Next Step Living Reviews | Glassdoor

Next Step Living Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
42%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Next Step Living CEO Chris Catalano
Chris Catalano
29 Ratings
  1. "Went out of Biz"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Step Living part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Had good coffee and chairs.

    Cons

    Next Step living is no longer a company.

    Continue reading
    Next Step Living2018-04-27
  2. "Home Energy Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Next Step Living

    Pros

    The job offered a competitive salary and a nice commission structure. It is a self serving job for the independent employee.

    Cons

    Jobs are not always guaranteed and you can have some weeks where work is very minimal. The company structure changes frequently and it can be difficult to adjust at times.

    Next Step Living2016-04-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Neighborhood Outreach Representative in Quincy, MA
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Next Step Living for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great environment, supportive atmosphere

    Cons

    growing pains that resulting the the company closing down

    Next Step Living2016-04-04
  5. Helpful (5)

    "I love this company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Step Living full-time

    Pros

    I was looking to work for a company that aligned with my value and was working toward sustainable solutions in the face of climate change. This was the perfect fit and I'm so happy to be here. The environment is incredibly fast-paced, so if you're ready for a challenge, this is the place for you. I've probably learned more in the past six months than I learned in the more than three years I spent at my last job. If you want to grow professionally, work hard and enjoy what you do, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    Like I said, the environment is fast-paced, and is not for everyone. Mine was a tough transition, but so so worth it.

    Next Step Living2015-11-16
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Very friendly company with virtuous business model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outreach Event Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Step Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Young company with many outgoing younger people. The product is high quality and often at no cost to clients. People genuinely care about what they are doing for clients and the environment.

    Cons

    Seems to be some issues with payroll accounting due to recent restructuring. Some customers express dissatisfaction with servicing but remain a very small percentage

    Next Step Living2015-10-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Step Living full-time

    Pros

    -Hard work is recognized -Lots of career growth opportunities -Amazing coworkers -Great company mission

    Cons

    -Pay is not the greatest, but not horrible -Decisions are not thoroughly thought through

    Next Step Living2015-10-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Solar advisor mass"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Step Living

    Pros

    Best training. Excellent leaders. Great work environment. Really a great place to work. Was very fortunate to get the opportunity to work for nsl

    Cons

    Long hours and weekend shifts. Most weekends you either have to work Saturday or Sunday once a month you have to work both weekend days

    Continue reading
    Next Step Living2015-08-06

    Next Step Living Response

    September 17, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the excellent review!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Ambitious org committed to fighting climate change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Next Step Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best reason to work at Next Step is simple: residential buildings contribute a double-digit percentage of America's carbon emissions each year, and Next Step is perhaps the company best positioned to drive dramatic reductions. Working to meet that challenge is invigorating day in and day out, you'll have ample opportunity to learn and grow, and you'll be surrounded by similarly committed colleagues. The mission, the thrill of tackling a seemingly intractable problem, and the chance to work with such intelligent and committed colleagues made the last few years incredibly rewarding. I was sad to leave.

    Cons

    Depending on what you want out of a job, there are some cons to working at Next Step. If you're comfortable working on anything, you can definitely find a less stressful, better-paying job selling internet ads somewhere, and I'm sure the free massages at those companies are fantastic. The problem Next Step Living has chosen to confront is a difficult one. No other company has come close to figuring it out. I think Next Step is moving rapidly in the right direction, but "moving rapidly" is important here. To me, the changes we're making are not only smart moves for the business as a whole but also enormous opportunities for its employees. However, if you don't thrive in ambiguous situations or if you want a job in a department that will look the same in a year as it did the day you took it, Next Step wouldn't be right for you.

    Continue reading
    Next Step Living2015-07-25

    Next Step Living Response

    August 13, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great review! I’m very pleased to hear that you’ve had such a wonderful experience with us here at Next Step Living. Best of luck to you in all of your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (6)

    "A one-of-a-kind workplace with great colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Next Step Living full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An energetic group of mission-driven people who work hard to make a positive impact on one of the most important issues of today. A culture of collegiality and mutual support. A widely shared commitment to problem solving and doing the right thing for our customers. An environment where promotion is achievable and smart people who work hard are rewarded.

    Cons

    As an evolving business in a new sector, change is constant and you should be prepared for ups and downs. Compensation is competitive, but you are expected to make a positive impact for the business in order to achieve the high end of your potential (not actually a con -- just the reality).

    Continue reading
    Next Step Living2015-07-07

    Next Step Living Response

    August 3, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review; We’re glad to hear your overwhelming support for our mission.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (7)

    "Great place to begin and develop a green-collar career - Hard work that will with huge rewards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Logistics Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Next Step Living

    Pros

    - Excellent environment for advancement and learning. If you are willing to put in the time and effort, expect to rise above your peers and be selected for new projects and gain valuable experiences. -Management will recognize and invest in your talent if they see it. Sometimes you have to speak up to be heard but if you stand your ground and have a solid, well thought out idea it will be implemented or considered. - Opportunities for young people to start a career in energy efficiency. Even in Boston - MA, the most energy efficient state in the country, opportunities for this are few and far between (especially for non-STEM educated individuals.) Use this experience wisely and never pass up offers to advance or develop -Motivated and smart co-workers

    Cons

    -Pay can be on the lower end - but if you're working to start a career in energy and environment, the experience here will be worth more than they could ever pay you. -Projects move quickly. Sometimes you will be working things out as you go. Learn to work under pressure and be flexible, and again, the experience will impress upon future employers (and especially your management at NSL)

    Continue reading
    Next Step Living2015-06-04

    Next Step Living Response

    July 6, 2015Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I’m glad it was such a positive one! You’ve given some good advice to management, and for current employees as well. We’re glad you were able to maximize your career goals here.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 191 reviews