NextGen America Fellow Reviews | Glassdoor

NextGen America Fellow Reviews

Updated Jul 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
44%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
NextGen America Founder, President, Business leader  and Philanthropist Tom Steyer (no image)
Tom Steyer
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best Job Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Fellow 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked as a Fellow for NextGen climate for well over a year, and went from following orders from an FO, to basically taking the responsibilities of an FO myself. The lessons i learned at this job were and are the best i have ever learned, and i recommend working for Nextgen, either in an FO, or a Fellow position while pursuing college education.

    Cons

    Longer Hours than contracted for, but to be expected in political work.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2017-01-30
  2. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellow in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fun environment working with people our age - Good pay - Flexible with school schedule - good experience for resume

    Cons

    - the job can get really boring at points - hard to make quotas sometimes

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-07-18
  3. "God forbid you have a dissenting opinion/over working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Campus Fellow 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America

    Pros

    -$1,000 a month -A chance to advance in the company (as long as you drink their kool-aid) -Very young/candid culture

    Cons

    -Overwork you for the amount they pay -Have an unrealistic view point that all millennials are ultra progressive -Will literally roast you for having any opinion that isn't super progressive (and I consider myself to be progressive, but I mean these guys will just ignore facts that don't fit their narrative) -Manipulate data to backup their agenda -lowkey just a tax break for Tom Steyer -On-board training is completely useless because they believe that every person you will interact with is progressive -The job description says 15 hours, but because it is a remote job you always feel like you are on the clock

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2019-02-07
  4. "Great grassroots organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Fellow in Lansing, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers, Strong organizational vision, plenty of resources and dynamic work environment

    Cons

    Stressful environment that rewards long hours and requires lot's of flexibility. BE sure to manage your work/life balance while doing the type of political organizing nextgen does

    NextGen America2018-11-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Rising Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fellow 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good $$$ working for a good cause

    Cons

    as a fellow you are taken advantage off. I have worked as a fellow since May/June, and as the fall semester started pay was cut in half and hours were supposed to also be cut in half. We signed a contract that said 10-12 hours a week however state staff requires to work everyday. Fellows are students and the full time staff lacks to recognize the other commitments we have. I find myself expected to work at least 20 hrs a week on top of all my other school commitments, and without making a living wage. Fortunately I have the support so i dont need to work a second job, but if I didn't I would need a second job however NextGens expectations do not leave room for such. Additionally, there is a strong advocacy for self care, but I have found my fellow fellows and organizers have all been struggling with no ability to take a breather. NextGen America does not understand the needs of its employees and pushes its employees until they completely wear out.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2018-09-06
  6. "Fall Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Fellow 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NextGen America for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of liberty and autonomy to do work.

    Cons

    No clear direction, Stark criticism given with sass and lack of professsionalism.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2017-11-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Organizing Fellowship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizing Fellow in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, opportunity to work on important issues

    Cons

    Upper level staff works long hours and can take out frustrations on lower level employees, everyone works long hours, you are literally expected to work 15 to 20 hours over your contracted time every week. Lower level employees are given little flexibility in how to accomplish goals which are already unrealistically high

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2017-10-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not a Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fellow 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, got to help make a difference, even if only a small difference

    Cons

    Long hours, difficult work, upper management hides a lot from you, higher ups aren't supportive or helpful

    NextGen America2017-08-07
  9. "Organizing Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizing Fellow in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, decent pay for a campus job

    Cons

    Very numbers based, results are hard to get on small intimate campuses.

    Continue reading
    NextGen America2017-03-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Fellow during 2016 general election"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Campus Organizing Fellow in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at NextGen America for less than a year

    Pros

    Energizing atmosphere with absolutely fantastic, dedicated, enthusiastic, passionate coworkers; absolutely loved working here with them, knowing that I had a part in affecting our nation during such a historic moment. Never a dull day in the field!

    Cons

    Literally no downsides. Sometimes it rained and the shwag got wet?

    NextGen America2017-01-10
Found 11 reviews