Next Level Church Reviews | Glassdoor

Next Level Church Reviews

Updated Mar 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
68%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Next Level Church Founder and Lead Pastor Joshua Gagnon (no image)
Joshua Gagnon
26 Ratings
  1. "A Move of God Worth Joining!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Location Pastor in Concord, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Level Church full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working here is the opportunity to fulfill the call of God on your life in an exciting and life-changing environment. I have been working here for several years and have seen the best and the worst that Next Level has to offer. My personal experience is that the lead pastor genuinely does love the staff. Outside of the fact that the leadership team prays daily for staff, the genuine love and care is evident by how often the directional team will check in on you and ask intimate questions about your life and pray with you. The leadership has went out of their way to personally bless families. The pay is fair and comparable to what you'd get at another church at this size. The longer you work here the more vacation you get. One week of vacation is freely given around Christmas in addition to your regular vacation and a 3 day staff refresh is scheduled for all staff and their families in the summer completely paid for by the church. I think the thing that impresses me the most is seeing the continue growth of our leaders and because of that the church. It's been great to hear the heartbeat of our pastors and how the Lord is leading them which encourages us in our weekly gatherings. Our scheduled time off varies from season to season. At the time of this review from Labor Day to Memorial Day we get 1 full day off with a half day off on Fridays. From Memorial Day to Labor Day we get 2 full days off. After getting into a rhythm of your responsibilities and being intentional with your time you will work about an 8.5 hour work day. I'm also encouraged that I can come to my leaders with any complaint I have and they will listen and make changes if necessary. Just be open and honest and they are more than willing to work with you.

    Cons

    I always tell new staff that it takes several months when you start working here to get into a good rhythm. Until then it does feel like drinking from a fire hose which can seem overwhelming. But again, be open and honest about how you are feeling, and leadership will work with you to help figure out how to make your settling in more easy, just be prepared to work.

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-03-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "An INCREDIBLE place to grow in your faith and your leadership!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Location Pastor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Level Church full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - A mission solely focused on reaching others for Jesus. - A Leadership team that is FULL of Integrity and completely transparent. - A staff that LOVES Jesus and seeing others meet Him. - A faced paced environment that WILL absolutely challenge you, but it's in the stretching that growth occurs. - An innovative and creative environment.

    Cons

    -This culture is not for everyone. IF you aren't good with time management on a personal level, then a fast paced work culture may not be for you. If you already struggle with personal balance, then again, maybe it's not for you.

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-02-28
  3. Helpful (10)

    "Are you seeking a JOB or fulfilling a CALLING upon your life?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Location Pastor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Level Church full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positives of being a part of NLC I loved many of the people I worked with at NLC, even a couple of the top leadership team. Thankfully some have developed into friends that will continue on with authenticity. I did grow in my leadership skills while there and truly appreciated that. They have learned a lot from other churches as far as systems etc. Sometimes what is most positive though is not just learning what to do but what not to do. For sure that is my greatest lesson.

    Cons

    Negatives to be aware of: 1. Horrid work life balance At Next Level Church (NLC) they pride themselves at working hard and playing hard… but the reality is you don’t have time to play. From the top they tell you that you have to say no to things but think nothing of piling on tasks regardless of your need as a spouse or parent. You get one day off a week (Saturday) and that can and will be interrupted. To think the day before church that you’ll have everything set up with zero loose ends is ridiculous. I also repeatedly had my vacation time interrupted as the job comes before down time. Simply put I witnessed over a dozen amazingly talented servants of God be fired or cooked only to be discarded with no signs of regret. The number of casualties is staggering. 2. Operates as a business not as a ministry. I’m not ignorant. I realize there are “business” elements of a ministry but there is a HUGE difference between the two. In my time there we had weekly mandatory meetings that always included a teaching on how to be a better leader. I did grow from these and truly don’t see this as only negative but never once was there a topic on how to be a better pastor. They aren’t the same! Though they overlap God never once intended for a pastor to be a CEO or a celebrity pastor. He instead said if you love me “ feed my sheep.” On several occasions the lead pastor told us that he didn’t want us to use the cop out of it being our calling, but instead said it was a job. He then said that if we couldn’t get the job done he’d fire us and find someone who could. This gives you a glimpse into the true heart of this organization. 3. Lack of integrity, humility and transparency. Big words for sure but this is for real! Throughout the organization’s model they are comfortable with performing actions that are banned within communities and twisting information (spin) to present or leverage their desired outcome. A white lie or stretching the truth is still a lie, which is sin. Even though they say they will answer any question, the reality is they will not. They hide a ton of information in their annual report within a pie chart that lumps salaries etc in such massive numbers that you could never remotely grasp what the overhead is. No one but those on the lead team know this information and if you ask your deemed as lacking trust and they will begin distancing themselves from you. They talk like they are humble until you attempt to hold them accountable (Gods word tells us all to hold each other accountable, that isn’t a one way street). It’s spoken but not lived out. It’s sadly hypocritical and the last Sunday I went was when the lead pastor said across the church that he loved us. I couldn’t sit under someone who lied to his flock like that. He loves what they do for him, not for who they are. Harsh words but truth. 4. The title pastor is not accurate to what is seen in scripture. At NLC the location pastor is really a three part role that values only the relational qualities of the pastor to hold it all together. Understand that you won’t preach unless it’s a low attended holiday weekend. You are there as a franchise manager that recruits volunteers and pulls off the events they tell you to do, when they tell you to do them. Oh, and be the locations administrative assistant and bookkeeper each week, and you cannot go home until it’s done. Your pastors heart will only serve as the glue to hold it all together. Burn out is an inevitability.

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-02-26
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Meaningful place to work with great, happy, like-minded people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somersworth, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Level Church full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Environment is always fun and positive Everything we do makes a real difference in the world Coworkers are amazing people Leadership consistently asks about personal needs and tries to help Top leadership takes feedback and makes improvements to make it an ever-better place to work Salary, benefits, and compensation are more than fair, especially for a church

    Cons

    It is hard work and we are always busy If you don't adapt to frequent changes well, you may get frustrated Hours can sometimes be unusual due to the nature of ministry work

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-02-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "All of these reviews are correct"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pastor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Level Church full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All of the positive reviews are correct. Everyone really feels that way. Their are some really good people there who are positive people, and who believe they are doing what Few others get the opportunity to do - cause thats what they are constantly told.

    Cons

    You don’t feel the down sides, until you are out. And then you feel them and you wonder how you ever stayed there in the first place. The work environment is so dysfunctional its crazy. The work hours are long and hard and the pay is (or was) pretty bad. You are asked to be a leader and to push people, but then if you ever push back, you are considered trouble. I hesitate to give specific examples because to me, what’s important is not that I am good and they are bad, but that, in general, the leadership, while in one side of their mouth say they care about their employees, just simply do not. They do care about what you can do for them. They even have this weird thing where they reach out via generic texts to those employees who have left to let them know they are praying for them and give a bit of small talk. One former employee though tried 5 times to meet with his former boss, after his former boss had reached out to him. All five times, if not more, his former boss canceled on him. The CEO and his three underlings care nothing for their employees. They only care about their vision. And giving. Thats pretty important to them too. If you’re looking for a job, and you think you’ve hit a gold mine by landing an interview here, you are right. But the gold is what you’ll be panning and then giving to the leadership of Next Level Church.

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-03-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Authentic, honest, and willing to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pastor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Level Church full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the heart behind the lead team. They truly care about you and your family.

    Cons

    If you're unwilling to be flexible and learn as you go, it will be difficult for you.

    Next Level Church2020-02-07

    Next Level Church Response

    February 17, 2020Operations Pastor

    Thank you so much for the positive review. We are excited to have you on the team and excited that you are loving your job so far! Thanks for helping us change the world for Jesus!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Great employees but major management flaws"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pastor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Level Church full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I learned new and different ways to reach people. I made some great friendships with the other employees.

    Cons

    Hard to understate the underlying toxic atmosphere management exudes. Everyone is a heartbeat away from losing their job. Forget a life outside whatever job you have. Lead pastor has immense pride issues. If not for the camaraderie among the employees it was almost unbearable. Constant turnover of employees shows it is an unsustainable model. Management says that family is most important yet overburdens employees they either burn out and quit, or are fired. it takes a little while to see how dysfunctional management is and they refuse to accept any form of criticism. Zero transparency financially. Questionable "business practices". This will seem more like a business than a church. Was told to leave reviews on this site in the past that showed them in a favourable light. This is what I should have written. If you are considering applying I'd keep looking for other opportunities. If you are there now, things can be better than what you are living now.

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-02-02

    Next Level Church Response

    February 6, 2020Operations Pastor

    We are sorry to hear you were disappointed by your time at NLC. Our prayer is that God used you to reach people and has continued to do so in the years since you departed and that your heart wold be healed from those past wounds.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Could be a great place to work but beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somersworth, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Level Church full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being able to work in ministry Fun culture and like-minded peers

    Cons

    Lack of leadership Lack of transparency Lack of integrity Lack of work/ life balance

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-02-01

    Next Level Church Response

    February 6, 2020Operations Pastor

    We are grateful for the time you gave in service of God's church and that your frustration has lingered for many years afterward. The staff is extremely happy and we have always compensated people well and treated everyone with honor and respect. We can only hope you have found happiness and more of what you feel fits you best in your current endeavors. Thank you for your past service to God's church.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Irrelevant, Abusive and Life Sucking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Creative Designer in Somersworth, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Level Church full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Grow in ways you would never expect and make some great friends along the way.

    Cons

    Some say it is a calling, some are not sure what lead them there, some are looking to serve the Lord. Next Level Organization doesn't see it that way. As an employee here, you are a disposable job position that needed to be filled. I understood going into the job that this was the case. Several people both within the organization and that I was close with personally warned me about the questionable leadership at Next Level. Knowing this, I moved forward into the job with these risks in mind as an opportunity to grow my career. Now, I will disclose that not everything at Next Level is terrible. You do learn a lot if you pursue your position personally and passionately. They have some systems in place that keep the organization in business that undeniably work well. Your fellow coworkers are friendly and many of them I still have relationships with. The leadership on the other hand is incredibly corrupt. You are told they care about you but on countless occasions, prove otherwise. They abuse your position, use fear mongering and threaten you with your employment on a consistently. You are forced to work on your vacation days, weekends and after hours. They boast a balanced work/life experience. This is false. They stole any time that my wife and I had together and even went as far as to pin us against each other by lying to my wife about my job status without informing me it was in danger. You are never home, even in your own house- they keep you mentally distraught and twist your arm into submission. Fair wages are promised to you which are quickly proven to be grossly underpaid for the amount of work you are forced to do. Pastoral leadership, mentoring and love is faked in order to control you. Authenticity does not exists there. The lead pastor is not a pastor. He is a stage entertainer who takes various quotes from true leaders and plasters them onto his ego for self inflation. He will put others down to stand on their efforts and has even gone as far as to personally insult me in front of the staff using slang derived from those with mental disabilities. As you scroll through these reviews you will see, "The culture here is amazing!" But this is a confused statement. The work culture at NLC is toxic at its best. The workers at NLC have great camaraderie because of the common goal they come around, (Reaching the 1 for the Kingdom of God), the countless hours they put in together and the encouragement they give each other as they all recognize the constant stress. There is zero unity brought by the "leadership", only by the efforts of those below it. Next Level was founded on an admirable cause. To Reach the One. Unfortunately, it was built on spite, ignorance and arrogance which lead to a multi-million dollar corporation that will slaughter the 99. The tactics that are used within the organization go beyond abusing the staff but also forcing staff members to conduct illegal acts and backdoor money laundering through various business fronts in order to benefit the top leaders beyond their salaries. Next Level consistently lies and inflates their numbers to secure participation by its members. You may have seen or been told they have had record breaking numbers on any given weekend. This is a lie and they are in fact in decline. They will never admit failure because it is in their character to cut down anything that will obstruct their attempts to advance. Someone I am extremely close with, who at the time did not have any affiliation with Next Level, used to play basketball with Daniel King, Roman Archer, Walter Robbins and Joshua Gagnon. The 4 leaders within the organization. On a consistent basis they displayed poor sportsmanship, bad leadership and even bickered with each other if there was any chance they could lose. They would regularly use profane language, get in fights and cheat in order to win in a backyard game of basketball. All this translates to how they operate at Next Level. This review will be combated with a slew of positive reviews that the staff is "encouraged" to write. I say encouraged lightly as they will pin it against your job performance should you choose not to post a review. This review will be matched with phrases like, "Disgruntled employee" or "They were not the right fit." But just know, this is not a review out of bitterness, it is a review of honesty. There are incredible churches, jobs and sites that are all in need of your talents. Gagnon, King, Robbins and Archer will all tell you that Next Level is the best you are ever going to get and that it takes their extremist views to get ahead in your career. This is a lie conjured to use people instead of equip them. Use your talents where God can bless you for them. For myself personally, I do not regret my time at Next Level at all. Many good things did come out of it and I personally grew exponentially. But my approval of the leadership does not exist. I do not condone their actions or employment tactics. To the members still on staff: Do not fear, for God is with you. God is working through you and is truly using your work to affect lives. Do not fear standing up for yourselves because the best is ahead of you, it just may not be at Next Level. God has blessed you with incredible gifts, do not allow them to go stagnant or be dried up under poor leadership. Know that you can reach out to any former employee and they will support you, love you and help you through your struggles. The thought of putting your family at risk is terrifying, but I encourage you to reflect on what is best for them. In what I have seen and personally experienced, they will leave you and your family stranded anyways, no matter how many times they deny that. You are loved, consistently prayed for and supported by myself and others who are no longer there.

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-02-08

    Next Level Church Response

    February 17, 2020Operations Pastor

    We are hurt and saddened that you feel your time at NLC was not valued or valuable for you, however this post is filled with so many lies that it is not even possible to address them and does not even deserve a response. We aren't going to even validate these comments by attempting to defend them except to say that this post is filled with untruth. We wish you happiness and nothing but the best in your future endeavors and pray that you find peace in your heart to move on from this crusade of falsehoods.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Toxic Church"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Level Church full-time

    Pros

    They work hard, they aggressively love people who don't follow God, they are passionate, highly gifted and talented, and go after life with everything they've got. Culture and Values get a 2 instead of a 1 only because the work ethic, love for those far from God and passion are so high. Unfortunately even those are overshadowed by the toxic culture overall.

    Cons

    If anyone has experienced abuse at NLC please write a review as well because people have a right not to be deceived. There are probably too many cons to name in a short paragraph. Overall the root of the problem at NLC is a lead pastor that isn't genuinely held accountable by anyone- especially by his inner circle- guys who have worked with him the longest and are fiercely loyal to him, and allow him to get away with abusive, anger and fear driven leadership, dishonesty and potential fraudulence with finances, and overall what appears to be a heart far from God's heart, while all the while portraying a persona "on stage" that's on fire for Jesus and living almost too faithfully for Him. It's easy to question if everything being said on stage is actually the truth of what's being lived out, because anyone who really knows what goes on behind closed doors knows that many employees aren't treated well at all, and are expected to submit entirely to leadership that doesn't care about their souls or their walk with Jesus, but wants to use them to further advance the organization. If you're looking to serve Jesus with everything you've got, want to be drenched in His Word, and want to be in vocational ministry run miles away from this place. They will either chew you up and spit you out, or suck you into their life altering orbit- and you may not recover unless your faith is unshakable.

    Continue reading
    Next Level Church2020-02-10

    Next Level Church Response

    February 17, 2020Operations Pastor

    We are hurt and saddened that you feel your time at NLC was not valued or valuable for you, however this post is filled with so many lies that it is not even possible to address them and does not even deserve a response. We aren't going to even validate these comments by attempting to defend them except to say that this post is filled with untruth. We wish you happiness and nothing but the best in your future endeavors and pray that you find peace in your heart to move on from this crusade of falsehoods.

    Continue reading
Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews