NextGear Capital Reviews | Glassdoor

NextGear Capital Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 173 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
NextGear Capital CEO Shane O’Dell
Shane O’Dell
80 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "NextGear Capital offered employees a prize(in 6 reviews)

  • "There are no cons at Next Gear Capital(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NextGear Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This place feels like a family. I've never worked anywhere with such happy employees. The building amenities like the gym and cafe don't hurt, either. The company offers amazing benefits and competitive salaries. People seem genuinely happy to help each other out, and the company puts importance on giving back to the community. Love it here!

    Cons

    You can feel the corporate environment at times

    NextGear Capital2019-05-17
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recovery Specialist in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGear Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits and management

    Cons

    No opportunity for growth within company.

    Advice to Management

    None

    NextGear Capital2019-04-22
  3. "Job OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lending in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGear Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Barista, Cafe, Nice people as your peers

    Cons

    Little growth opportunity, no advancement

    Advice to Management

    People are brighter than you think

    NextGear Capital2019-05-02
  4. "Worst Place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGear Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. This place is a joke

    Cons

    everything. From the managers down no one knows what they are doing and are very insecure when a new person joins the team

    Advice to Management

    Remove unwanted scrap and focus on real development

    NextGear Capital2019-05-20
  5. "Everyone Is Happy!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Account Manager in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NextGear Capital full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are genuinly happy to come to work here. Senior management are engaging and do not walk around acting like they are "B Level" celebrities. Training: Super - Pay; Competitive - Environment; Google office design (with a lovely cafe and barista) Probably best place to work in Indy!!!

    Cons

    Not necessarily a true Con but since there is so much growth happinging there is a bit of confusion as to what the titles are for each department and position.

    Advice to Management

    Continue making your employees feel like they truly matter. It has been too long since I have seen this kind of enthusiasm for a company from all levels.

    NextGear Capital2019-04-11

    NextGear Capital Response

    May 10, 2019Manager of Digital Marketing

    Thank your for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad that you enjoy working here, and are excited to have you on the team.

  6. "employees are secondary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NextGear Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall benefits and exposure from technology to business process. Bright individuals

    Cons

    Turnover rate is ridiculous. Crammed and noisy office. White noise gives you a headache by the end of the day. Focus on the profit and how much each employee cost. Very low morale. Management focus on the bottom line rather than the problem. Huge disconnect between leadership and employees

    Advice to Management

    Shake up is a must before more employees leave. All leadership came and hired from the same cloth; change your perspective or it might be time for a new career.

    NextGear Capital2019-04-26

    NextGear Capital Response

    May 10, 2019Manager of Digital Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As a company, we pride ourselves in our culture and the manner in which we treat team members and apologize your experience did not live up to our expectations. We are continuously working on being an open, honest and direct organization ...

    Show More
  7. "Great benefits, no growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Technology in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NextGear Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, fair pay, annual bonus, nice cafe with coffee shop

    Cons

    They went from team rooms and cubicles to a new open office, it's terrible. No real opportunity for growth, you can get your title changed, but it's not really a promotion. No training opportunities.

    NextGear Capital2019-04-04

    NextGear Capital Response

    May 10, 2019Manager of Digital Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss your feedback further. Please reach out to our people services team so that we can continue the conversation.

  8. "Profitable but not enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Carmel, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGear Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Nice amenities including cafe, barista bar, and gym.

    Cons

    Morale and company culture took a sharp dive in 2018. There are too many levels (internally as well as within Cox Automotive) leading to indecision and a lack of accountability. A team-over-company mentality has created a non collaborative environment. Work should not feel like an episode of Survivor.

    Advice to Management

    Stop passing on more qualified candidates to hire your buddies. While that makes work fun for you, the employees under your less qualified buddies suffer.

    NextGear Capital2019-04-25

    NextGear Capital Response

    May 10, 2019Manager of Digital Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry your work experience with NextGear Capital declined in 2018. We really do pride ourselves on taking care of our team members and are sorry that was not the experience in your case. We would appreciate the opportunity ...

    Show More
  9. "Account executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGear Capital full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and vacation..that is the only good thing

    Cons

    Toxic environment, verbally abusive atmosphere

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with experience...not bullies!

    NextGear Capital2019-04-05

    NextGear Capital Response

    May 10, 2019Manager of Digital Marketing

    Thank you for the feedback. NextGear Capital does not support or tolerate any bullying in the work place. We would very much appreciate you reaching out to people services so that we can discuss further and ensure that no other team members have a similar experience.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Nice coworkers, large company, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Carmel, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NextGear Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very profitable business. Solid focus on developing the skills of employees, provides many opportunities for this.

    Cons

    Still a somewhat unpleasant divide between technology and business. Communication from upper leadership is poor.

    NextGear Capital2019-02-11
Found 173 reviews