review - not sure about your 'facts'... (1) We have an AWESOME team - especially since December when we terminated all of our TOXIC employees. (2) we do have a full time HR/accounting department. (3) Our entry-level pay starts at $27,000 the first year, but most all tech ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (5)

    "This company is HELL!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Muskegon Heights, Muskegon, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next I.T. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management has lots of time to write fake reviews.

    Cons

    Next I.T. is the most unethical company I have ever had the misfortune to be employed. My previous review was taken down because it described criminal activity at the Muskegon location. I will just say that they have no issue with hiring sex offenders or persons with other serious felonies. Your safety is far from assured if you work here in my opinion. Do the research Muskegon County Court Records is good place... to start, mlive also has some good articles. Do yourself a favor pass on Next I.T.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t be evil.

    Next I.T.2019-01-28

    Next I.T. Response

    February 7, 2019CEO

    Thank you for sharing your opinion. We have had our share of toxic employees over the years. Early on, I gave far too many people a second chance, and afterward wished that I had better access to background checks. Fortunately, we have made a sweeping cleanup of all of the toxic ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Yeah..... Don't go here unless you want to be out of a job soon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Next I.T. full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Different issues to tackle every day. *Tools like ticketing, endpoint management, and remote access used by HD are probably the best in the industry. Not saying much however. *Great to have on your resume, however, as other companies hear how bad NeXt is getting, it won't mean much for long.

    Cons

    *NeXt I.T. POSTS FAKE REVIEWS ON HERE!!! *Bad pay on all levels. *Toxic management. I'm surprised there hasn't been a lawsuit. *Helpdesk is dying. *Certs are basically God here unless the cert was actually useful like the CCNA R&S. *Client turnover is high. *Employee turnover is also high. *Screws over clients with the pricing of stuff we sell. *Mandatory uniforms. *The benefits offered are near the... minimum needed by law. *Cheeps out on PC upgrades for HD, this also includes the chairs that you sit in for 8+ hours a day. *HR makes you feel like you need to report them to HR, i.e. toxic and harassing. *Makes Red5 look like they know what they're doing. *Only a week of vacation, less sick time, also required a 90-day notice for vacation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    *Meraki is not best for everyone........ *Give your techs decent pay. *Try to keep your current techs. *Cut your sales team that only focuses on getting clients instead of selling stuff to your current clients.

    Next I.T.2019-01-20

    Next I.T. Response

    February 7, 2019CEO

    I am proud of the competitive pay at Next IT and how we treat our employees and clients. Further, it is slanderous to accuse anyone at Next IT for posting fake Glassdoor reviews - that is completely untrue and a horrible thing to even make up. (It does look like someone is posting ...

    Show More
Found 27 reviews