Next Level Church Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Next Level Church Founder and Lead Pastor Joshua Gagnon (no image)
Joshua Gagnon
27 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Uploaded

    May 13, 2021 - Warehouse Worker in Irving, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like to learn new experience

    Cons

    I will be at work at the right time

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Marketing

    Apr 21, 2021 - Marketing in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was a good company to work with

    Cons

    It was a bit challenging but worth it

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great people and great environment!

    Oct 26, 2020 - Assistant Communications Director in Indian Trail, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing team of people Pretty flexible schedule Spiritually strengthening

    Cons

    Working in a church setting can be messy sometimes.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great employees but major management flaws

    Feb 2, 2020 - Pastor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I learned new and different ways to reach people. I made some great friendships with the other employees.

    Cons

    Hard to understate the underlying toxic atmosphere management exudes. Everyone is a heartbeat away from losing their job. Forget a life outside whatever job you have. Lead pastor has immense pride issues. If not for the camaraderie among the employees it was almost unbearable. Constant turnover of employees shows it is an unsustainable model. Management says that family is most important yet overburdens employees they either burn out and quit, or are fired. it takes a little while to see how dysfunctional management is and they refuse to accept any form of criticism. Zero transparency financially. Questionable "business practices". This will seem more like a business than a church. Was told to leave reviews on this site in the past that showed them in a favourable light. This is what I should have written. If you are considering applying I'd keep looking for other opportunities. If you are there now, things can be better than what you are living now.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Next Level Church Response

    Operations Pastor

    We are sorry to hear you were disappointed by your time at NLC. Our prayer is that God used you to reach people and has continued to do so in the years since you departed and that your heart wold be healed from those past wounds.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    An INCREDIBLE place to grow in your faith and your leadership!

    Feb 28, 2020 - Location Pastor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - A mission solely focused on reaching others for Jesus. - A Leadership team that is FULL of Integrity and completely transparent. - A staff that LOVES Jesus and seeing others meet Him. - A faced paced environment that WILL absolutely challenge you, but it's in the stretching that growth occurs. - An innovative and creative environment.

    Cons

    -This culture is not for everyone. IF you aren't good with time management on a personal level, then a fast paced work culture may not be for you. If you already struggle with personal balance, then again, maybe it's not for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Meaningful place to work with great, happy, like-minded people

    Feb 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Somersworth, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Environment is always fun and positive Everything we do makes a real difference in the world Coworkers are amazing people Leadership consistently asks about personal needs and tries to help Top leadership takes feedback and makes improvements to make it an ever-better place to work Salary, benefits, and compensation are more than fair, especially for a church

    Cons

    It is hard work and we are always busy If you don't adapt to frequent changes well, you may get frustrated Hours can sometimes be unusual due to the nature of ministry work

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    A Move of God Worth Joining!

    Mar 10, 2020 - Location Pastor in Concord, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The best thing about working here is the opportunity to fulfill the call of God on your life in an exciting and life-changing environment. I have been working here for several years and have seen the best and the worst that Next Level has to offer. My personal experience is that the lead pastor genuinely does love the staff. Outside of the fact that the leadership team prays daily for staff, the genuine love and care is evident by how often the directional team will check in on you and ask intimate questions about your life and pray with you. The leadership has went out of their way to personally bless families. The pay is fair and comparable to what you'd get at another church at this size. The longer you work here the more vacation you get. One week of vacation is freely given around Christmas in addition to your regular vacation and a 3 day staff refresh is scheduled for all staff and their families in the summer completely paid for by the church. I think the thing that impresses me the most is seeing the continue growth of our leaders and because of that the church. It's been great to hear the heartbeat of our pastors and how the Lord is leading them which encourages us in our weekly gatherings. Our scheduled time off varies from season to season. At the time of this review from Labor Day to Memorial Day we get 1 full day off with a half day off on Fridays. From Memorial Day to Labor Day we get 2 full days off. After getting into a rhythm of your responsibilities and being intentional with your time you will work about an 8.5 hour work day. I'm also encouraged that I can come to my leaders with any complaint I have and they will listen and make changes if necessary. Just be open and honest and they are more than willing to work with you.

    Cons

    I always tell new staff that it takes several months when you start working here to get into a good rhythm. Until then it does feel like drinking from a fire hose which can seem overwhelming. But again, be open and honest about how you are feeling, and leadership will work with you to help figure out how to make your settling in more easy, just be prepared to work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    It really does feel like a family.

    Aug 4, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Somersworth, NH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Family Atmosphere -Flexible Hours -Work hard, play hard

    Cons

    -Salary -Communication unless you sought information out yourself

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Next Level Church Response

    Operations Pastor

    Thank you so much for taking your time to share your opinion of Next Level Church. We are constantly working hard to use God's resources as wisely as possible and to pay our employees as much as we can possibly afford. Our average salary has risen substantially in the last couple of years as God has sent more and more people to support the vision He has given to this church. We are also thankful your served here and loved the relationships you built on this team! May God bless you wherever you are now.

  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Are you seeking a JOB or fulfilling a CALLING upon your life?

    Feb 26, 2020 - Location Pastor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Positives of being a part of NLC I loved many of the people I worked with at NLC, even a couple of the top leadership team. Thankfully some have developed into friends that will continue on with authenticity. I did grow in my leadership skills while there and truly appreciated that. They have learned a lot from other churches as far as systems etc. Sometimes what is most positive though is not just learning what to do but what not to do. For sure that is my greatest lesson.

    Cons

    Negatives to be aware of: 1. Horrid work life balance At Next Level Church (NLC) they pride themselves at working hard and playing hard… but the reality is you don’t have time to play. From the top they tell you that you have to say no to things but think nothing of piling on tasks regardless of your need as a spouse or parent. You get one day off a week (Saturday) and that can and will be interrupted. To think the day before church that you’ll have everything set up with zero loose ends is ridiculous. I also repeatedly had my vacation time interrupted as the job comes before down time. Simply put I witnessed over a dozen amazingly talented servants of God be fired or cooked only to be discarded with no signs of regret. The number of casualties is staggering. 2. Operates as a business not as a ministry. I’m not ignorant. I realize there are “business” elements of a ministry but there is a HUGE difference between the two. In my time there we had weekly mandatory meetings that always included a teaching on how to be a better leader. I did grow from these and truly don’t see this as only negative but never once was there a topic on how to be a better pastor. They aren’t the same! Though they overlap God never once intended for a pastor to be a CEO or a celebrity pastor. He instead said if you love me “ feed my sheep.” On several occasions the lead pastor told us that he didn’t want us to use the cop out of it being our calling, but instead said it was a job. He then said that if we couldn’t get the job done he’d fire us and find someone who could. This gives you a glimpse into the true heart of this organization. 3. Lack of integrity, humility and transparency. Big words for sure but this is for real! Throughout the organization’s model they are comfortable with performing actions that are banned within communities and twisting information (spin) to present or leverage their desired outcome. A white lie or stretching the truth is still a lie, which is sin. Even though they say they will answer any question, the reality is they will not. They hide a ton of information in their annual report within a pie chart that lumps salaries etc in such massive numbers that you could never remotely grasp what the overhead is. No one but those on the lead team know this information and if you ask your deemed as lacking trust and they will begin distancing themselves from you. They talk like they are humble until you attempt to hold them accountable (Gods word tells us all to hold each other accountable, that isn’t a one way street). It’s spoken but not lived out. It’s sadly hypocritical and the last Sunday I went was when the lead pastor said across the church that he loved us. I couldn’t sit under someone who lied to his flock like that. He loves what they do for him, not for who they are. Harsh words but truth. 4. The title pastor is not accurate to what is seen in scripture. At NLC the location pastor is really a three part role that values only the relational qualities of the pastor to hold it all together. Understand that you won’t preach unless it’s a low attended holiday weekend. You are there as a franchise manager that recruits volunteers and pulls off the events they tell you to do, when they tell you to do them. Oh, and be the locations administrative assistant and bookkeeper each week, and you cannot go home until it’s done. Your pastors heart will only serve as the glue to hold it all together. Burn out is an inevitability.

    Continue reading
    16 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Authentic, honest, and willing to learn

    Feb 7, 2020 - Pastor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love the heart behind the lead team. They truly care about you and your family.

    Cons

    If you're unwilling to be flexible and learn as you go, it will be difficult for you.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Next Level Church Response

    Operations Pastor

    Thank you so much for the positive review. We are excited to have you on the team and excited that you are loving your job so far! Thanks for helping us change the world for Jesus!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 38 Reviews

Work at Next Level Church? Share Your Experiences

Next Level Church logo
or